Slacker Logo



Jesse Cook 2004
Although this bold and dynamic acoustic guitar giant's stock in trade is the hybrid of rhumba flamenco, he's electrified smooth jazz audiences everywhere with one of the best live shows in any instrumental based genre. What could be more exciting than a whole hour of his trademark hits and other exotic classics performed in front of an audience in his native Canada? Recorded at the Metropolis Theater during Le Festival International de Jazz de Montreal, the 14 songs offer a smart mix of the lively clapalongs that have become his best-loved works ("Rattle and Burn," "Mario Takes a Walk") and more involved, intricate and dramatic Middle Eastern-tinged works from his later recordings. While "Closer to Madness" takes a few minutes to build, it offers a more introspective side of Cook's multifaceted work as we wait for the tune to explode. Likewise "Baghdad," whose brief solo passages in between the fun stuff show off his technical prowess and solo capabilities. While most live CDs simply include audience applause between cuts, most of these tracks have the audience participating via clapping, sometimes in ecstatic rhythm with the tune ("Luna Llena"). The most exciting moments of crowd/band synergy are the wild percussion passages on "Mario Takes a Walk," which elicit crowd whoops and hollers throughout. After all the craziness, the more graceful and folksy vocal ballad "Fall at Your Feet" (featuring Danny Wilde) provides a lovely, harmony laden parting souvenir. ~ Jonathan Widran
Read More Read Less

  1. # Song Length
  2. 1 Beloved PT3M32S
  3. 2 Rattle and Burn PT3M42S
  4. 3 Cascada PT4M2S
  5. 4 Breeze from Saintes Maries PT3M42S
  6. 5 Jumpstart PT2M49S
  7. 6 Air PT2M44S
  8. 7 Luna Llena PT5M52S
  9. 8 Closer to Madness PT7M36S
  10. 9 Tempest PT5M23S
  11. 10 Querido Amigo PT3M9S
  12. 11 Dance of Spring PT4M32S
  13. 12 Mario Takes a Walk PT5M47S
  14. 13 Baghdad PT6M37S
  15. 14 Fall at Your Feet PT3M52S

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |