Slacker Logo



Dawn Richard, aka D∆WN, evolved from her membership in Danity Kane to become one of the more progressive forces in artful left-field pop and R&B. Prior to mainstream visibility, the New Orleans, Louisiana native -- the daughter of Chocolate Milk percussionist and vocalist Frank Richard -- recorded as Dawn Angeliqué. The independently released contemporary R&B album Been a While (2005), produced while the singer was attending the University of New Orleans and working as a cheerleader for the NBA's New Orleans Hornets, was released around the time she made her first appearance on Making the Band 3. The third edition of that reality series produced Danity Kane, a group that released two Billboard 200-topping albums, Danity Kane (2006) and Welcome to the Dollhouse (2008), prior to splitting. Then, along with Diddy and Kalenna Harper, Richard became one-third of Diddy-Dirty Money, a short-lived group that debuted in 2009, released an album (2010's Last Train to Paris), and then a mixtape (2011's Love Love vs. Hate Love) prior to ending in 2012. Richard continued a solo career that developed during and after the split, reunion, and second split of Danity Kane. Her self-released material was progressive and often conceptual, willfully oblivious to genre restrictions as it twisted R&B, pop, and electronic music with emotive and frequently thrilling results. The Prelude to a Telltale Heart (2011), a mixtape, and Armor On (2012), an EP, preceded her second official album, Goldenheart (2013). Part two of her "heart" trilogy, Blackheart (2015), went farther out and topped Billboard's Top Independent Albums chart. Short-form releases for the Fade to Mind and Local Action labels preceded her fourth proper album, Redemption (2016). ~ Andy Kellman
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring

Albums by

Top Songs by

  1.   Song
  2.   Cali Sun
  3.   86 by Andrew "Druski" Scott
  4.   Intro: Call to Hearts
  5.   Honest
  6.   Wake Up
  7.   Black Lipstick
  8.   Warfaire by Andrew "Druski" Scott
  9.   Love Under Lights
  10.   Paint It Blue
  11.   Save Me from U
  12.   Riot by Andrew "Druski" Scott
  13.   Tyrants
  14.   Interim (Interlude)
  15.   Honest
  16.   Blackheart (Outro)
  17.   Phoenix by Aundrea Fimbres
  18.   Projection
  19.   Titans (Interlude)
  20.   Swim Free
  21.   Blow
  22.   [300] by Andrew "Druski" Scott
  23.   Tug of War by The Fisticuffs
  24.   Renegades
  25.   Automatic
  26.   Valhalla (Outro)
  27.   Hey Nikki
  28.   Baptize
  29.   How I Get It
  30.   Noir (Intro)
  31.   Whiteout
  32.   Break of Dawn by Andrew "Druski" Scott
  33.   In Your Eyes by Andrew "Druski" Scott
  34.   Pretty Wicked Things by Andrew "Druski" Scott
  35.   Gleaux featuring Andrew "Druski" Scott
  36.   Faith
  37.   Heaven
  38.   Change
  39.   Goliath by Andrew "Druski" Scott
  40.   Bombs
  41.   Hurricane
  42.   Sands
  43.   Redemption (Intro)
  44.   Choices
  45.   Castles
  46.   Warriors
  47.   Adderall/Sold (Outerlude)
  48.   Levitate
  49.   Goldenheart
  50.   Frequency by Andrew "Druski" Scott
  51.   Northern Lights by Andrew "Druski" Scott
  52.   Return of a Queen by Andrew "Druski" Scott
  53.   Intro (In the Hearts Tonight)
  54.   Billie Jean
  55.   And the Bells
  56.   Lazarus
  57.   The Deep
  58.   Calypso
  59.   Wynter
  60.   Outro: The Battle
  61.   Van Gogh
  62.   Black Crimes
  63.   Ode To You by Andrew "Druski" Scott
  64.   Scripture
  65.   LA
  66.   The Louvre
  67.   Vines (Interlude)
  68.   Voices
  69.   December Sky

Artists Related to DAWN

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |