Slacker Logo


Birds of Tokyo

Birds of Tokyo are an alternative rock band from Australia who rose to domestic mainstream success with their second album, Universes (2008). Founded in 2004 in Perth, Western Australia, the band originally comprised Karnivool's Ian Kenny (vocals), Adam Spark (guitar), Anthony Jackson (bass), and Adam Weston (drums). Birds of Tokyo made their recording debut in 2005 with a pair of EPs (Birds of Tokyo, One Way/Stay) released in association with the independent label Egg Records. The song "Stay" earned the band its first of many WAMi Awards (West Australian Music Industry Awards), this one for Rock Song of the Year. Two years later, Birds of Tokyo released their full-length album debut, Day One (2007), and won a pair of WAMi Awards (Favorite Newcomer, Best Male Vocalist). Their second album, Universes (2008), marked their mainstream breakthrough, peaking at number three on the Australian albums chart and spawning a pair of singles ("Silhouettic," "Broken Bones"). The band's eponymously titled third album was released by EMI in July of 2010, included the hit singles “Plans” and “Wild at Heart,” and went on to receive double-platinum certifications. Following this success, the Australian music industry accolades continued to flood in. These included APRA awards for songwriting and a “Most Popular Australian Artist” award at the 2011 ARIA ceremony. Ahead of sessions in Los Angeles for a fourth album with David Cooley and Tony Hoffer, Birds of Tokyo brought two new players into the fold: Glenn Sarangapany on keyboards and Ian Berney who replaced Jackson on bass. Also prior to these sessions, Kenny, Spark, and Weston each left Perth behind, relocating to cities on the eastern coast of Australia. The resulting record, March Fires, was appropriately released in March 2013 and became the band's first album to hit the number one spot in the Australian charts, eventually going gold. The success of March Fires opened up new doors for the band internationally, and they spent much of 2014 in the U.S. with Los Angeles as their temporary home base. In between U.S. tours, they wrote and recorded four new songs which were released in April 2015 as the standalone EP Anchor. Brace, the band's dark and gritty fifth studio long-player, dropped the following year. ~ Jason Birchmeier & James Wilkinson
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Birds of Tokyo

Albums by
Birds of Tokyo

Top Songs by
Birds of Tokyo

  1.   Song
  2.   Lanterns
  3.   Off Kilter
  4.   Stay
  5.   Gods
  6.   Pilot
  7.   The Others
  8.   Harlequins
  9.   Medicine
  10.   Crown
  11.   The Dark Side of Love
  12.   Wayside
  13.   Discoloured
  14.   Boy
  15.   Sirin
  16.   Silhouettic
  17.   Mercy Arms
  18.   Empire
  19.   I'd Go With You Anywhere
  20.   Puzzle
  21.   Anchor
  22.   White Leaves
  23.   Motionless
  24.   When the Night Falls Quiet
  25.   This Fire
  26.   Wild at Heart
  27.   The Saddest Thing I Know
  28.   The Gap
  29.   Plans
  30.   Murmurs
  31.   In the Veins of Death Valley
  32.   Circles
  33.   Black Sheets
  34.   Waiting for the Wolves
  35.   Above / Below
  36.   Broken Bones
  37.   Liquid Arms
  38.   The Unspeakable Scene
  39.   Blume
  40.   Weight of the World
  41.   If This Ship Sinks (I Give In)
  42.   Touch the Screen
  43.   Catastrophe
  44.   Hounds
  45.   Wild Eyed Boy
  46.   Brace
  47.   Uno
  48.   Head in My Hands
  49.   White Witch
  50.   An Ode To Death
  51.   Armour for Liars
  52.   The Bakers Son
  53.   Train Wrecks
  54.   Russian Roulette
  55.   Pedestal
  56.   Believer
  57.   [Untitled]
  58.   Broken Bokes
  59.   Heard It Through the Grapevine
  60.   Like Rain
  61.   Overture
  62.   Rest Here My Brother
  63.   Rose
  64.   Violet
  65.   [Bonus Material]
  66.   Talking to a Stranger

Artists Related to Birds of Tokyo

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |