Slacker Logo


Santa Fe Sessions

Ottmar Liebert + Luna Negra 22/5/2003
A few years ago, Higher Octave Music rang in the new millennium with the release of Nouveau Flamenco 1990-2000 Special Edition, which celebrated the ten year anniversary of Ottmar Liebert's legendary, platinum selling debut. Over the past twelve years, the guitarist become one of instrumental music's most popular and compelling live performers across the globe. As the ensemble dynamics have developed with the revolving members of his band Luna Negra,Liebert has naturally taken many of his best-loved tunes to incredible new places. Santa Fe Sessions revisits some of his best loved classics, but with a twist -- each track reflects the new, expansive live in concert character of the tunes -- including fresh guitar, percussion and horn parts. Longtime fans will enjoy the nearly nine minute opening rendition of "Snakecharmer," which moves from an atmospheric start into a tender ballad and then expands into a percussive celebration. Most tracks don't get that elaborate, however, which keeps the pace moving briskly. Other highlights include the graceful coolness of "Heart Still/Beating," brassy new attitudes for "Isla Del Sol" and "Dancing Under the Moon" and a fanciful reworking of "Barcelona Nights," the trademark song that launched Liebert's career into the stratosphere in 1990. He expands more into Brazilian and Cuban territories with two brand new tracks as well. ~ Jonathan Widran
Read More Read Less

  1. # Song Length
  2. 1 Snakecharmer PT8M44S
  3. 2 Heart Still/Beating PT6M9S
  4. 3 Isla del Sol PT3M56S
  5. 4 Turkish Night PT5M50S
  6. 5 Sâo Paulo PT5M48S
  7. 6 Reaching Out 2 You PT5M39S
  8. 7 Barcelona Nights by Luna Negra PT5M34S
  9. 8 Havana Club PT4M20S
  10. 9 Dancing Under the Moon PT5M48S
  11. 10 Song for Pablo PT5M34S
  12. 11 Morning Arrival in Goa PT5M38S
  13. 12 La Rosa Negra PT4M27S

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |