Slacker Logo


Clap Your Hands Say Yeah

East Coast indie rock outfit Clap Your Hands Say Yeah make artsy, finely crafted pop centered on lead singer/songwriter Alec Ounsworth. The band was formed in Massachusetts around 2004, with Ounsworth (guitars/vocals/keyboards), Lee Sargent (guitars), Robbie Guertin (keyboards/guitars), Tyler Sargent (bass), and Sean Greenhalgh (drums). After the band moved to Brooklyn (with Ounsworth remaining in nearby Philadelphia), songwriting sessions began in earnest. The band's full-length debut album, 2005's Clap Your Hands Say Yeah, initially gained traction with help from a wide network of bloggers and Internet supporters. There was so much online interest in the band that NPR even did a feature on the emerging phenomena of Internet band buzz, using CYHSY as the prime example. Rolling Stone championed the cause further by heralding the group as a "Hot New Band" later that year. Following the release of their debut, Ounsworth dabbled with his side project, Flashy Python & the Body Snatchers, while Greenhalgh's Guns N' Roses tribute band Mr. Brownstone packed it up in June 2006. The rest of that year found the group leaking out a few EPs before a second full-length record, Some Loud Thunder, hit shelves in 2007. The band continued to play shows and pursue other interests amid rumors that they had gone on hiatus, with Greenhalgh producing records for bands like Takka Takka while the Sargent brothers did some soundtrack work. In 2011, the band quashed rumors they were splitting up by self-releasing their third album, Hysterical, and touring. Two members decided to leave CYHSY in 2012. Guertin went on to pursue other projects, while Sargent left to form a "presidential exploratory committee." CYHSY released a digital-only EP in 2013, which was the first sign of their change in direction with the presence of synths and drum machines. The tracks "Only Run" and "Little Moments" from the EP were to again feature on their next album, 2014's Only Run, which also featured guest artist Matt Berninger of the National. Greenhalgh then parted ways with the band, leaving Ounsworth as the sole member. In 2017, the Ounsworth-helmed Clap Your Hands Say Yeah delivered the Dave Fridmann-mixed The Tourist. ~ J. Scott McClintock
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Clap Your Hands Say Yeah

    Top Alternative

    Top Alternative
    1 song

    Alternative Mix

    Alternative Mix
    1 song

    Pop Rock

    Pop Rock
    1 song

Albums by
Clap Your Hands Say Yeah

Top Songs by
Clap Your Hands Say Yeah

  1.   Song
  2.   The Skin of My Yellow Country Teeth
  3.   In This Home on Ice
  4.   Same Mistake
  5.   Satan Said Dance
  6.   Over and Over Again (Lost and Found)
  7.   Is This Love?
  8.   Let the Cool Goddess Rust Away
  9.   Gimmie Some Salt
  10.   Better Off
  11.   Hysterical
  12.   Maniac
  13.   Clap Your Hands!
  14.   Details of the War
  15.   The Witness' Dull Surprise
  16.   Yankee Go Home
  17.   Sunshine and Clouds (And Everything Proud)
  18.   Visiting Hours
  19.   The Pilot
  20.   Little Moments
  21.   Coming Down by Matt Berninger
  22.   Yesterday, Never
  23.   Siesta (For Snake)
  24.   Ketamine and Ecstasy
  25.   Into Your Alien Arms
  26.   Idiot
  27.   Upon This Tidal Wave of Young Blood
  28.   Heavy Metal
  29.   Cover Up by Kid Koala
  30.   Adam's Plane
  31.   Arm and Hammer
  32.   Loose Ends
  33.   The Vanity of Trying
  34.   Fireproof
  35.   Unfolding Above Celibate Moon (Los Angeles Nursery Rhyme)
  36.   A Chance to Cure
  37.   Blue in the Face
  38.   Impossible Request
  39.   Beyond Illusion
  40.   Only Run
  41.   As Always
  42.   Misspent Youth
  43.   Some Loud Thunder
  44.   Emily Jean Stock
  45.   Mama, Won't You Keep Them Castles in the Air and Burning?
  46.   Love Song No. 7
  47.   Goodbye to Mother and the Cove
  48.   Upon Encountering the Crippled Elephant
  49.   Ambulance Chaser
  50.   Your Advice
  51.   Underwater (You and Me)
  52.   Blue Turning Gray
  53.   Blameless
  54.   In a Motel
  55.   Five Easy Pieces
  56.   Down (Is Where I Want to Be)

Artists Related to Clap Your Hands Say Yeah

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |