Slacker Logo


Asobi Seksu

Bearing a hyper-stylized and glitzy graphic design sense, a pretty and petite Japanese female singer who sings alternately in Japanese and English, and a band name with a hint of nod-and-a-wink naughtiness (it's claimed to be a Tokyo-based slang term that means "playful sex"), Asobi Seksu come across like the latest Japanese import, the newest in a long line of ironic Shibuya-kei indie pop artists following Puffy AmiYumi, Cibo Matto, and Pizzicato Five. In fact, the quartet is based out of New York City, and besides the heavy Japanese pop influences, Asobi Seksu bear comparison both to the British shoegazer bands of the early '90s (My Bloody Valentine in particular) and to New York guitar noise acts ranging from Sonic Youth to Yo La Tengo. Singer and keyboardist Yuki Chikudate, guitarist James Hanna, bassist Glenn Waldman, and drummer Keith Hopkin formed Asobi Seksu in late 2001, self-releasing their self-titled debut album the following year. Garnering a strong local buzz at a time when the New York club scene was hot again following the success of the Strokes and Interpol, Asobi Seksu came to the attention of the indie Friendly Fire Records, which reissued Asobi Seksu with new cover art in 2004. The album's single, "I'm Happy But You Don't Like Me," raised the band's college radio and online profile; that song and two others from the album, "Sooner" and "Walk on the Moon," were placed in the indie film In Between Days, which won a special jury prize at the 2006 Sundance Film Festival. Before recording their second album, Asobi Seksu underwent a major personnel shift, with the core duo of Chikudate and Hanna replacing Waldman and Hopkins with new bassist Haji and drummer Mitch Spivak. Produced by hot New York indie producer/engineer Chris Zane (Human Television, Ambulance LTD, etc.), the more polished, multi-layered Citrus was released to solid reviews in May 2006. At some point near the end of the nearly two years spent touring behind the album, Hanna had a revelation that led him to rethink the sound of the band, namely that he was sick and tired of the guitar sound the band had utilized up to then. For the next album, the band (then down to the core duo of Chikudate and Hanna) stripped back the layers of guitar noise and aimed for a more atmospheric and lush sound. Hush was released by new label Polyvinyl in February of 2009, and Chikudate and Hanna continued in this cleaner direction for 2011’s Fluorescence. ~ Stewart Mason & Tim Sendra
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Asobi Seksu

    Relax Trax

    Relax Trax
    1 song

Albums by
Asobi Seksu

Top Songs by
Asobi Seksu

  1.   Song
  2.   Goodbye
  3.   Thursday
  4.   New Years
  5.   Transparence
  6.   Walk on the Moon
  7.   Gliss
  8.   Never Understand
  9.   Suzanne
  10.   Leave the Drummer Out There
  11.   My Baby
  12.   Before We Fall
  13.   It's Too Late
  14.   Risky And Pretty
  15.   Sooner
  16.   Intro
  17.   Stay
  18.   Coming Up
  19.   Vicious Bears
  20.   Counterglow
  21.   Everything Is On
  22.   Strings
  23.   Then He Kissed Me
  24.   Little House of Savages
  25.   Red Sed
  26.   I'm Happy But You Don't Like Me
  27.   Umi de No Jisatsu
  28.   Minature Cities
  29.   All Around
  30.   Trance Out
  31.   Trails
  32.   Pink Light
  33.   Perfectly Crystal
  34.   Ocean
  35.   In My Head
  36.   Deep Weird Sleep
  37.   Breathe Into Glass
  38.   Miniature Cities
  39.   Urusai Tori
  40.   Sing Tomorrow's Praise
  41.   Meh No Mae
  42.   Me & Mary
  43.   Layers
  44.   In The Sky
  45.   I Can't See
  46.   Glacially
  47.   Familiar Light
  48.   Blind Little Rain
  49.   Mizu Asobi
  50.   Nefi+Girly
  51.   Pink Cloud Tracing Paper
  52.   Strawberries
  53.   Asobi Masho
  54.   End at the Beginning
  55.   Taiyo
  56.   Sighs
  57.   Lions and Tigers
  58.   Red Sea
  59.   Exotic Animal Paradise
  60.   Let Them Wait

Artists Related to Asobi Seksu


Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |