Slacker Logo


Cut Copy

Australian indie electronic group Cut Copy take many of their cues from contemporaries like Air, Daft Punk, and LCD Soundsystem, but with a distinctly pop sensibility that draws on classic AM radio pop singles from the 1970s and '80s, with elements of vintage disco and synth pop that appeal to song-based listeners as well as to club kidz. Cut Copy started in 2001 as a solo project by songwriter, producer, and DJ Dan Whitford, who released the single 1981 and the EP I Thought of Numbers before drafting in other members to fill out his synth- and sample-based sound. Bassist and guitarist Tim Hoey and drummer Mitchell Scott debuted on Cut Copy's first full-length album, Bright Like Neon Love, released in the summer of 2004. After several successful singles were spun off the album (including Saturdays, Future, and Going Nowhere), Universal's Island Records imprint picked up the trio's international distribution in 2006. Following an inventive Whitford live DJ mix that was released in 2006 as Fabriclive.29 (including such unexpected delights as Ciccone Youth's noisy deconstruction "Into the Groove[y]" and Roxy Music's suave "Angel Eyes" alongside the usual Goldfrapp and Soulwax), the band proper returned in early 2007 with a new single, Hearts on Fire. Cut Copy's second album, In Ghost Colours, debuted at the top of Australia's ARIA charts in 2008 and was placed on a number of publications' year-end lists. After adding a fourth member, bassist Ben Browning, the group released its third album, Zonoscope, in 2011 and following a tour, then a brief hiatus, the band hit the studio again to record its fourth album. Inspired heavily by late-'80s/early-'90s dance music (from acid house to Black Box), Free Your Mind was released in late 2013 by Modular and new American label Loma Vista. The record was innovatively promoted with pre-release listening sessions taking place at six specific worldwide locations for all those with a smartphone in range of the coordinates. The band next hit the road for a lengthy world tour, then spent the summer of 2014 playing a full slate of festivals. Around this time, Free Your Mind was reissued with five bonus tracks added. ~ Stewart Mason & Tim Sendra
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Cut Copy


    2 songs

    Top Indie

    Top Indie
    1 song

    Indie Rock Mix

    Indie Rock Mix
    1 song

    Indie Party

    Indie Party
    1 song

Albums by
Cut Copy

Top Songs by
Cut Copy

  1.   Song
  2.   Lights & Music
  3.   Far Away
  4.   Hearts on Fire
  5.   Need You Now
  6.   Take Me Over
  7.   Where I'm Going
  8.   Future
  9.   So Haunted
  10.   Strangers in the Wind
  11.   This Is All We've Got
  12.   We Are Explorers
  13.   Blink and You'll Miss a Revolution
  14.   Saturdays
  15.   Eternity One Night Only
  16.   Voices in Quartz
  17.   Time Stands Still
  18.   Pharaohs & Pyramids
  19.   Nobody Lost, Nobody Found
  20.   We Fight for Diamonds
  21.   Feel the Love
  22.   Visions
  23.   Silver Thoughts
  24.   Midnight Runner
  25.   Unforgettable Season
  26.   Out There on the Ice
  27.   Sands Of Time
  28.   Let Me Show You Love
  29.   Hearts On Fire [Calvin Harris Remix]
  30.   Stars
  31.   January Tape Part 3
  32.   Believers
  33.   Live
  34.   Walking in the Sky
  35.   January Tape Part 4
  36.   Intro
  37.   Dark Corners & Mountain Tops
  38.   Going Nowhere
  39.   January Tape Part 5
  40.   January Tape Part 2
  41.   Lights Shine On
  42.   Like Any Other Day
  43.   Standing Up, Sitting Down
  44.   Drop the Bomb
  45.   Mantra
  46.   [the waves]
  47.   Meet Me In a House of Love
  48.   (Above the City)
  49.   In Memory Capsule
  50.   Footsteps
  51.   Free Your Mind
  52.   Fantastic Voyages
  53.   Sun God
  54.   Hanging Onto Every Heartbeat
  55.   Corner of the Sky
  56.   Alisa
  57.   Bright Neon Payphone
  58.   Glittering Clouds
  59.   Autobahn Music Box
  60.   The Twilight
  61.   DD 5
  62.   That Was Just a Dream
  63.   (Into the Desert)
  64.   Nine Summertime
  65.   A Dream
  66.   In These Arms of Love
  67.   I Wish the Sun Would Grow Today
  68.   Rendezvous
  69.   Take Me Higher
  70.   Strange Nostalgia for the Future
  71.   Kidz at the Disco
  72.   January Tape Part 1
  73.   Zap Zap
  74.   Endlessly

Artists Related to Cut Copy


Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |