Slacker Logo


The All-American Rejects

Vocalist/bassist Tyson Ritter and guitarist Nick Wheeler both hail from Stillwater, OK, where the pair first embraced music as an appealing diversion from the ho-hum life of small-town America. Citing such influences as AC/DC, Def Leppard, and Bon Jovi, they formed the emo-pop group All-American Rejects in 2000, while both members were still in high school. Maintaining a full lineup proved to be difficult, however, so Ritter and Wheeler employed drum loops and pre-programmed rhythm tracks during their early performances, an arrangement they then reprised on their self-titled debut. Originally released on the Doghouse label in October 2002, the poppy record was later reissued to a national audience by DreamWorks. The band scored a hit with the effervescent single "Swing, Swing," which attracted attention from Interscope Records and ultimately landed the All-American Rejects on the label's prized roster. Move Along, the band's sophomore album (and first for Interscope), was released in July 2005; it also marked the official debut of Mike Kennerty (guitar) and Chris Gaylor (drums), both of whom had joined the band in 2002 after the completion of the Rejects' eponymous debut. Like its predecessor, Move Along went platinum, with three singles ("Dirty Little Secret," "Move Along," and "It Ends Tonight") enjoying chart success in the U.S. and abroad. Recording sessions for a third album commenced in mid-2007 and ran through the following year, causing the All-American Rejects to cancel their scheduled Warped Tour performances (as well as a string of shows with Simple Plan). When the World Comes Down ultimately arrived in December 2008, preceded by the single "Gives You Hell." The band hit the road in support of the album, but were forced to cut their tour short in 2009 after Ritter was confined to a wheelchair after getting knee surgery. The band got back to writing the following year, working with producer Greg Wells on their fourth album, Kids in the Street, which arrived in 2012. ~ Andrew Leahey
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
The All-American Rejects

    Breakup Songs

    Breakup Songs
    1 song

    '00s Alternative

    '00s Alternative
    5 songs

    Party Hits

    Party Hits
    1 song

    Shuffle Hits

    Shuffle Hits
    1 song

    Fresh 40

    1 song

Albums by
The All-American Rejects

Top Songs by
The All-American Rejects

  1.   Song
  2.   Gives You Hell
  3.   Dirty Little Secret
  4.   Move Along
  5.   It Ends Tonight
  6.   I Wanna
  7.   Swing, Swing
  8.   There's a Place
  9.   The Poison
  10.   Beekeeper's Daughter
  11.   The Wind Blows
  12.   Heartbeat Slowing Down
  13.   It Ends Tonightsion]
  14.   Jack's Lament
  15.   My Paper Heart
  16.   Mona Lisa
  17.   Dance Inside
  18.   One More Sad Song
  19.   Drown Next to Me
  20.   Top of the World
  21.   Change Your Mind
  22.   Time Stands Still
  23.   Night Drive
  24.   The Last Song
  25.   Happy Endings
  26.   Too Far Gone
  27.   Stab My Back
  28.   Why Worry
  29.   Walk Over Me
  30.   Fast & Slow
  31.   Breakin'
  32.   Believe
  33.   Straightjacket Feeling
  34.   11:11 P.M.
  35.   The Cigarette Song
  36.   Your Star
  37.   Kiss Yourself Goodbye
  38.   Untitled
  39.   Give You Hell
  40.   Someday's Gone
  41.   Kids In the Street
  42.   Credits
  43.   Lost in Stillwater (Behind the Scenes)
  44.   All American Rejects Concert [Live at the Bready Theatre] [Multimedia T
  45.   [Untitled]
  46.   [Untitled]
  47.   Sierra's Song
  48.   [Untitled]
  49.   [Untitled]
  50.   Here I Sit
  51.   [Untitled]
  52.   [Untitled]
  53.   [Untitled]
  54.   Real World
  55.   Fallin' Apart
  56.   Damn Girl
  57.   Bite Back
  58.   Eyelash Wishes
  59.   Can't Take It
  60.   I'm Waiting
  61.   Don't Leave Me
  62.   Drive Away
  63.   Straitjacket Feeling
  64.   I For You
  65.   Bleed Into Your Mind
  66.   Back to Me
  67.   Bonus Material
  68.   Affection
  69.   Gonzo
  70.   Out the Door
  71.   Sunshine
  72.   The Future Has Arrived, song (as used in the film Meet The Robinsons)
  73.   Do Me Right
  74.   Another Heart Calls