Slacker Logo



DJs Jonathan More and Matt Black, aka Coldcut, rose to acclaim in the mid-'80s through production and remix work for a number of modern rock, hip-hop, and dance outfits, including Yaz, Lisa Stansfield, Junior Reid, Blondie, Eric B. & Rakim, and Queen Latifah. While that connection has pegged them as a product of the U.K. acid house and rave scenes, the pair's larger commitment has been to urban breakbeat styles such as hip-hop, ambient dub, and jungle; the three of which have constituted the bulk of their recorded output since their first mid-'80s white-label EP, Hey Kids, What Time Is It? Comprising project titles like Hedfunk, Hex, DJ Food, and Coldcut, More and Black have assembled an empire of U.K. breakbeat and experimental hip-hop through their Ninja Tune/Ntone labels and been a unifying force in underground experimental electronic music through their eclectic radio show, Solid Steel, and club and tour dates. More and Black got their start, not surprisingly, as radio DJs, working at the pirate station Network 21 during the first half of the '80s, and latching onto the snowballing club scene mid- to late-decade. Their claim to early fame, Hey Kids, What Time Is It?, was modeled on the cut'n'scratch turntable aesthetic of underground deck heroes like Grandmaster Flash and Double D & Steinski. Widely regarded as the U.K.'s first breaks record and an influential force in bringing identity to London's nascent club culture, the record -- released as a U.S. import billed to DJ Coldcut to avoid sample litigation -- opened as many doors for More and Black as it did for DJs, bringing scads of production and remix work their way. The attention (and sales royalties) also allowed them to launch their Ninja Tune and Ntone labels, which together have been home to some of the most acclaimed and influential artists of London's post-rave underground scene, including DJ Food, Drome, Journeyman, 9 Lazy 9, Up, Bustle & Out, and the Herbaliser. Although Coldcut was their earliest nom de plume, following a befuddled contract with Arista, the name remained in legal channels for the following few years. The intervening period found the pair no less active, releasing a flood of material under different names and continuing to work with young groups. The Coldcut name returned to More and Black in 1995, and the pair celebrated with a mix CD as part of the Journeys by DJ series dubbed 70 Minutes of Madness. The release was credited with bringing to wider attention the sort of freestyle mixing the pair were always known for through their radio show on KISS FM, Solid Steel, and their steady club dates, a style that has since taken off through clubs like Blech and the Heavenly Sunday Social. In 1997, Coldcut finally released another full-length, Let Us Play! Two years later, the pair followed up with the remix album Let Us Replay! Numerous mix CDs appeared before they returned in 2006 with the new album Sound Mirrors, a slick album that recalled their debut. ~ Sean Cooper
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring

    Electronic Chill

    Electronic Chill
    1 song

Albums by

Top Songs by

  1.   Song
  2.   Sound Mirrors
  3.   Walk a Mile in My Shoes
  4.   Atomic Moog 2000
  5.   Panopticon
  6.   Just For the Kick
  7.   Music for 18 Musicians (remix after Steve Reich)
  8.   Flotsam
  9.   Kinda Natural
  10.   Aid Dealer
  11.   Colors The Soul by Dom Spitzer
  12.   Atomic Moog
  13.   True Skool by Roots Manuva
  14.   A Whistle And A Prayer by Fog
  15.   Space Journey
  16.   Just For The Kick by Annette Peacock
  17.   Dreamer
  18.   Mr Nichols by Saul Williams
  19.   Only Heaven by Roots Manuva
  20.   The Tale of Miss Virginia Epitome by Salina Saliva
  21.   Rubaiyat
  22.   Last Night A Clich
  23.   Doctorin' the House featuring The Plastic Population
  24.   Man in a Garage by John Matthias
  25.   Return to Margin
  26.   Colours the Soul
  27.   This Island Earth
  28.   Boogieman
  29.   Everything Is Under Control
  30.   A Whistle and a Prayer
  31.   Mr. Nochols
  32.   True Skool
  33.   Man in a Garage
  34.   Coldcut's Christmas Break
  35.   Doctorin' the House
  36.   Find a Way
  37.   Autumn Leaves
  38.   Stop This Crazy Thing
  39.   Give It Up
  40.   Tale Of Miss Virginia Epitome
  41.   Last Night a Cliche Saved My Life
  42.   Border
  43.   Onamission
  44.   Beats and Pieces
  45.   I'm Wild About That Thing
  46.   Cloned Again
  47.   Every Home a Prison
  48.   Timber
  49.   Noah's Toilet
  50.   Music 4 No Musicians
  51.   Rubyaiyat
  52.   More Beats & Pieces
  53.   Eine Kleine Hed Musick
  54.   Creative
  55.   Dreamboats
  56.   Screw Loose
  57.   Doctorin' The House by Yazz & the Plastic Population
  58.   Walk a Mile I My Shoes by Robert Owens
  59.   Only Heaven
  60.   Donald's Wig
  61.   Plastic Man
  62.   My Telephone
  63.   Fat (Party and Bullshit)
  64.   Donald's Wig by Roses Gabor
  65.   Quality Control

Artists Related to Coldcut

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |