Slacker Logo



Tarnishing sunny melodies with a scuzzy recording style and lots and lots of feedback, Crocodiles' Charles Rowell and Brandon Welchez met during their formative teenage years in San Diego. Playing together in various incarnations since then, including in the Plot to Blow Up the Eiffel Tower, which featured Welchez on vocals and Rowell on guitar, the duo re-formed in a lo-fi capacity under the name Crocodiles in April of 2008. After self-releasing a distortion-driven 7", their single Neon Jesus was championed by No Age on a Stereogum best-of-2008 poll. As Crocodiles' debut full-length was recorded over that winter, blog readers started taking notice, and Summer of Hate was released by Fat Possum in late April of 2009. That winter, Crocodiles put out a Christmas-themed split 7" with Dum Dum Girls and prepped their follow-up, Sleep Forever, for the summer of 2010. After adjusting their lineup to include bassist Marco Gonzalez, keyboardist Robin Eisenberg, and drummer Anna Schulte, Rowell, Welchez, and the group traveled from their hometown of San Diego to record their third full-length in Berlin. That album, Endless Flowers, was released in the spring of 2012 on Souterrain Transmissions in the U.K. and French Kiss in the U.S. Crocodiles' fourth album, 2013's very focused and poppy Crimes of Passion, was produced by the Raveonettes' Sune Rose Wagner and featured just the duo of Rowell and Welchez, plus the occasional guest on backing vocals and horns. Taking a break from the band, Welchez recorded an album with his wife Dee Dee of Dum Dum Girls under the name Haunted Hearts. The group reconvened and set up shop in Mexico City to record its next album. Working with producer Martin Thulin, the duo continued refining the poppier aspects of its sound, while incorporating some Latin influences. Boys was released in May of 2015 on Welchez's own Zoo Music label. ~ Jason Lymangrover
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring

Albums by

Top Songs by

  1.   Song
  2.   Hollow Hollow Eyes
  3.   Marquis de Sade
  4.   Me and My Machine Gun
  5.   I Wanna Kill
  6.   Mirrors
  7.   Electric Death Song
  8.   Peroxide Hearts
  9.   Groove is In the Heart/California Girls
  10.   Endless Flowers
  11.   Sleeping With the Lord
  12.   Blue
  13.   Bubblegum Trash
  14.   Screaming Chrome
  15.   Neon Autobahn
  16.   My Surfing Lucifer
  17.   No Black Clouds for Dee Dee
  18.   Billy Speed
  19.   Foolin' Around
  20.   Do the Void
  21.   Fascist Cops
  22.   Jet Boy, Jet Girl
  23.   Don't Look Up
  24.   She Splits Me Up
  25.   I Wanna Destroy You
  26.   U Sexy Thing
  27.   Kool TV
  28.   Stoned To Death
  29.   Cockroach
  30.   Dark Alleys
  31.   Flash of Light
  32.   Echando Desmadre
  33.   Hard
  34.   Summer of Hate
  35.   All My Hate and My Hexes Are For You
  36.   Welcome Trouble
  37.   Hearts of Love
  38.   Girl In Black
  39.   Here Comes the Sky
  40.   Transylvania
  41.   Un Chant d'Amour
  42.   Young Drugs
  43.   Crybaby Demon
  44.   Teardrop Guitar
  45.   Virgin
  46.   I Like It in the Dark
  47.   I'm Not a Young Man Anymore
  48.   The Boy Is a Tramp
  49.   Sunday (Psychic Conversation #9)
  50.   Refuse Angels
  51.   Hung Up on a Flower
  52.   Sleep Forever
  53.   You Are Forgiven
  54.   Heavy Metal Clouds
  55.   Neon Jesus
  56.   Gimme Some Annihilation
  57.   Soft Skull (In My Room)
  58.   Asigoduka
  59.   Neul Kwaquqamba Amathambo
  60.   Welcome Trash

Artists Related to Crocodiles


Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |