Slacker Logo



Coming out of Southern California during the rap-metal explosion around the turn of the century, Atreyu crafted a sound much closer to Agnostic Front or Hatebreed. The metalcore quintet was formed by Brandon Saller (drums/vocals), Dan Jacobs (guitar), Chris Thomson (bass), Travis Miguel (guitar), and Alex Varkatzas (vocals). Their warped, detuned guitars were matched by pounding drums and acidic vocals, which gave the material an edge otherwise absent from their sludge metal. Atreyu released various demos, including the seven-song EP Visions, in the late '90s before commercially debuting with the Fractures in the Facade of Your Porcelain Beauty EP on Tribunal in late 2001; the full-length Suicide Notes and Butterfly Kisses appeared the next year on Victory. Touring almost nonstop in support of the record, the group faced lineup changes as bassist Marc McKnight replaced Thomson before the recording of their follow-up. Atreyu's second full-length, The Curse, surfaced in June 2004 and went on to sell over 300,000 copies; it was re-released with an accompanying DVD a year later. The guys hit the road hard, playing 2004's Ozzfest and 2005's Warped Tour, in addition to headlining their own successful world tour. They contributed a track to 2006's soundtrack to Underworld: Evolution and were near the top of the billing for the year's Taste of Chaos tour, alongside the Deftones and Thrice. Their next effort, A Death Grip on Yesterday, was issued in late March 2006 and hit number nine on the Billboard charts. Following a summer spent headlining the second stage at the year's Ozzfest, Atreyu jumped into the major-label waters over at Hollywood Records, leaving an early-2007 best-of collection as their Victory farewell. Their Hollywood debut, Lead Sails Paper Anchor, followed later in the year. In 2008 the album was re-released with bonus materials, including a DVD. Atreyu didn't waste any time, and in late 2009 they released their fifth studio album, the critically acclaimed Congregation of the Damned. The album would be their last for some time, as the band went on hiatus the following year to focus on family matters and various other musical pursuits. They reconvened in 2015 with the Destroy/Spinefarm Records-issued Long Live, which featured 12 new hard-hitting tracks, including the blistering title cut and first single. ~ Bradley Torreano
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring

    Xtreme Alt Rock

    Xtreme Alt Rock
    1 song

    Hard Rock

    Hard Rock
    3 songs

    Metal Mosh Pit

    Metal Mosh Pit
    2 songs

Albums by

Top Songs by

  1.   Song
  2.   Becoming the Bull
  3.   Slow Burn
  4.   Right Side of the Bed
  5.   Falling Down
  6.   Bleeding Mascara
  7.   The Crimson
  8.   Storm To Pass
  9.   This Flesh a Tomb
  10.   Lip Gloss and Black
  11.   Do You Know Who You Are?
  12.   The Remembrance Ballad
  13.   Creature
  14.   Long Live
  15.   Ex's and Oh's
  16.   You Eclipsed by Me
  17.   Your Private War
  18.   My Fork in the Road
  19.   Demonology and Heartache
  20.   You Give Love a Bad Name
  21.   Blow
  22.   Doomsday
  23.   A Bitter Broken Memory
  24.   Ain't Love Grand
  25.   Lose It
  26.   Right Side of Bed
  27.   Coffin Nails
  28.   At Least I Know I'm a Sinner
  29.   Reckless
  30.   Wait for You
  31.   Stop! Before It's Too Late and We've Destroyed It All
  32.   The Theft
  33.   Tulips Are Better
  34.   Bleeding Is a Luxury
  35.   Can't Happen Here
  36.   When Two Are One
  37.   Our Sick Story (Thus Far)
  38.   Someone's Standing on My Chest
  39.   Honor
  40.   Guitar Gangsters and Cadillac Blood
  41.   Lonely
  42.   Deanne the Arsonist
  43.   Brass Balls
  44.   Live to Labor
  45.   Congregation of the Damned
  46.   We Stand Up
  47.   Nevada's Grace
  48.   My Sanity on the Funeral Pyre
  49.   Corseting
  50.   Five Vicodin Chased With a Shot of Clarity
  51.   Start to Break
  52.   Heartbeats and Flatlines
  53.   Cut Off The Head
  54.   I Would Kill Lie Die (For You)
  55.   Insatiable
  56.   So Wrong
  57.   Ravenous
  58.   Gallows
  59.   No One Cares
  60.   Shameful
  61.   You Were the King, Now You're Unconscious
  62.   Living Each Day Like You're Already Dead
  63.   So Others May Live
  64.   Livin' on the Edge
  65.   Black Days Begin
  66.   [CD-ROM Track]
  67.   Lead Sails (And a Paper Anchor)
  68.   Untitled Finale
  69.   An Interlude
  70.   Blood Children (Intro)
  71.   A Vampire's Lament
  72.   A Song for the Optimists
  73.   A Letter to Someone Like You
  74.   Taking Back Every Word That I Said
  75.   Moments Before Dawn
  76.   Revival (Interlude)
  77.   Dilated

Artists Related to Atreyu