Slacker Logo


Cuff the Duke

It is no wonder that Canada's Cuff the Duke opened for Blue Rodeo on a key tour, or that Blue Rodeo's Greg Keelor is producing their fourth album. Like Keelor and his own bandmates, Cuff the Duke are one of those unbelievably talented bands that can jump genres like a game of hopscotch -- to the point where their music is almost undefinable except for the good ol' catchall, "alternative." Also like Blue Rodeo, they have a definite Canadian roots rock basis and a taste for the epic in their song structures. Cuff the Duke broke onto the scene in 2002 with their debut, Life Stories for Minimum Wage, released on Toronto indie Three Gut Records. Critics praised the album, especially noting its maturity, which was ironic, as no one in the band (all originally from Oshawa, Ontario) was over 21 years of age. The group made their major-label debut in 2005 with the self-titled, Cuff the Duke. The album was the first release on fellow Canadian, Hayden's Hardwood/Universal imprint that didn't feature Hayden, himself. Cuff the Duke built up a tremendous cult following, especially on the college circuit, with this dark epic of an album. Critics hailed the intensity and timelessness of the songs, rightly identifying Cuff the Duke as a band working way beyond their years. Their live shows became a popular favorite and the Toronto Star raved that they "stole" the acclaimed Hillside Music Festival. Early in 2006, Halifax's Dale Murray joined Cuff the Duke to play electric and pedal steel guitar (replacing original guitarist/Moog player/organist Jeff Peers) -- followed shortly thereafter by then Montreal-based drummer Corey Wood (taking the place of Matt Faris). With founding members Wayne Petti (lead vocals, guitar and moog) and Paul Lowman (bass, piano, fiddle, vocals), the band embarked on additional and extensive North American touring. Somewhere amidst all of that and several van breakdowns, Cuff the Duke managed to be part of an exciting, primarily instrumental band called the Hylozoists, led by producer/musician Paul Aucoin (co-producer of the early Cuff the Duke albums), whose La Fin Du Monde came out in the spring of 2006 on Boompa/EMI. 2007 saw the re-release of Cuff the Duke's 2002 debut, Life Stories for Minimum Wage, and frontman Wayne Petti's solo debut, City Lights Align, while the band entered the studio to begin recording their new album for Hardwood at the end of February. Released in October, Sidelines of the City was even more epic and ambitious than either of their previous releases. Alternating sounding like they are playing in front of stadiums to gigging at intimate club shows, the songs on Sidelines of the City are as shocking for their sprawling scope as they are for the number of genres they skip lithely across. Way Down Here arrived in 2009, followed by 2011's Morning Comes, the latter of which landed a Juno nomination. An EP of covers songs, In Our Time, appeared in early 2012, followed later that fall by the full-length Union. ~ Tomas Mureika
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Cuff the Duke

Albums by
Cuff the Duke

Top Songs by
Cuff the Duke

  1.   Song
  2.   Anti-Social
  3.   Rise Above
  4.   Time Is Right
  5.   There Was a Time
  6.   Rossland Square
  7.   Failure to Some
  8.   Belgium or Peru
  9.   Where Did We Go Wrong
  10.   Follow Me
  11.   Long Road
  12.   Drag Me Down
  13.   So Many Times Before
  14.   Surging Revival
  15.   Head Smashed In Buffalo Jump
  16.   You Were Right
  17.   A Long Night My Love
  18.   Letting Go
  19.   Stay
  20.   The Ballad of Poor John Henry
  21.   Burger
  22.   Confessions from a Parkdale Basement
  23.   Blackheart
  24.   Night After Night
  25.   Count on Me
  26.   The Trouble and the Truth
  27.   No Sleep, No Heat
  28.   Carry On
  29.   It's All a Blur
  30.   Meet You on the Other Side
  31.   When All Else Fails & Fades
  32.   Another Day in Purgatory
  33.   Hobo Night Stalker
  34.   You Don't Know What It's Like
  35.   Like the Morning
  36.   Side By Side
  37.   If I Live or If I Die
  38.   Open Your Mind
  39.   Words (Between the Lines of Age)
  40.   Brightest Part of the Sun
  41.   Ballad of a Lonely Construction Worker
  42.   The Ballad of the Tired Old Man
  43.   Rocking Chair
  44.   Take My Money and Run
  45.   Listen to Your Heart
  46.   Something for Free
  47.   The Words You Ignore
  48.   Lonely Path
  49.   It's Over
  50.   Remember the Good Times
  51.   Promises
  52.   Hey Baby
  53.   You Won't Look Back
  54.   I Really Want to Help You
  55.   All I Want
  56.   Bound to Your Own Vices
  57.   Live My Life
  58.   The Future Hangs
  59.   Long Winter
  60.   Standing on the Edge
  61.   Lonely Path Of Mine
  62.   The Difference Between Us
  63.   This City Will Eat You
  64.   Need You
  65.   By Winter's End
  66.   [Untitled]
  67.   Farley the Dog
  68.   I Guess This Is Life
  69.   Where Did We All Go Wrong

Artists Related to Cuff the Duke

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |