Slacker Logo



Burzum is the one-man project of Varg Vikernes (born Christian Vikernes, aka Count Grishnackh), perhaps the most notorious figure in Norwegian black metal. Although Burzum had an unpredictably experimental bent -- encompassing black metal, industrial, electronic, and dark ambient music -- Vikernes will forever be associated with his conviction for the 1993 murder of former Mayhem bandmate Euronymous. It wasn't the first time Vikernes had run afoul of the law; he had been a suspect in arsons directed at historic Norwegian churches in Bergen, a perception not helped by his use of a post-fire photograph of the Fantoft Kirke church on the cover of Burzum's 1993 Aske EP. Coupled with Vikernes' racist, virulently anti-Judeo-Christian beliefs was a sort of nationalistic pride, a longing to return to the pre-Christian pagan culture and religion that had marked the glory days of the Vikings; this paganism became a frequently recurring theme in black metal circles, and led to the Norwegian metal sound being tagged Viking metal in some quarters. As for his recording career, Vikernes issued the eponymous Burzum debut in 1992 under his Count Grishnackh alias (taken from a J.R.R. Tolkien book); it was largely a typical black metal record, although it featured a few synth dabblings and slower passages, neither of which had yet found much favor on the scene. Released in 1993, Det Som Engang Var expanded on those innovations while retaining an overall metal flavor. Hvis Lyset Tar Oss (If the Light Takes Us), issued in 1994 shortly after Vikernes' imprisonment, integrated synthesizers more fully into the Burzum sound, and the all-electronic closing track foreshadowed Burzum's later move into dark ambient. The well-received industrial/electronic-tinged Filosofem appeared in 1996, although it had been recorded (but not mixed) prior to Vikernes' incarceration. With the vaults thus exhausted, Burzum's future appeared to be in doubt, but Vikernes managed to begin recording entirely instrumental synthesizer albums while in prison. A concept work recounting a well-known Norse myth, Daudi Baldrs (Balder's Death), was released in 1997 as the first installment of a planned trilogy. The second portion, the mythology-themed Hlidskjalf, appeared in 1999, featuring an equipment upgrade and a correspondingly fuller sound. This would be the last Burzum release for nearly a decade until, in 2009, Vikernes was paroled after serving 15 years of a 21-year sentence. He began working on new material, and made a return to a more metal sound with 2010's Belus. Staying productive, Burzum went in a more experimental direction, releasing Fallen early in 2011 before following up later that year with From the Depths of Darkness, which featured re-recorded versions of songs from his early albums Burzum and Det Som Engang Var. The spring of 2012 saw the release of Burzum's Umskiptar. He followed the next year with the increasingly courtly and ambient Sôl Austan, Mâni Vestan, and again in 2014 with the similarly styled The Ways of Yore. ~ Steve Huey
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring

Albums by

Top Songs by

  1.   Song
  2.   Hvis Lyset Tar Oss
  3.   Ea, Lord of the Depths
  4.   Gebrechlichkeit 1
  5.   Spell of Destruction
  6.   Feeble Screams from Forests Unknown
  7.   War
  8.   Hermodr a Helferd
  9.   Jesus' Tod
  10.   Hit Helga Tré
  11.   Alfadanz
  12.   Jóln
  13.   Thulean Mysteries
  14.   Sôl Austan
  15.   Illa Tithandi
  16.   Rundgang Um Die Transzendentale Saule der Singularitat
  17.   En Ring til AA Hershe
  18.   Ganga At Sôlu
  19.   Aera
  20.   Turn the Sign of the Microcosm
  21.   Budstikken
  22.   Dunkelheit
  23.   Lost Wisdom
  24.   Jeg Faller
  25.   Channelling the Power of Minds Into a New God
  26.   Erblicket Die Tuchter des Firmaments
  27.   Snu Mikrokosmos Tegn
  28.   Enhver Til Sitt
  29.   Den Onde Kysten
  30.   Mâni Vestan
  31.   Tomhet
  32.   Balferd Baldrs
  33.   Ansuzgardaraiwo
  34.   A Lost Forgotten Sad Spirit
  35.   Dungeons of Darkness
  36.   Channelling the Power of Souls Into a New God
  37.   Forgotten Realms
  38.   Frijos Einsames Trauern
  39.   Valen
  40.   Sôlbjörg
  41.   Gebrechlichkeit II
  42.   Til Hel Og Tilbake Igjen (Konklusjon)
  43.   Gullaldr
  44.   Key to the Gate
  45.   Mythic Dawn
  46.   Hid (Bear's Lair)
  47.   Sôlarrâs
  48.   Runar munt bu finna (You shall find Secrets)
  49.   Valgaldr
  50.   The Coming
  51.   Call of the Sirens
  52.   Vanvidd
  53.   Gebrechlichkeit I
  54.   Seven Harmonies of the Unknown Truth
  55.   Once Emperor
  56.   Outro
  57.   Dominuus Sathanas
  58.   Steminen Fra Taarnet
  59.   Tuistos Herz
  60.   Frijos Goldene Tranen
  61.   Der Tod Wuotans
  62.   Dominus Sathanas
  63.   My Journey to the Stars
  64.   Inn I Slottet Fra Droemmen
  65.   I Heimr Heliar
  66.   Heljarmyrkr
  67.   Fedrahellir (Forebear-Cave)
  68.   Einfühlungsverntögen
  69.   Der Weinende Hadnur
  70.   Stemmen Fra Taarnet
  71.   Stemmen Fra Taarnet
  72.   Crying Orc
  73.   Fra Verdenstreet (Introduksjon)
  74.   Surtr Sunnan
  75.   Det Som en Gang Var
  76.   Moti Ragnargkum
  77.   Die Liebe Nerpus'
  78.   Haar Himmelen Klarner
  79.   Haugaeldr
  80.   Et Hvitt Lys Over Skogen
  81.   Solargudi (Sun-god)
  82.   Daudi Baldrs
  83.   Sassu Wunnu

Artists Related to Burzum


Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |