Slacker Logo


Celtic Journeys

David Arkenstone 5/17/2011
Contemporary instrumental artist David Arkenstone is prolific. Prolific enough, in fact, to create a compilation consisting only of tracks from his Celtic albums: Celtic Sanctuary (2007), Spirit of Ireland (2007), Be Thou My Vision: Celtic Hymns (2008), Celtic Romance (2008), and Celtic Chillout (2010). As the titles suggest, there are slightly different themes on the different albums, and sampling from them produces an eclectic collection, that is, within the overall Celtic style and Arkenstone's own keyboard-based synthesizer approach. He performs traditional music, sometimes in a traditional manner and sometimes, as with "She Moved Through the Fair" from Celtic Chillout, for instance, with a pop/rock rhythm. He includes recent efforts, such as the Clannad hit "Harry's Game." And he occasionally adds female vocals to familiar tunes like "Scarborough Fair." Throughout, he maintains a high-pitched pennywhistle-like sound to lead the melodies and give the music that haunting Celtic feel. Real Irishmen may want to hear their music played on real instruments, but Arkenstone clearly has cornered the market on the computer-driven facsimile. ~ William Ruhlmann
Read More Read Less

  1. # Song Length
  2. 1 Over the Hills PT5M49S
  3. 2 Call of the Sea PT4M56S
  4. 3 Harry's Game PT3M33S
  5. 4 The Fairy Ring PT5M18S
  6. 5 She Moved Through the Fair PT4M22S
  7. 6 The Mummer's Dance PT5M21S
  8. 7 The Girl with the Midnight Hair PT5M6S
  9. 8 Celebration Jig PT2M52S
  10. 9 I Will Find You PT4M10S
  11. 10 Cherish the Ladies PT4M
  12. 11 Celtic Sanctuary PT4M36S
  13. 12 Song of the Silkie PT5M19S
  14. 13 Scarborough Fair PT4M21S
  15. 14 The Lark in the Morning PT3M31S
  16. 15 Stars in Her Eyes PT4M17S

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |