Slacker Logo


Del the Funky Homosapien

Cousin of renowned gangster rapper Ice Cube, Del tha Funky Homosapien (real name Teren Delvon Jones) was born in Oakland, California on August 12, 1972, and got his start with Ice Cube's backing band, Da Lench Mob. But Del's rap isn't as grim or violent as Ice Cube's is; in fact, he's been known to include something in his music that's far too uncommon in most rap: humor. Signed to Elektra/Asylum, Del's debut release, I Wish My Brother George Was Here, was issued in 1991 and produced by Cube and, like most rap at the time, featured numerous samples of Parliament/Funkadelic classics from the '70s. Del's follow-up, 1994's No Need for Alarm, was a departure musically, as Ice Cube was no longer in the production seat and the P-Funk sounds were dropped in favor of a more sophisticated, almost jazzy sound. Despite his noble experimentation, Del's sophomore effort failed commercially, and it would take four years for the rapper to plot his next move and issue another recording. Having left Elektra, Del aligned himself closely with some fellow rapper friends, Casual and Souls of Mischief, and issued his third release overall, 1998's Future Development, for the same label as his friends, Hieroglyphics Records. An all-new Del solo release, Both Sides of the Brain, was released in 2000, along with a self-titled debut release by a side project, Deltron 3030, which saw Del join forces with both the Automator and Kid Koala. It took eight years for the rapper's next solo full-length to come out, but in the interim Del kept himself busy with guest appearances, including on the Damon Albarn project Gorillaz's self-titled debut, adding his recognizable vocals to the hit "Clint Eastwood," a song that he also began incorporating in his live sets. In 2007 it was announced that the MC had been signed to Def Jux, which released the long-awaited (and very un-Def Jux-like) Eleventh Hour in March of 2008. A year later he teamed with Artifacts member Tame One and production team Parallel Thought for the collaboration album Parallel Uni-Verses. The three-disc Golden Era followed in 2011. It featured one new album along with two albums that had been previously released in digital-only format. In 2012 Del joined forces once more with innovative New Jeresey beatmakers Parallel Thought for the Attractive Sin full length. The album melded Del's west coast style with Parallel Thought's rugged east coast production. ~ Greg Prato
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Del the Funky Homosapien

    '80s Hip-Hop

    '80s Hip-Hop
    3 songs

    '80s Urban Music

    '80s Urban Music
    3 songs

    Underground Hip-Hop

    Underground Hip-Hop
    2 songs

    '90s Hip-Hop

    '90s Hip-Hop
    1 song

Albums by
Del the Funky Homosapien

Top Songs by
Del the Funky Homosapien

  1.   Song
  2.   Mistadobalina
  3.   No Need For Alarm
  4.   Sleepin' on My Couch
  5.   The Wacky World of Rapid Transit
  6.   The Undisputed Champs
  7.   Wrong Place
  8.   Dr. Bombay
  9.   Catch a Bad One
  10.   Charlie Brown by Parallel Thought
  11.   Double Barrel
  12.   Money for Sex
  13.   Lothar
  14.   Burnt
  15.   Ahonetwo, Ahonetwo
  16.   Pearly Gates
  17.   Upside Down
  18.   What Is a Booty
  19.   1520 Sedgewick by Parallel Thought
  20.   Makes No Sense
  21.   Descending
  22.   Miles to Go
  23.   In and Out
  24.   Same Ol' Thing
  25.   Hoodz Come in Dozens
  26.   Pissin' On Your Steps
  27.   Fallout
  28.   Eye Examination
  29.   Prelude
  30.   Front Like Ya Know by Parallel Thought
  31.   Shows Over by Parallel Thought
  32.   Getto Drillin by Parallel Thought
  33.   Apply It & See by Parallel Thought
  34.   Activated Sludge by Parallel Thought
  35.   Different Guidelines by Parallel Thought
  36.   Ownership by Parallel Thought
  37.   On Mommas House by Parallel Thought
  38.   Raw
  39.   One out of a Million
  40.   I'm Gonna Make It
  41.   We Taking Over by Tame One
  42.   The Franchise by Tame One
  43.   Teddy by Tame One
  44.   Specifics by Tame One
  45.   Special by Tame One
  46.   Life Sucks by Tame One
  47.   Keep It Up by Tame One
  48.   Intro (Magic) by Tame One
  49.   Gaining Ground by Tame One
  50.   Flashback by Tame One
  51.   Before This by Tame One
  52.   Missing Link
  53.   One Big Trip
  54.   Thank Youse
  55.   Check It Ooout
  56.   Don't Forget
  57.   No More Worries
  58.   Worldwide
  59.   Treats For the Kiddies
  60.   Boo Boo Heads
  61.   Wack M.C.'s
  62.   You're in Shambles
  63.   Made in America
  64.   Dark Skin Girls
  65.   Fragments
  66.   Blow Your Mind by Parallel Thought
  67.   Break the Bank
  68.   Sunny Meadowz
  69.   Ya Lil' Crumbsnatchers
  70.   Calculate

Artists Related to Del the Funky Homosapien

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |