Slacker Logo


Bear In Heaven

The initial seeds of Brooklyn-based Bear in Heaven were planted in 1998 as a way for Jon Philpot, who was then still living in his hometown of Atlanta, to express his musical ideas during the off hours of a local recording studio. After he moved to Brooklyn at the end of the decade, Philpot continued working on his music, which included the duo Presocratics, who released a couple of records on the experimental label Table of the Elements. During the next couple of years, as more friends and associates from Atlanta and the South moved to Brooklyn, Philpot began assembling the group of musicians who would later make up the band. In 2003 he released (under the Bear in Heaven moniker but still ostensibly as a solo project) the EP Tunes Nextdoor to Songs on Eastern Developments, the label owned by Scott Herren, aka Prefuse 73. Soon, however, he added bassist and keyboardist Sadek Bazaraa, guitarist and bassist Adam Wills (who had toured with Rhys Chatham's guitar trio), bassist James Elliott (who he had met shortly after moving to Brooklyn and was one of the founders of the Social Registry label), guitarist David Daniell, and drummer Joe Stickney and began work on new music. In 2005, Daniell left to pursue his own project, and the remaining quartet began recording the full-length Red Bloom of the Boom, shortly after which Elliott departed to work with the then unknown School of Seven Bells and pursue his own electronic solo project, Ateleia. The album was released in 2007 on Hometapes, and drew early comparisons to bands like Radiohead, Animal Collective, and Can. In October 2009, Bear in Heaven's second album, the slightly less ambient Beast Rest Forth Mouth, came out, earning positive reviews and garnering the group some coveted spots at that year's CMJ festival in New York. Bear in Heaven would tour endlessly as their audience grew with more positive press for Beast Rest Forth Mouth. They played over 200 shows in support of the album, and in August of 2010 a companion disc of remixes was released. In early 2012 the band finished work on its third proper album, I Love You, It's Cool. To promote the album, Bear in Heaven released a streaming version on their website, with the audio slowed down 400,000 percent. This rendered the relatively poppy and brash album an ambient wash of sound that stretched out for over 247 hours. The group's fourth long-player, the moving and introspective Time Is Over One Day Old, followed in 2014. ~ Marisa Brown
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Bear In Heaven

Albums by
Bear In Heaven

Top Songs by
Bear In Heaven

  1.   Song
  2.   Lovesick Teenagers
  3.   Bag of Bags
  4.   Sinful Nature
  5.   Werewolf
  6.   The Reflection of You
  7.   Wholehearted Mess
  8.   You Do You
  9.   Idle Heart
  10.   Beast In Peace
  11.   Autumn
  12.   For Beauty
  13.   Cool Light
  14.   Drug a Wheel
  15.   If I Were to Lie
  16.   Memory Heart
  17.   You Don't Need the World
  18.   Fake Out
  19.   The Sun and the Moon and the Stars
  20.   Arm's Length
  21.   Demon
  22.   World of Freakout
  23.   Warm Water
  24.   Casual Goodbye
  25.   Slow Gold
  26.   Dissolve the Walls
  27.   Way Off
  28.   They Dream
  29.   Time Between
  30.   Kiss Me Crazy
  31.   Ultimate Satisfaction
  32.   Dust Cloud
  33.   Deafening Love
  34.   Shining and Free
  35.   Fraternal Noon
  36.   Dearening Love
  37.   Noon Moon
  38.   Space Remains
  39.   Sweetness & Sickness

Artists Related to Bear In Heaven

The xx

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |