Slacker Logo


Dark Funeral

Formed at a time when the Scandinavian metal scene was becoming flooded with bands, all striving for "true" rather than "trend" status amongst fans and peers, Sweden's Dark Funeral emerged as one of the most exciting groups in the genre. Like most artists in the early black metal scene, Dark Funeral's music was raw and powerful with a strong lyrical emphasis on Satanic imagery and anti-Christian themes. When many of their peers were starting to rely on the use of keyboards to distinguish their "evil" sound, Dark Funeral stuck to the roots of metal, avoiding synthesizers. In 1993, guitarists Lord Ahriman and Blackmoon recruited fellow Swedes Themgoroth (bass) and Draugen (drums) to form the first incarnation of Dark Funeral. Together they recorded an EP simply entitled Dark Funeral, which established them as a one of the leading black metal bands of the time. No Fashion Records signed the band in 1994 and after replacing Draugen with drummer Equimanthorn -- like most black metalers he too lacked a last name -- they went into the infamous Abyss studios to start work on their next project. It wasn't until 1996 that their second release, Secrets of the Black Arts, reached their fans. 1996 was a big year for Dark Funeral. Secrets turned out to be a major seller by black metal standards, but the band suffered a major lineup change that would leave Ahriman as the only original member. So with Lord Ahriman and his new band -- Emperor Magus Caligula (bass/vocals), Alzazmon (drums), and Typhos (guitar) -- they embarked on a European tour, their first as a headlining act. Their stage act became quite a performance. They would emerge covered in blood and corpse paint while wearing long spikes and rivets and carrying ancient weapons. The shows also included a fire-breathing Emperor Caligula and pigs' heads impaled upon upside-down crosses -- kind of a low-budget Kiss concert. In 1998, No Fashion released their second full-length album, Vobiscum Satanas. The band then brought their stage show to the U.S. for the first of two tours, supported by Metal Blade records, who released Secrets of the Black Arts and Vobiscum Satanas domestically. By 2000 the band saw more changes in the lineup, with Dominion taking a vacant guitar spot and the position of drummer becoming a rotating door. The EP Teach Your Children to Worship Satan was released just before the band was signed to Necropolis Records. In 2000, Caligula and Dominion also released an album by their side project band, Dominion Caligula, for No Fashion Records. ~ Kevin Odle
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Dark Funeral

Albums by
Dark Funeral

Top Songs by
Dark Funeral

  1.   Song
  2.   My Dark Desires
  3.   In My Dreams
  4.   Vobiscum Satanas
  5.   Temple of Ahriman
  6.   Stigmata
  7.   Angelus Exuro Pro Eternus
  8.   The Legions Come
  9.   Bloodfrozen
  10.   Feed on the Mortals
  11.   King Antichrist
  12.   Thus I Have Spoken
  13.   An Apprentice of Satan
  14.   Goddess of Sodomy
  15.   Hail Murder
  16.   Equimanthorn
  17.   The Dark Age Has Arrived
  18.   An Apprentice of Satan 2000
  19.   Nail Them to the Cross
  20.   The End of Human Race
  21.   My Latex Queen
  22.   Declaration of Hate
  23.   Remember the Fallen
  24.   Atrum Regina
  25.   Pagan Fears
  26.   Armageddon Finally Comes
  27.   Diabolis Interium
  28.   The Arrival of Satan's Empire
  29.   Open the Gates
  30.   Ineffable King of Darkness
  31.   Slava Satan
  32.   Thy Legions Come
  33.   Enriched by Evil
  34.   Satanic Blood
  35.   Shadows Over Transylvania
  36.   The Fire Eternal
  37.   The Dawn No More Rises
  38.   The Secrets of the Black Arts
  39.   Watain
  40.   Ravenna Strigoi Mortii
  41.   The Birth of the Vampiir
  42.   In the Sign of the Horns
  43.   The Black Winged Horde
  44.   Devil Pig
  45.   Satan's Mayhem
  46.   Christ Fire
  47.   Final Ritual
  48.   The Trial
  49.   Angel Flesh Impaled
  50.   Lamb
  51.   Dark Are the Path to Eternity (A Summoning Nocturnal)
  52.   Demons of Five
  53.   Call From the Grave
  54.   Evil Prevail
  55.   Attera Totus Sanctus
  56.   666 Voices Inside
  57.   My Funeral
  58.   When Angels Forever Die
  59.   Dead Skin Mask
  60.   Heart of Ice
  61.   Godhate
  62.   My Darkness
  63.   Secret of the Black Arts
  64.   Call from the Gave
  65.   Heinen
  66.   Headtuck
  67.   Don
  68.   Intro
  69.   Atrium Regina
  70.   Veinen
  71.   Veadtuck
  72.   Von
  73.   Slaba Satan
  74.   Black Winged Borde
  75.   The Blacked Winged Horde
  76.   Thy Legion Come
  77.   Shadows Over Translyvania

Artists Related to Dark Funeral

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -