Slacker Logo


Da Brat

Da Brat was one of the first of a new breed of hard-edged female MCs to hit the hip-hop scene during the '90s. Although sexuality was certainly part of her image, it wasn't as important to her as it was to Lil' Kim or Foxy Brown; instead, Da Brat made her name as a tough, profane rhymer whose hardcore attitude and lyrical skills were never in doubt. Da Brat was born Shawntae Harris in Chicago in 1974, and started rapping at age 11. In 1992, while still a teenager, she was discovered by producer Jermaine Dupri, when she won an amateur rap contest and got a chance to meet Dupri's protégés Kris Kross. With their endorsement, Dupri signed her to his So So Def label and produced her debut album, Funkdafied, which was released in 1994. The title track was an enormous hit, going to number two on the R&B/Hip-Hop chart and spending nearly three months on top of Hot Rap Singles. Its success -- as well as that of the follow-up singles Fa All Y'All and Give It 2 You -- helped Da Brat become the first female rapper ever to have a platinum-selling album. Funkdafied also hit number one on R&B Albums, a staggering achievement for a debut release by a female rapper. For her 1996 follow-up, Anuthatantrum, Da Brat took greater control of her music and persona, scoring hits with "Sittin' on Top of the World" and "Ghetto Love." The album was another commercial success, returning her to the R&B Top Five and the pop Top 20. In its wake, Da Brat made high-profile cameo appearances on records by the likes of Mariah Carey, Missy "Misdemeanor" Elliott, Total, Dru Hill, and Lil' Kim, among others. She also made her film debut in 1996 in the Shaquille O'Neal comedy Kazaam. Just prior to the release of her third album in 2000, Da Brat was arrested on assault charges after allegedly pistol-whipping another woman during an altercation at an Atlanta nightclub. She later pled guilty to a lesser charge of reckless conduct, and was let off with a fine, probation, and community service. Meanwhile, her album Unrestricted appeared in the spring of 2000, and found her sporting a somewhat sexier image. It became not only her second R&B chart-topper, but also her biggest album on the Billboard 200, climbing into the Top Five. She also enjoyed hits with the singles "That's What I'm Looking For" and "What'Chu Like." In 2001, Da Brat returned to the big screen in Mariah Carey's ill-fated film Glitter, and issued her solo follow-up, Limelite, Luv & Niteclubz, in 2003. A couple years later, Da Brat co-starred in the fourth season of the VH1 reality television series The Surreal Life and appeared on a remix of Dem Franchize Boyz' hit single "I Think They Like Me." Despite her success with that track, it didn't reignite her music career. Over the next several years, she sporadically collaborated with other artists and performed with Mariah Carey. Da Brat's progress was slowed by a prison sentence for aggravated assault. In 2013, she returned with a single, "Is It Chu," through her Rare Breed label. A couple years later, her career received a major boost when she became co-host of The Rickey Smiley Morning Show. Shortly after that, she appeared in an episode of Empire and released a single, "#YAK (You Already Know)," that featured Sage the Gemini and Eric Bellinger. ~ Steve Huey
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Da Brat

    '00s Hip-Hop

    '00s Hip-Hop
    1 song

    '90s Hip-Hop

    '90s Hip-Hop
    1 song

Albums by
Da Brat

Top Songs by
Da Brat

  1.   Song
  2.   Funkdafied
  3.   What'chu Like
  4.   Da B Side
  5.   Sittin' on Top of the World
  6.   #YAK (You Already Know) by Sage the Gemini
  7.   Give It 2 You
  8.   That's What I'm Looking For
  9.   Ghetto Love
  10.   Da B Side
  11.   In Love Wit Chu
  12.   West Side Interlude
  13.   Got a Thing 4 You
  14.   Just a Little Bit More
  15.   Boom
  16.   Ain't Got Time to Waste
  17.   High Come Down
  18.   What's on Ya Mind
  19.   Come and Get Some
  20.   Ain't No Thang
  21.   Fire It Up
  22.   Da Shit Ya Can't Fuc Wit
  23.   My Beliefs
  24.   Sittin' on Top of the World, Pt. 2
  25.   Let's All Get High
  26.   Got It Poppin'
  27.   Who Am I
  28.   F**K You
  29.   Leave Me Alone (Interlude)
  30.   At the Club (Interlude)
  31.   We Ready
  32.   Make It Happen
  33.   Anuthatantrum
  34.   Mind Blowin'
  35.   Fa All Y'all
  36.   Keepin' It Live
  37.   Heartbreaker
  38.   Tango
  39.   Who I Am
  40.   Gushy Wushy
  41.   I Was the One
  42.   Get Somebody
  43.   Chuch by C-Lo
  44.   World Premiere
  45.   Immortal Beloved (Outro)
  46.   The Introduction
  47.   Chi Town
  48.   Pink Lemonade
  49.   Breeve on Em
  50.   Runnin' Out of Time
  51.   Hands in the Air
  52.   Back Up
  53.   Fuck You
  54.   Intro
  55.   Live It Up
  56.   All That's Got to Go
  57.   Lyrical Molestation
  58.   May da Funk Be Wit 'Cha
  59.   All My Bitches
  60.   A Word from Dy Bishop Don "Magic" Juen (Interlude)
  61.   Ball Game
  62.   In My Bed featuring Dru Hill

Artists Related to Da Brat


Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |