Slacker Logo


Atlantis: A Symphonic Journey

David Arkenstone 9/7/2004
After several years of independent releases on his own label, the new age icon, composer, and multi-instrumentalist returned to his original label Narada, where he scored his biggest genre hits in the late '80s and early '90s and helped define the genre. By weaving single instrumental lines with rich percussion textures and sweeping orchestral power, David Arkenstone has been a master of encouraging the imagination of his listeners as he has explored both legendary mythology and accompanying stories that he has created. The musical environment here is being touted as "sonically free," and Arkenstone provides incredible drama by mixing intimate moments with densely rhythmic energy throughout his impressionistic exploration of the mythical island. "The Dream of the Gods" weaves lush, romance with the swift drum beats of a military mission, while "Tower of Light" plays like a mystical light shining through the murky depths to the teeming life below. Arkenstone employs a unique harp/flute melody/harmony line to convey the wonder of "The Temple of Poseidon," contemplates the "Jewel of the Sea" with a stark piano melody, and rings in the "Festival of the New Year" with joyful crowd noises and Asian-flavored instrumentation. It's classic Arkenstone through and through -- a rich provocative theme and diverse music that helps the listener fill in the story details. ~ Jonathan Widran
Read More Read Less

  1. # Song Length
  2. 1 The Dream of the Gods PT4M44S
  3. 2 Tower of Light PT6M7S
  4. 3 In the Gardens of the Citadel PT4M8S
  5. 4 The Temple of Poseidon PT4M19S
  6. 5 Jewel of the Sea PT3M32S
  7. 6 Festival of the Goddess PT4M7S
  8. 7 The Painted Sails PT5M45S
  9. 8 Across the Great Oceans PT5M34S
  10. 9 Fire and Water PT5M24S
  11. 10 Below the Ocean - The Sprit of Atlantis PT6M55S

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |