Slacker Logo


At the Gates

One of the more melodic death metal bands to expand beyond Sweden and spread their sound across the world alongside peers such as Entombed, At the Gates played a significant role in the death metal genre before breaking up in 1996, leading to the formation of the Haunted. The group's first lineup -- Tomas Lindberg (vocals), Anders Bjorler (guitars), Adrian Erlandsson (drums), Jonas Bjorler (bass), and Alf Svensson (guitars) -- formed in late 1990, recording the Gardens of Grief EP for the Dolores label. They toured Sweden with well-known groups such as Bolt Thrower and Dismember before eventually signing to Peaceville Records, who released their The Red in the Sky Is Ours album. In 1993, they replaced Svensson with Martin Larsson on guitar, released their second album, With Fear I Kiss the Burning Darkness, and toured the U.K. with Anathema and Cradle of Filth. Next came their Terminal Spirit Disease album in May 1994, furthering the band's reputation with critics, who championed their fresh approach to death metal. This acclaim also led to their signing by Earache, who released their Slaughter of the Soul album, which seemed a more realized approach to the melodic style of death metal the group had alluded to on previous releases. Unfortunately, just as At the Gates began to win even more acclaim -- a nomination at the Swedish Grammys, heavy rotation on MTV's Headbanger's Ball, two successful U.S. tours with Morbid Angel and Napalm Death -- the group splintered, with the Bjorler twins and Erlandsson forming the Haunted and Lindberg forming Hide. The band reunited in 2007 to play a series of shows. They continued to perform live sporadically over the next few years, but claimed they would no longer record until, in 2014, a full 19 years after the release of their last album, they announced that they would be issuing a new studio effort. At War with Reality, a concept album inspired by the literary genre of magic realism, was released in October through Century Media and was every bit as powerful as their previous releases. ~ Jason Birchmeier
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
At the Gates

    Metal Mosh Pit

    Metal Mosh Pit
    2 songs

Albums by
At the Gates

Top Songs by
At the Gates

  1.   Song
  2.   Blinded by Fear
  3.   Slaughter of the Soul
  4.   Under a Serpent Sun
  5.   Cold
  6.   At War With Reality
  7.   Death and the Labyrinth
  8.   The Circular Ruins
  9.   Bister Verklighet
  10.   All Life Ends
  11.   The Architects
  12.   The Dying
  13.   Unto Others
  14.   Kingdom Gone
  15.   Stardrowned
  16.   Suicide Nation
  17.   Into the Dead Sky
  18.   The Swarm
  19.   Raped by the Light of Christ
  20.   Captor of Sin
  21.   The Burning Darkness
  22.   Terminal Spirit Disease
  23.   And the World Returned
  24.   Upon Pillars of Dust
  25.   Heroes and Tombs
  26.   Ever-Opening Flower
  27.   Blood of the Sunsets
  28.   Primal Breath
  29.   Non-Divine
  30.   The Break of Autumn
  31.   Beyond Good and Evil
  32.   City of Screaming Statues
  33.   Neverwhere
  34.   Claws of Laughter Dead
  35.   Windows
  36.   Within
  37.   Through Gardens of Grief
  38.   The Red in the Sky Is Ours/The Season to Come
  39.   Legion
  40.   The Flames of the End
  41.   Need
  42.   Nausea
  43.   World of Lies
  44.   The Beautiful Wound
  45.   Forever Blind
  46.   The Head of the Hydra
  47.   The Book of Sand (the Abomination)
  48.   El Altar Del Dios Desconocido
  49.   City of Mirrors
  50.   The Conspiracy of the Blind
  51.   The Night Eternal
  52.   The Fevered Circle
  53.   Through the Red
  54.   Night Comes, Blood Black
  55.   The Scar
  56.   Eater of Gods
  57.   Order From Chaos

Artists Related to At the Gates

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |