Slacker Logo


Brantley Gilbert

Although it's tempting to call Brantley Gilbert a country artist -- he certainly embraces the outlaw country side of things -- in many ways his music is closer to the heartland sentiments of artists like John Mellencamp, Bruce Springsteen, and perhaps most apt, Steve Earle. Gilbert was born in the small town of Jefferson, Georgia, just outside of Athens. He grew up hearing country music, but he also listened to a lot of Athens rock bands like R.E.M. and the B-52's, plus the swaggering Southern rock of bands like Lynyrd Skynyrd; at his best, Gilbert blends all of these various strains together in his music. It was a near-fatal car accident when he was 19 years old that spurred him to give music his all, and he started writing songs in earnest, playing mostly solo acoustic gigs before forming a band that could bring his vision of a hard-stomping country/rock/soul show to fruition. Moving to Nashville, he signed with Warner Chappell Publishing (his songs have been recorded by the likes of Jason Aldean and Colt Ford) and began working toward completing an album. Modern Day Prodigal Son finally appeared in 2009 from Average Joe's, which also released the follow-up, Halfway to Heaven, in 2010. Gilbert signed with Big Machine's Valory Music imprint in 2011 and the label reissued Halfway to Heaven. With Valory's support, the album took off: "Country Must Be Country Wide" and "You Don't Know Her Like I Do" both topped the U.S. Country Charts on their way to being certified platinum. Two other singles were pulled from the record in 2012 -- "Kick it in the Sticks" and "More Than Miles," both peaking in the Country Top 20s -- and then in 2013, Gilbert began working on a new studio project with producer Dann Huff. "Bottoms Up," the first single issued from these sessions, turned into Gilbert's biggest hit to date in early 2014, reaching number one on the charts on its way to selling over a million copies. Its success whetted the appetite for Just as I Am, which saw release in May 2014. ~ Steve Leggett
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Brantley Gilbert

    Top Country

    Top Country
    4 songs

    Outlaw Country

    Outlaw Country
    4 songs

    New Country First

    New Country First
    1 song

    Country Party

    Country Party
    4 songs

    Heartbreak Hotel

    1 song

Albums by
Brantley Gilbert

Top Songs by
Brantley Gilbert

  1.   Song
  2.   Bottoms Up
  3.   Country Must Be Country Wide
  4.   Small Town Throwdown
  5.   You Don't Know Her Like I Do
  6.   Kick It in the Sticks
  7.   One Hell of an Amen
  8.   More Than Miles
  9.   Stone Cold Sober
  10.   Fall Into Me
  11.   My Kind of Crazy
  12.   Freshman Year
  13.   Hell On Wheels
  14.   Girls, Girls, Girls
  15.   Whenever We're Alone
  16.   Take It Outside
  17.   Saving Amy
  18.   Rock This Town
  19.   What's Left of a Small Town
  20.   Same Old Song
  21.   Read Me My Rights
  22.   If You Want a Bad Boy
  23.   My Baby's Guns N' Roses
  24.   Just As I Am
  25.   G.R.I.T.S.
  26.   My Kinda Party
  27.   The Best of Me
  28.   Hell on an Angel
  29.   I'm Gone
  30.   Grown Ass Man
  31.   Let It Ride
  32.   Them Boys
  33.   Lights of My Hometown
  34.   Play Me That Song
  35.   Do What the Night Wants
  36.   A Modern Day Prodigal Son
  37.   Halfway To Heaven
  38.   My Faith in You
  39.   Picture on the Dashboard
  40.   That Was Us
  41.   Live It Up
  42.   Back in the Day
  43.   Lie Baby Lie
  44.   17 Again
  45.   Bending the Rules and Breaking the Law
  46.   Before the Bullets Fly
  47.   Friday Night
  48.   Country Must Be Country Wide
  49.   Indiana's Angel
  50.   Dirt Road Anthem
  51.   My Kinda Crazy

Artists Related to Brantley Gilbert

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |