Slacker Logo


Amon Amarth

Swedish death metal band Amon Amarth originally formed in 1988 under the name Scum; by the time the new moniker was adopted four years later, the lineup consisted of vocalist Johan Hegg, guitarists Olavi Mikkonen and Anders Hansson, bassist Ted Lundstrom, and drummer Niko Kaukinen. In 1993, the quintet recorded their first demo Thor Arise, which went unreleased due to sound problems; a second demo, Arrival of the Fimbul Winter, followed in 1994, quickly selling out all 1000 copies. Signing to the Singapore-based Pulverised label, Amon Amarth issued the EP Sorrow Throughout the Nine Worlds in mid-1996; soon after, Kaukinen exited and was replaced by drummer Martin Lopez for 1998's full-length Once Sent from the Golden Hall. When both Hansson and Lopez defected from the lineup, the remaining members of Amon Amarth tapped new guitarist Johan Söderberg and drummer Fredrik Andersson for 1999's The Avenger. Crusher followed three years later. The Metal Blade-issued Crusher arrived in 2001, followed in 2002 by the dark and melancholic Versus the World, the latter of which introduced a more measured, bottom-heavy style. 2004's Fate of Norns continued in that vein, and was followed in 2006 by With Oden on Our Side, which was the band's first album to enter the Billboard charts. 2008's Twilight of the Thunder God became the band's most critically acclaimed and commercially successful outing to date, landing in the Top Ten of numerous year-end lists. In 2011, the group released their eighth studio album, Surtur Rising, followed in 2013 by Deceiver of the Gods, which featured a guest appearance by former Candlemass vocalist Messiah Marcolin. Jomsviking, the band's tenth studio long player, followed in early 2016. ~ Jason Ankeny
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Amon Amarth

    Metal Mosh Pit

    Metal Mosh Pit
    5 songs

Albums by
Amon Amarth

Top Songs by
Amon Amarth

  1.   Song
  2.   The Pursuit of Vikings
  3.   An Ancient Sign of Coming Storm
  4.   Valhalla Awaits Me
  5.   Runes to My Memory
  6.   Asator
  7.   First Kill
  8.   At Dawn's First Light
  9.   North Sea Storm
  10.   Guardians of Asgaard
  11.   Bleed for Ancient Gods
  12.   Annihilation of Hammerfest
  13.   Gods of War Arise
  14.   With Oden on Our Side
  15.   Valhall Awaits Me
  16.   Raise Your Horns
  17.   Twilight of the Thunder God
  18.   Friends of the Suncross
  19.   Tattered Banners and Bloody Flags
  20.   Free Will Sacrifice
  21.   Cry of the Black Birds
  22.   Amon Amarth
  23.   Vengeance is My Name
  24.   One Thousand Burning Arrows
  25.   The Way of Vikings
  26.   A Beast Am I
  27.   The Mighty Doors of the Speargod's Hall
  28.   War of the Gods
  29.   Ride for Vengeance
  30.   Wrath of the Norsemen
  31.   Slaves of Fear
  32.   The Hero
  33.   Fate of Norns