Slacker Logo


Between the Buried and Me

Between the Buried and Me is a thinking man's hardcore unit hailing from Raleigh, North Carolina. The band began in 2000 after the dissolution of vocalist Tommy Rogers and guitarist Paul Waggoner's previous group, Prayer for Cleansing. Rogers and Waggoner completed their new lineup with the addition of guitarist Nick Fletcher, bassist Jason King (ex-Azazel), and drummer Mark Castillo, formerly of Bury Your Dead. An eponymous debut soon appeared, issued through the German indie Lifeforce, and the band supported its release with an avid tour schedule. Between the Buried and Me signed with Chicago hardcore powerhouse Victory in the summer of 2002 and began work on their debut for the label. The Silent Circus appeared in late October of the following year and showcased a more focused fusion of the group's math rock, heavy metal, and post-hardcore influences. Several lineup changes ensued that saw Rogers and Waggoner rounded out by guitarist Dusty Waring, bassist Dan Briggs, and drummer Blake Richardson. Joining forces with producer Jamie King, who had recorded their self-titled effort, Between the Buried and Me released Alaska in September 2005. Various tour dates with the Dillinger Escape Plan, Every Time I Die, Bleeding Through, and Haste the Day followed. The band next paid tribute to many of their influences -- from Pantera to Queen to Pink Floyd -- on the covers album The Anatomy Of, which surfaced in June 2006, before hitting the road on a subsequent headlining tour. That fall, Victory reissued The Silent Circus with an additional bonus DVD of material. In 2007, they went into the studio with producer Jamie King and recorded Colors, which was released that September through Victory Records and described as "new wave polka grunge" by the band. The Great Misdirect, the band's fifth studio album, appeared two years later. Victory put out a Between the Buried and Me greatest-hits album in 2011, just weeks before the band released their first EP on Metal Blade, The Parallax: Hypersleep Dialogues, the first entry in a two-part concept album. The second part, The Parallax II: Future Sequence, followed in 2012. In 2013, they embarked on The Future Sequence Tour, where they played The Parallax II in full. Between the Buried and Me re-entered the studio in late 2014 to begin work on a new concept recording -- Metal Blade referred to it as a "rock opera." Coma Ecliptic was produced by Jamie King and mixed by Jens Bogren. The set's pre-release single, "Memory Palace," appeared in April of 2015; the album followed in July. In 2017 the band released the concert LP Coma Ecliptic Live, which featured the band playing the album live in its entirety at The Observatory North Park in San Diego, California. ~ Johnny Loftus
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Between the Buried and Me

    Rock Instrumentals

    Rock Instrumentals
    1 song


    1 song

    Progressive Rock

    Progressive Rock
    1 song

Albums by
Between the Buried and Me

Top Songs by
Between the Buried and Me

  1.   Song
  2.   Alaska
  3.   Mordecai
  4.   Kickstart My Heart
  5.   Dim Ignition
  6.   Selkies: The Endless Obsession
  7.   More of Myself to Kill
  8.   Naked by the Computer
  9.   Arsonist
  10.   Laser Speed
  11.   Cemetary Gates
  12.   Shevanel Cut a Flip
  13.   The Day I Tried to Live
  14.   Prequel to the Sequel
  15.   Melting City
  16.   White Walls
  17.   Lost Perfection A. Coulrophobia
  18.   Famine Wolf
  19.   Foam Born A: The Backtrack
  20.   Ants of the Sky
  21.   Forced March
  22.   Bicycle Race
  23.   The Primer
  24.   Medicine Wheel
  25.   All Bodies
  26.   Colorblind
  27.   Aesthetic
  28.   Camilla Rhodes
  29.   Aspirations
  30.   Life in Velvet
  31.   Option Oblivion
  32.   Memory Palace
  33.   Rapid Calm
  34.   King Redeem/Queen Serene
  35.   Node
  36.   Silent Flight Parliament
  37.   Bloom
  38.   Telos
  39.   Extremophile Elite
  40.   Lay Your Ghosts to Rest
  41.   Astral Body
  42.   Goodbye to Everything
  43.   Viridian
  44.   Swim to the Moon
  45.   Obfuscation
  46.   Fossil Genera (A Feed From Cloud Mountain)
  47.   Disease, Injury, Madness
  48.   Foam Born, Pt. B: The Decade of Statues
  49.   Sun of Nothing
  50.   Informal Gluttony
  51.   Foam Born [A] The Backtrack
  52.   Little 15
  53.   Malpractice
  54.   Change
  55.   Us and Them
  56.   Three of a Perfect Pair
  57.   Blackened
  58.   Autodidact
  59.   Backwards Marathon
  60.   Breathe in, Breathe Out
  61.   Croakies and Boatshoes
  62.   Reaction
  63.   What We Have Become
  64.   Fire for a Dry Mouth
  65.   The Ectopic Stroll
  66.   Turn on the Darkness
  67.   The Coma Machine
  68.   Parallax
  69.   Autumn
  70.   Foam Born B: The Decade of Statues
  71.   Lunar Wilderness
  72.   Augment of Rebirth
  73.   Mirrors
  74.   Viridian
  75.   (B) The Decade of Statues
  76.   (Shevanel, Take 2)
  77.   Use of a Weapon
  78.   Geek U.S.A.
  79.   Ad a Dglgmut
  80.   The Black Box
  81.   Selkies: The Endless Obsession
  82.   Specular Reflection
  83.   Desert of Song
  84.   Foam Born, Pt. A: The Backtrack
  85.   Territory
  86.   The Need for Repetition
  87.   Destructo Spin
  88.   Roboturner
  89.   Lost Perfection: Anablephobia