Slacker Logo




Top Related Artists

  1. Montell Jordan
  2. LSG
  3. Aaron Hall
  4. Case
  5. Next
One of the top R&B vocal groups of the '90s, Blackstreet was founded by singer, producer, and new jack swing pioneer Teddy Riley after the breakup of his seminal trio Guy. Riley had taken a few years to concentrate on his booming production career, which saw him working with Wreckx-N-Effect, Bobby Brown, Michael Jackson, and SWV, among others. His itch to get back in the performing arena resulted in the formation of Blackstreet in 1991, which included singers Chauncey "Black" Hannibal, Levi Little, and Joe Stonestreet in addition to Riley. Stonestreet was replaced by Dave Hollister prior to the recording of the group's self-titled debut album, which appeared in the spring of 1994. On the strength of "Before I Let You Go," a Top Five hit on the R&B charts, Blackstreet was a platinum-selling hit even without much crossover exposure. Two more singles from the album, "Booti Call" and "Joy," were minor hits as well. Hollister subsequently left for a solo career and Little exited as well; their replacements were Mark Middleton and Eric Williams. The new additions helped set the stage for Blackstreet's pop breakthrough with 1996's Another Level. More specifically, it was the inescapable smash single "No Diggity," which featured special guest Dr. Dre, that put them over the top. "No Diggity" reigned for four weeks on top of the pop charts and won a Grammy for Best R&B Vocal by a Duo or Group; it also pushed sales of Another Level past the four million mark. The follow-up single, "Don't Leave Me," was a decent-sized hit in 1997, and the group later made a guest appearance on Jay-Z's "The City Is Mine" and teamed with Mya and Mase for the hit "Take Me There" from the Rugrats soundtrack. More personnel shifts had ensued following their blockbuster success, however: Middleton left for his own solo career and was replaced by Terrell Phillips. Blackstreet's third album, Finally, was released in early 1999, and though it contained "Take Me There" (and a bevy of guest cameos), it spent only one week in the Top Ten. The group's commercial momentum had slowed in the intervening years, and Finally struggled to go gold. Tensions within the group and with their label, Interscope, ran high, and a rift between Hannibal and Riley spelled the end of the road for Blackstreet before the year was even out. Reports surfaced in early 2000 that Hannibal had sued Riley for two million dollars, but after Riley filed a countersuit, Hannibal denied that he had ever taken legal action and the matter was dropped. Riley recorded a reunion album with Guy in 2000, and subsequently began working on material for his first solo record. However, he had second thoughts about disbanding Blackstreet, and patched things up with Hannibal; Middleton and Williams returned to restore the Another Level lineup, and Riley's solo project became a Blackstreet reunion. The resulting album, Level II, was released in early 2003. ~ Steve Huey
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring

    '90s R&B

    '90s R&B
    3 songs

    '90s Pop

    '90s Pop
    2 songs

    '90s Hip-Hop

    '90s Hip-Hop
    1 song

    R&B and Soul Mix

    R&B and Soul Mix
    2 songs

    Top Jams [Explicit]

    1 song

    Modern Gospel

    1 song

Albums by

Top Songs by

  1.   Song
  2.   No Diggity
  3.   Don't Leave Me
  4.   Before I Let You Go
  5.   Never Gonna Let You Go
  6.   Take Me There
  7.   Billie Jean
  8.   The Lord Is Real (Time Will Reveal)
  9.   Deep
  10.   Joy
  11.   Don't Leave Me by Dr. Dre
  12.   Let's Stay in Love
  13.   (Money Can't) Buy Me Love
  14.   Can't Buy Me Love
  15.   We Gonna Take You Back (Lude)/Don't Leave Me
  16.   I Wanna Be Your Man
  17.   Girlfriend/Boyfriend
  18.   Tonight's the Night
  19.   Good Lovin'
  20.   Happy Home
  21.   Fix
  22.   Brown Eyes
  23.   Love's in Need
  24.   Black & White
  25.   Think About You
  26.   I Can't Get You (Out of My Mind)
  27.   Booti Call
  28.   Friend of Mine
  29.   Intro (Blackstreet Philosophy)
  30.   Givin' You All My Lovin'
  31.   Finally
  32.   This Is How We Roll
  33.   U Blow My Mind
  34.   It's So Hard to Say Goodbye
  35.   How We Do
  36.   Baby Be Mine
  37.   Falling in Love Again
  38.   Confession
  39.   Motherlude
  40.   Coming Home to You
  41.   My Paradise (Interlude)
  42.   Baby You're All I Want
  43.   Why, Why
  44.   You Made Me
  45.   Ooh Girl
  46.   Don't Touch
  47.   Ticket to Ride (Intro)
  48.   Good Life
  49.   Wanna Make Love
  50.   I Like the Way You Work
  51.   Happy Song (Tonite)
  52.   I'll Give It to You
  53.   Deja's Poem
  54.   Black & Street Intro
  55.   Look in the Water
  56.   What's The Fuss
  57.   She's Hot
  58.   Wizzy Wow
  59.   Still Feelin' You (Interlude)
  60.   Bygones
  61.   Physical Thing
  62.   Candlelight Night
  63.   Drama/Misery Interlude
  64.   Yo Love
  65.   Blackstreet Intro/Can You Feel Me
  66.   Taja's Lude (Interlude)
  67.   Blackstreet (On the Radio)
  68.   I'm Sorry
  69.   Make U Wet
  70.   Hey Love (Keep It Real)
  71.   Once In A Lifetime (Interlude)
  72.   Hustler's Prayer
  73.   In a Rush
  74.   I Got What You On
  75.   Call Me by Jay Z
  76.   We'll Meet Again
  77.   On the Floor
  78.   Confused
  79.   No Diggity
  80.   We'll Meet Again
  81.   Can You Feel Me
  82.   Don't Stop
  83.   Bootie Call
  84.   Don't Leave
  85.   Fly
  86.   Medley
  87.   Don't Touch by Mr. Cheeks
  88.   Wizzy Wow by Mystikal
  89.   Man Behind the Music featuring Queen Pen
  90.   Booty Call
  91.   Ghetto Christmas
  92.   Black and Street
  93.   We Gonna Take U Back/Don't Leave Me
  94.   Blackstreet Philosophy