Slacker Logo


As I Lay Dying

As I Lay Dying are a metal-hardcore crossover band from San Diego, California. The group formed as a trio in 2001 with vocalist Tim Lambesis, drummer Jordan Mancino, and guitarist Evan White, and shortly thereafter released Beneath the Encasing of Ashes. A split CD with the American Tragedy followed the next year. In 2003 the band signed with Metal Blade and released Frail Words Collapse. After the album's release, White left the band and the remaining core of the group, Lambesis and Mancino, drafted two guitarists to replace him, Phil Sgrosso and Nick Hipa, and also landed a bass player in Clint Norris. The new lineup recorded Shadows Are Security, released in 2005. As I Lay Dying next issued A Long March: The First Recordings in May 2006, which included their 2001 out of print debut, along with two versions of their songs from the 2002 American Tragedy split. The band then spent that summer on the Sounds of the Underground metal-hardcore tour alongside acts like In Flames, GWAR, Trivium, and Cannibal Corpse. Soon after, Clint Norris left to pursue life as a family man and Josh Gilbert replaced him on bass. With the addition of Gilbert's vocal harmonies, the band's sound became more melodic, and in August 2007, the group released its fourth album, An Ocean Between Us. In 2009, the band released a three-DVD collection called This Is Who We Are. The set included a documentary, a live gig, and assorted videos and tidbits. Arriving as it did after a two-year hiatus, it was welcomed enthusiastically by the band's near fanatical fan base. In 2010, As I Lay Dying returned to record store shelves proper when the band issued the 11-cut Powerless Rise on Metal Blade. The next year, to commemorate their tenth anniversary as a band, As I Lay Dying released the compilation Decas, which featured the band covering songs by influential acts like Slayer and Judas Priest, as well as some new material and remixes. In 2012, the band hit the studio with punk icon and producer Bill Stevenson to record its sixth album, Awakened, which arrived on Metal Blade later that year. ~ Wade Kergan
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
As I Lay Dying


    12 songs

    Metal Mosh Pit

    Metal Mosh Pit
    5 songs

Albums by
As I Lay Dying

Top Songs by
As I Lay Dying

  1.   Song
  2.   The Sound of Truth
  3.   Cauterize
  4.   Confined
  5.   Empty Hearts
  6.   94 Hours
  7.   Nothing Left
  8.   The Darkest Nights
  9.   Through Struggle
  10.   Within Destruction
  11.   Elegy
  12.   Meaning in Tragedy
  13.   Collision
  14.   Falling Upon Deaf Ears
  15.   Control Is Dead
  16.   Losing Sight
  17.   Parallels
  18.   I Never Wanted
  19.   An Ocean Between Us
  20.   Forever
  21.   Electric Eye
  22.   Anodyne Sea
  23.   Paralyzed
  24.   Upside Down Kingdom
  25.   A Breath in the Eyes of Eternity
  26.   Surrounded
  27.   The Beginning
  28.   Tear Out My Eyes
  29.   Coffee Mug
  30.   Departed
  31.   The Truth of My Perception
  32.   Distance Is Darkness
  33.   Beneath the Encasing of Ashes
  34.   Unwound
  35.   Washed Away
  36.   Defender
  37.   Resilience
  38.   War Ensemble
  39.   Moving Forward
  40.   Hellion
  41.   From Shapeless to Breakable
  42.   The Only Constant Is Change
  43.   Anger and Apathy
  44.   The Darkest Nights
  45.   Comfort Betrays
  46.   Bury Us All
  47.   Forsaken
  48.   Song 10
  49.   Undefined
  50.   The Pain of Separation
  51.   Reinvention
  52.   Refined by Your Embrace
  53.   When This World Fades
  54.   Blood Turned to Tears
  55.   Forced to Die
  56.   The Voices That Betray Me
  57.   My Only Home
  58.   Overcome
  59.   Whispering Silence
  60.   Wasted Words
  61.   A Greater Foundation
  62.   Without Conclusion
  63.   The Plague
  64.   The Blinding of False Light
  65.   Condemned
  66.   This Is Who We Are
  67.   Wrath Upon Ourselves
  68.   Separation
  69.   Repeating Yesterday
  70.   Reflection
  71.   A Thousand Steps
  72.   Illusions
  73.   Behind Me Lies Another Fallen Soldier
  74.   A Long March
  75.   The Innocence Spilled
  76.   No Lungs to Breathe
  77.   Vacancy
  78.   Beyond Our Suffering
  79.   Morning Waits

Artists Related to As I Lay Dying

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |