Slacker Logo



Borknagar are a Norwegian progressive metal group whose sound combines black metal and folk metal, with lyrics centered around themes such as philosophy, nature, mythology, paganism, and the cosmos. The band was established in 1995 by Øystein G. Brun, guitarist for death metal group Molested, who was growing tired of that group's brutal sound and wanted to pursue a more melodic direction. Joining him was an all-star lineup including Garm (vocals, also of Ulver and Arcturus), Ivar Bjornson (keyboards/vocals, ex-Enslaved), Infernus (bass), and Grim (drums; also of Immortal and Gorgoroth). Not wasting any time, their self-titled debut came out early the following year on Malicious Records, who signed Borknagar based on their lineup in lieu of a demo recording. The album featured lyrics entirely in Norwegian, and was the group's most straightforward black metal release, with blasting drums and screamed vocals. The album landed Borknagar a deal with Century Media Records soon thereafter. Bassist Kai Lie replaced Infernus for their second album, The Olden Domain, in 1997; the album featured English lyrics and shifted to a more pagan/folk metal sound. The following year, Borknagar undertook a full-scale European tour in support of In Flames. With new vocalist I.C.S. Vortex (b. Simen Hestnaes) and guitarist Jens F. Ryland, Borknagar immediately jumped back into the studio to record and release 1998's progressive The Archaic Course without any breaks in between. Unfortunately, Grim died of a sleeping-pill overdose in October 1999; he was briefly replaced by Justin Greaves, followed by Asgeir Mickelson. For 2000's even more progressive Quintessence album, Vortex took over bass duties, and new keyboardist Lasare signed on. After the album's release, Vortex left the band to join Dimmu Borgir. Vintersorg (Andreas Hedlund) became the group's new vocalist, and Tyr (Jan Erik Tiwaz) joined on bass. This lineup recorded Empiricism, which was released in October 2001. The album became one of the group's most popular albums, and was nominated for major music awards in Norway. Halfway through the recording of the band's next album, Tyr left the group, and Mickelson assumed bass duties. Ryland also left the group. Despite the stripped-down lineup, the aptly titled Epic was the group's most ambitious work to date, and the 2004 album was another success. Tyr rejoined Borknagar for 2007's Origin, which was a primarily acoustic effort. The group signed to Indie Recordings at the end of the year, and Century Media released the compilation For the Elements (1996–2006) in 2008. At this point, Ryland had rejoined Borknagar, and the group was hoping for an early 2009 release for its next album. However, Asgeir left the band on good terms in May 2008, and American drummer David Kinkade joined the group. The group announced its eighth full-length, Universal, in April 2009, with a projected September release date, but the album was delayed until February 2010. Vortex provided guest vocals on the song "My Domain," and soon after, he replaced Tyr (who left again) on Borknagar's live dates before rejoining them full-time. Their deal with Indie Recordings fell through in early 2011, and they signed with Century Media again. Their Norse mythology-themed ninth album, Urd, appeared on the label in March 2012. The full-length was the last Borknagar album to include Kinkade, who left to concentrate on his role as drummer for the band Soulfly; he subsequently retired from music to devote more time to his family. Baard Kolstad became Borknagar's new drummer in February 2012. The group spent much of 2014 and 2015 recording its next album, which was set back due to injuries suffered by Vintersorg. Winter Thrice finally appeared in early 2016, and the album included a guest appearance by the group's original vocalist, Garm. ~ Mike DaRonco, Steve Huey & Paul Simpson
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring

Albums by

Top Songs by

  1.   Song
  2.   The Eye of Oden
  3.   White
  4.   Ved Steingard
  5.   Origin
  6.   Inner Landscape
  7.   The Spirit of Nature
  8.   Matter and Motion
  9.   Circled
  10.   Dauden
  11.   In a Deeper World
  12.   The Dawn of the End
  13.   Icon Dreams
  14.   Wonder
  15.   Ad Noctum
  16.   The Stellar Dome
  17.   Oceans Rise
  18.   Noctilucent
  19.   Traveller
  20.   The Black Canvas
  21.   Sealed Chambers Of Electricty
  22.   Winter Thrice
  23.   To Mount and Rove
  24.   Grimland Domain
  25.   Vintervredets Sjelesagn
  26.   Liberated
  27.   A Tale of Pagan Tongue
  28.   The Down of the End
  29.   Panorama
  30.   Fleshflower
  31.   Four Element Synchronicity
  32.   Future Reminiscence
  33.   Havoc
  34.   Tanker Mot Tind (Kvelding)
  35.   Mount Regency
  36.   The Plains of Memories
  37.   Roots
  38.   Worldwide
  39.   Cyclus
  40.   Soul Sphere
  41.   Nord Naaguak
  42.   Om Hundrede Aar Er Alting Glemt
  43.   The Earthling
  44.   Resonance
  45.   Universal
  46.   Fandens Allheim
  47.   Terminus
  48.   Embers
  49.   Acclimation
  50.   Rivalry Of Phantoms
  51.   Krigsstev
  52.   The Genuine Pulse
  53.   Erodent
  54.   Genesis Torn
  55.   For a Thousand Years To Come
  56.   Reason
  57.   Grains
  58.   Signs
  59.   Revolt
  60.   The Human Nature
  61.   The Black Token
  62.   Colossus
  63.   The Stir of Seasons
  64.   The Presence Is Ominous
  65.   Abrasion Tide
  66.   Nocturnal Vision
  67.   Inner Ocean Hypothesis
  68.   Invincible
  69.   Svartskogs Gilde
  70.   The Rhymes of the Mountain
  71.   Relate
  72.   The Winter Eclipse
  73.   Grimskalle Trell
  74.   The View of Everlast
  75.   The Winterway
  76.   Cynosure
  77.   Fields of Long Gone Presence
  78.   Cold Runs the River
  79.   Winter Millennium
  80.   When Chaos Calls
  81.   My Domain
  82.   Quintessence
  83.   Earth Imagery
  84.   Epochalypse
  85.   Witching Hour
  86.   Ascension of Our Fathers
  87.   Inherit the Earth
  88.   Gods of My World
  89.   Ruins Of The Future
  90.   Weight Of Wind
  91.   The Beauty of Dead Cities