Slacker Logo


The Cribs

Yorkshire, England's the Cribs feature three brothers: vocalist/guitarist Ryan Jarman, bassist/vocalist Gary, and drummer Ross. The trio began playing together at an early age, debuting at a family party in the late '80s when twins Gary and Ryan were nine years old and Ross was just five. The brothers grew up with similar musical tastes, blending quintessentially British influences like the Beatles, Sex Pistols, and Smiths with American indie rock like Beat Happening and Bobby Conn. Eventually, the Cribs got to play with both Beat Happening's Calvin Johnson and Conn; Conn liked the Cribs so much that he invited them to record with him in his Chicago studio. The Cribs released three singles, Another Number, What About Me, and You Were Always the One, before signing to Wichita Records in late 2003. The band spent 2004 readying its self-titled debut album, which was recorded in London's famed Toerag Studios; touring with the Datsuns; and performing at that year's CMJ Festival. Late that year they began working on their second album with Orange Juice's Edwyn Collins as producer. The Cribs was released in the U.S. in early 2005. Later in the year, the band issued its second album, The New Fellas. Men's Needs, Women's Needs, Whatever, which boasted production by Franz Ferdinand's Alex Kapranos, arrived in 2007. That same year, Gary met Johnny Marr, an admitted fan of the band. They began collaborating on some songs, with Marr joining the band on-stage throughout the 2008 NME awards tour. By August 2008, Marr had officially joined the band, and the resulting album, Ignore the Ignorant, arrived late in 2009. In April of 2011, Marr announced he was quitting the group to work on solo material, leaving the remaining bandmembers to work on their next record. Back to their original trio lineup, the Jarmans recorded songs at Dave Fridmann's upstate New York Tarbox Studios; at Steve Albini's Electrical Audio in Chicago; and at London's Abbey Road Studios. The results, the raw but tuneful In the Belly of the Brazen Bull, arrived in May 2012. Early in 2013, the compilation Payola arrived, which collected songs from the early period of their career that spanned 2002-2012. The compilation cleaned the slate for the band and in 2014 they began writing sessions in Portland, Oregon before they crossed to the East coast into New York’s Magic Shop studio to begin recording. They recruited Cars frontman and respected producer Ric Ocasek to work on their sixth album For All My Sisters, which arrived in 2015. ~ Heather Phares
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
The Cribs

    New Rock First

    New Rock First
    1 song

    New Indie First

    New Indie First
    1 song

    Top Indie

    Top Indie
    1 song

    Indie Party

    Indie Party
    1 song

    Indie Rock Mix

    1 song

    Punk U

    1 song

Albums by
The Cribs

Top Songs by
The Cribs

  1.   Song
  2.   Men's Needs
  3.   Mirror Kissers
  4.   Year of Hate
  5.   Ignore the Ignorant
  6.   Come On, Be A No One
  7.   Butterflies
  8.   You Were Always the One
  9.   Cheat on Me
  10.   Girls Like Mystery
  11.   City of Bugs
  12.   Better Than Me
  13.   Last Year's Snow
  14.   Hey Scenesters!
  15.   Anna
  16.   I Should Have Helped
  17.   We Were Aborted
  18.   Pink Snow
  19.   Like a Gift Giver
  20.   Baby Don't Sweat
  21.   It Was Only Love
  22.   I'm a Realist
  23.   Glitters Like Gold
  24.   Be Safe
  25.   Different Angle
  26.   Tri'elle
  27.   Fevers And Seizures
  28.   Emasculate Me
  29.   Things You Should Be Knowing
  30.   Our Bovine Public
  31.   Moving Pictures
  32.   Third Outing
  33.   Lights Went Out
  34.   Orange Star Rattle
  35.   Another Number
  36.   Wish I Knew You in the 90's
  37.   Regina, Don't Get Lost
  38.   Spring on Broadway
  39.   Diamond Girl
  40.   Summer of Chances
  41.   Pacific Time
  42.   City Storms
  43.   Simple Story
  44.   Your Eyes Are Dreaming
  45.   Heaven Just Knows
  46.   Tell Me Darling
  47.   Arena Rock Encore with Full Cast
  48.   Nothing
  49.   I've Tried Everything
  50.   Shoot the Poets
  51.   Haunted
  52.   Martell
  53.   I'm Alright Me
  54.   Direction
  55.   Victim of Mass Production
  56.   The Wrong Way to Be
  57.   We Share the Same Skies
  58.   Major's Titling Victory
  59.   Cowlily
  60.   What About Me
  61.   I See Your Pictures Every Day
  62.   Leather Jacket Love Song
  63.   My Life Flashed Before My Eyes
  64.   Ancient History
  65.   Kind Words from the Broken Hearted
  66.   You & I
  67.   Hari Kari
  68.   Uptight
  69.   Things Aren't Gonna Change
  70.   The New Fellas
  71.   Don't You Wanna Be Relevant?
  72.   An Ivory Hand
  73.   Stalagmites
  74.   Back to the Bolthole