Slacker Logo


Bell Biv DeVoe

Boasting their "hip-hop smoothed out on the R&B tip with a pop-feel-appeal to it," Bell Biv DeVoe spun off from New Edition following the parent group's tour in support of 1988's Heart Break. Ricky Bell, Michael Bivins, and Ronnie DeVoe, all original members of New Edition, complied with the urging of that album's producers, Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis, and started fresh with a more street-oriented approach to contemporary R&B. The trio enlisted a variety of producers for their debut, including Dr. Freeze, Hank and Keith Shocklee, and Eric Sadler, the latter three of whom had worked extensively with Public Enemy. The sound of that album, Poison, was quite unlike anything in New Edition's adolescent pop-R&B repertoire: the beats were funkier, the lyrics and vocals were overtly sexual, and there were only two ballads, both of which were buried on the second side. The title track topped the Billboard R&B/hip-hop chart, reached number three on the Hot 100, and eventually went platinum. Each one of the four other singles from the album was, at the least, a Top Ten R&B/hip-hop hit. The album itself went on to sell over four million copies in the U.S. and spawned WBBD: Bootcity!, a 1991 remix album. Its version of "Word to the Mutha!" included fellow New Edition members Bobby Brown, Ralph Tresvant, and Johnny Gill. Meanwhile, Bivins developed the so-called East Coast Family, a collective who achieved mainstream success with the debut albums from Another Bad Creation and Boyz II Men. In 1992, BBD and Tresvant were featured on Luther Vandross and Janet Jackson's number one R&B/hip-hop single "The Best Things in Life Are Free," recorded for the Mo' Money soundtrack. The following year finally brought the second proper BBD album, Hootie Mack. Considerably less popular than the debut, it did achieve gold status with U.S. sales over half-a-million. A much lengthier BBD break was prolonged by all three members' participation in a New Edition reunion, but the trio returned in 2001 with BBD, a brash set that failed to produce any charting singles. New Edition subsequently became active once again, mostly as a touring act. All six members celebrated NE's 30th anniversary in 2011, and they accepted a Soul Train Lifetime Achievement Award the following year. In 2017, BBD returned with Three Stripes, released the same week BET aired the first episode of the mini-series The New Edition Story. ~ Andy Kellman & Steve Huey
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Bell Biv DeVoe

    Boy Band Radio

    Boy Band Radio
    2 songs

    '80s Hip-Hop

    '80s Hip-Hop
    3 songs

    '80s Urban Music

    '80s Urban Music
    3 songs

    '90s R&B

    '90s R&B
    2 songs

    '90s Pop

    1 song

    R&B and Soul Mix

    2 songs

Albums by
Bell Biv DeVoe

Top Songs by
Bell Biv DeVoe

  1.   Song
  2.   Poison
  3.   Do Me!
  4.   When Will I See You Smile Again? by New Edition
  5.   B.B.D. (I Thought It Was Me)? by New Edition
  6.   Something in Your Eyes
  7.   Word to the Mutha!
  8.   Run
  9.   Dope!
  10.   I Do Need You
  11.   I'm Betta
  12.   Incredible by Boyz II Men
  13.   Nickel
  14.   Let Me Know Something?!
  15.   Gangsta
  16.   Ghetto Booty
  17.   Ready featuring Doug E. Fresh
  18.   She's Dope!
  19.   Find a Way
  20.   Since I Blew
  21.   Ronnie, Bobby, Ricky, Mike, Ralph and Johnny (Word to the Mutha)!
  22.   Lovely
  23.   One More Try by Boyz II Men
  24.   Don't Go
  25.   I Ain't Going Nowhere
  26.   Breezy
  27.   Ain't Nut'in' Changed
  28.   All Dat There
  29.   Hot Damn
  30.   Scandalous
  31.   Pesos
  32.   Dance B****
  33.   Sic Wit It
  34.   Please Come Back
  35.   Show Me the Way
  36.   From the Back
  37.   Above the Rim
  38.   Finally by SWV
  39.   Da Hot S*** (Aight)
  40.   Home Alone
  41.   In My Crib
  42.   Shorty Gone Get It
  43.   Da Hot Sh** (Aight)
  44.   Lost in the Moment
  45.   Hootie Mack
  46.   The Situation
  47.   Shorty Done Get It

Artists Related to Bell Biv DeVoe

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |