Slacker Logo


Bullet For My Valentine

Since their inception in 2003, Welsh quartet Bullet for My Valentine have been taking cues from '80s metal bands and the punk-infused metal of the new millennium to make melodic, metallic, dark rock songs. Originating from Bridgend, South Wales -- a breeding ground for like-minded groups like Funeral for a Friend and LostProphets -- the group consists of childhood friends Matthew Tuck (vocals/guitar), Michael Padget (guitar/vocals), Jason James (bass/vocals), and Michael Thomas (drums). Everyone in the group, with the sole exception of James, previously performed together for a few years in Jeff Killed John. One day before entering the recording studio, though, Jeff Killed John's original bassist abruptly walked out, effectively breaking up the band with his exit. Regrouping under the new name Bullet for My Valentine (with James on board), the guys reworked their sound and were signed at their second gig by London's Visible Noise. They released a self-titled EP in the U.K. in November 2004, and their debut album, The Poison, appeared the next fall. One year later they partnered with an American label, Trustkill, to begin releasing their material in the U.S. As a result, Hand of Blood -- essentially a deluxe version of the band's first EP -- was issued to American audiences in August. That same year, Bullet for My Valentine won Kerrang!''s Best British Newcomer Award and headlined the magazine's XXV tour. The U.S. release of The Poison followed in early 2006, as did a nationwide tour in support of Rob Zombie, and the album eventually sold more than 500,000 copies in America alone. Meanwhile, Bullet for My Valentine headed back to the U.K. in June for a third appearance at the annual Download Festival. Scream Aim Fire appeared in 2008, marking the band's second full-length album and cracking the Top Ten in multiple countries (including the U.K. and U.S., where it peaked at numbers five and four, respectively). After touring, the band headed back into the studio, this time choosing Linkin Park producer Don Gilmore to helm the recording sessions. The result was 2010's Fever, another high-charting album with a slightly more mainstream sound than the band's previous releases. In 2012, Tuck took a quick break to record with his side project, AxeWound, but returned to the band to release Bullet for My Valentine's fourth album, Temper Temper, in 2013. The following year saw the group head back into the studio with producer Colin Richardson to begin work on its next long-player. The resulting Venom arrived in summer 2015. ~ Corey Apar
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Bullet For My Valentine


    9 songs

    Metal Mosh Pit

    Metal Mosh Pit
    13 songs

    Xtreme Alt Rock

    Xtreme Alt Rock
    1 song

    Hard Rock

    Hard Rock
    1 song

Albums by
Bullet For My Valentine

Top Songs by
Bullet For My Valentine

  1.   Song
  2.   Your Betrayal
  3.   Scream Aim Fire
  4.   Tears Don't Fall
  5.   No Way Out
  6.   Hearts Burst Into Fire
  7.   Bittersweet Memories
  8.   4 Words (To Choke Upon)
  9.   Hand of Blood
  10.   Suffocating Under Words of Sorrow (What Can I Do)
  11.   You Want a Battle? (Here's a War)
  12.   Temper Temper
  13.   All These Things I Hate (Revolve Around Me)
  14.   No Control
  15.   Waking the Demon
  16.   Worthless
  17.   Playing God
  18.   Fever
  19.   Riot
  20.   Room 409
  21.   Welcome Home (Sanitarium)
  22.   Hit the Floor
  23.   Cries in Vain
  24.   Last to Know
  25.   Her Voice Resides
  26.   Ashes of the Innocent
  27.   Tears Don't Fall, Pt. 2
  28.   My Fist, Your Mouth, Her Scars
  29.   Forever and Always
  30.   Alone
  31.   Pretty on the Outside
  32.   About Leech
  33.   Deliver Us From Evil
  34.   Venom
  35.   A Place Where You Belong
  36.   The Last Fight
  37.   Curses
  38.   Pleasure and Pain
  39.   Dead to the World
  40.   Don't Need You
  41.   Suffocating Under Words of Sorrow (What Can I Do) [Dolby Digital
  42.   The End
  43.   Spit You Out