Slacker Logo



Incorporating moody folk and hushed electronics in ways that recall Cat Power as well as the xx, Daughter began as the solo project of singer/guitarist Elena Tonra. Tonra was performing on her own when she met guitarist Igor Haefeli, who joined Daughter along with drummer Remi Aguilella to complete the band's lineup. The trio self-released a demo as well as their 2011 debut EP His Young Heart, which led to Mumford & Sons' label Communion releasing their second EP, the more polished and eclectic The Wild Youth, later that year. Early in 2012, Daughter signed with 4AD, which released the single Smother that October. The band's debut album, If You Leave, arrived in April 2013. After an extensive tour in support of the debut, Daughter reentered the studio to begin recording their second album, Not to Disappear. The record was primarily self-recorded, after which they took it to Nicolas Vernhes (Deerhunter, War on Drugs, Animal Collective), who produced the final mixes at his Rare Book Room studio in Greenpoint, Brooklyn. It was released in early 2016. ~ Heather Phares
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring

    New Indie First

    New Indie First
    1 song

    Top Indie

    Top Indie
    1 song

    Indie Rock Mix

    Indie Rock Mix
    1 song

    Indie Party

    Indie Party
    1 song

    Relax Trax

    1 song

Albums by

Top Songs by

  1.   Song
  2.   Youth
  3.   Doing the Right Thing
  4.   Love
  5.   Smother
  6.   Medicine
  7.   Landfill
  8.   Candles
  9.   Still
  10.   Run
  11.   Home
  12.   Human
  13.   Numbers
  14.   Touch
  15.   Winter
  16.   To Belong
  17.   Tomorrow
  18.   The Woods
  19.   Alone/With You
  20.   Lifeforms
  21.   Mothers
  22.   New Ways
  23.   Amsterdam
  24.   Switzerland
  25.   Made of Stone
  26.   Fossa
  27.   How
  28.   Shallows
  29.   No Care
  30.   Get Lucky
  31.   Drift
  32.   Smoke

Artists Related to Daughter

The xx

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |