Slacker Logo


Crazy Town

Crazy Town's music and image reflected one of the most dynamic and volatile sociocultural environments on the planet -- Los Angeles -- where the urban squalor of the South Central district exists just minutes away from the glitz of Beverly Hills. Spearheaded by a team of producers/vocalists, Seth "Shifty Shellshock" Binzer and Bret "Epic" Mazur, Crazy Town combined hip-hop's lyrical attitude and rhythmic sass with the muscle of live rock instrumentation. The combination yielded the group a number one hit in 2001, when "Butterfly" topped the Billboard 100 and helped push the band's debut effort, The Gift of Game, to platinum status. Bret Mazur and Seth Binzer were both surrounded by music while growing up in Southern California. Mazur's father was Billy Joel's manager, while Binzer's father was an artist and filmmaker who directed the Rolling Stones' live movie Ladies & Gentlemen, The Rolling Stones. The two boys preferred a different style of music, however, listening instead to rap acts like N.W.A., Cypress Hill, and Ice-T, as well as alternative rock bands like the Cure. Originally from New York, Mazur started crafting beats and cutting tracks at an early age and found himself working on records by MC Serch (of 3rd Bass), Eazy-E, and MC Lyte; he was also House of Pain's DJ for a short period. Meanwhile, Binzer had come across a copy of the Beastie Boys' Licensed to Ill while in Mexico, and discovered a side of hip-hop that inspired him to start making demo recordings on his own. Binzer and Mazur initially came together as the Brimstone Sluggers, and while the pair recorded plenty of music, their contributions to other hip-hoppers' projects prevented them from completing a full album of their own. They also each ended up in rehabilitation clinics, where the two began writing letters that helped hatch the plan to form Crazy Town: a hip-hop band featuring a full instrumental lineup to complement the rapping vocalists. The group was to be rooted in classic rap-rock miscegenation like Run-D.M.C.'s "Rock Box," or Public Enemy and Anthrax's collaborative effort "Bring Tha Noize." Doug "Faydoedeelay" Miller (bass), Rust Epique (guitar), Anthony "Trouble" Valli (guitar), DJ AM (turntables), and drummer James "JBJ" Bradley -- a former session player who played on the Beastie Boys' Check Your Head album -- were recruited to join the group, and Crazy Town was officially born. The band's debut album, The Gift of Game, was produced by close friend Josh Abraham and featured appearances by KRS-One, dancehall toastmaster Mad Lion, and Dirty Unit. The album spawned a world-wide hit with "Butterfly," an ode to attractive women, and put the band on the road to success. After 2002's Howard Benson-produced Darkhorse failed to receive similar accolades, the band broke up in 2003. Crazy Town's members pursued production projects and solo careers as the decade progressed, but between Binzer's myriad bouts with drug addiction and the death of DJ AM (2009), attempts to reunite the band never truly took hold. That all changed in 2013 when the Mazur and Binzer let fly in an interview that they were currently in the studio working on new material. The resulting Brimstone Sluggers -- the moniker that the duo operated under before becoming Crazy Town -- dropped in the summer of 2015. ~ Ed Nimmervoll
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Crazy Town


    1 song

    1-Hit Wonders

    1-Hit Wonders
    1 song

    Party Hits

    Party Hits
    1 song

    '00s Pop

    '00s Pop
    1 song

    '00s Alternative

    1 song

Albums by
Crazy Town

Top Songs by
Crazy Town

  1.   Song
  2.   Butterfly
  3.   Toxic
  4.   Revolving Door
  5.   Lollipop Porn
  6.   Born to Raise Hell featuring DJ AM
  7.   Outro
  8.   Keys by Madchild
  9.   Megatron by Boondock
  10.   Change
  11.   Lemonface
  12.   Backpack featuring Bishop Lamont
  13.   Come Inside
  14.   B-Boy 2000
  15.   Little More Time by Koko LaRoo
  16.   Battle Cry
  17.   Think Fast
  18.   [Untitled Hidden Track]
  19.   Beautiful
  20.   Decorated
  21.   Players (Only Love You When They're Playing)
  22.   Hollywood Babylon
  23.   Intro
  24.   Skulls and Stars
  25.   Drowning
  26.   Hurt You So Bad
  27.   Darkside
  28.   Black Cloud
  29.   Only When I'm Drunk
  30.   Face the Music
  31.   My Place
  32.   [Untitled Track]
  33.   Take It to the Bridge
  34.   Candy Coated
  35.   [Untitled Track]
  36.   Outro: WWW.Crazytown.Com
  37.   Drunk Guy
  38.   West Coast
  39.   Baby You Don't Know by Fann
  40.   Them Days
  41.   Contains a Sample from Pretty Little Ditty
  42.   Boom Box Gang War
  43.   Deja Vu
  44.   Suck on My Gun
  45.   [Untitled Track]
  46.   [Untitled Track]
  47.   [Untitled Track]
  48.   [Untitled Track]
  49.   [Untitled Hidden Track]
  50.   [Untitled Track]
  51.   [Untitled Track]
  52.   [Untitled Track]
  53.   [Untitled Track]
  54.   [Untitled Track]
  55.   [Untitled Track]
  56.   [Untitled Track]
  57.   [Untitled Track]
  58.   [Untitled Track]
  59.   [Untitled Track]
  60.   [Untitled Track]
  61.   [Untitled Track]
  62.   [Untitled Track]
  63.   [Untitled Track]
  64.   [Untitled Track]
  65.   [Untitled Track]
  66.   [Untitled Track]
  67.   [Untitled Track]
  68.   [Untitled Track]
  69.   Sorry
  70.   Waste of My Time
  71.   [Silence]
  72.   [Untitled Track]
  73.   Light the Way
  74.   EPK Footage
  75.   [Untitled Track]
  76.   [Untitled Track]
  77.   [Untitled Spoken Track]
  78.   [Untitled Track]
  79.   [Untitled Track]
  80.   [Untitled Track]
  81.   [Untitled Track]
  82.   [Untitled Track]
  83.   [Untitled Track]
  84.   [Untitled Track]
  85.   [Untitled Track]
  86.   [Untitled Track]
  87.   [Untitled Track]
  88.   Ashes by Tom Dumont
  89.   [Untitled Track]
  90.   You're The One
  91.   [Untitled Track]