Slacker Logo



Fueled by "rejection, food, coffee, girls, fishing and food," the Descendents sprang up during the halcyon days of the Los Angeles punk scene; fusing the blind rage of hardcore with an unexpectedly wry, self-deprecating wit and a strong melodic sensibility which set them distinctly apart from their West Coast brethren, they gradually emerged as one of the most enduring and adored bands of their time. Formed in 1979, the Descendents' first lineup consisted of vocalist/guitarist Frank Navetta, vocalist/bassist Tony Lombardo, and drummer Bill Stevenson; initially sporting an edgy power pop sound inspired by the Buzzcocks, the group issued a debut single, "Ride the Wild," and then promptly vanished from sight. When the Descendents resurfaced in 1981, they were a four-piece fronted by vocalist Milo Auckerman, a beloved figure within the hardcore community who infused the group's identity with both unmitigated teen angst and a healthy dose of goofball humor. Amid a relentless, caffeine-powered touring schedule, the Descendents found time to record the 1981 EP Fat, a collection spotlighting both Auckerman's affection for fast food ("Weinerschnitzel," "I Like Food") and distaste for parental guidance ("My Dad Sucks"). A year later, the group issued their debut LP, Milo Goes to College; despite the considerable levity of tracks like "Bikeage" and "Suburban Home," the title was no joke -- Auckerman was indeed headed off to study biochemistry, and when Stevenson joined the ranks of Black Flag, the Descendents went on sabbatical. In 1985, the group re-formed, with SWA alum Ray Cooper replacing Navetta on guitar; after the release of the more pop-flavored album I Don't Want to Grow Up, ex-Anti bassist Doug Carrion assumed Lombardo's duties. A sunnier perspective informed 1986's Enjoy!, as evidenced by the inclusion of a cover of the Beach Boys' "Wendy," but after 1987's All, the group split again; after Stevenson formed a new group, also dubbed All, the only Descendents products to appear for a number of years were a pair of live releases, 1987's Liveage! and 1989's Hallraker. Somewhat surprisingly, Auckerman and Stevenson re-formed the Descendents in 1996 with All bassist Karl Alvarez and guitarist Stephen Egerton; in addition to mounting a tour, the group recorded a new album, Everything Sucks. Following the tour, Auckerman once again returned to his life in the chem lab until 2004 when the guys were back with two new releases, both issued on Fat Wreck -- February brought the EP 'Merican, and the full-length Cool to Be You followed a month later. ~ Jason Ankeny
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring

    Classic Punk

    Classic Punk
    15 songs


    2 songs

    Punk U

    Punk U
    13 songs

Albums by

Top Songs by

  1.   Song
  2.   I'm the One
  3.   Hope
  4.   Bikeage
  5.   Silly Girl
  6.   Suburban Home
  7.   I'm Not a Punk
  8.   Sour Grapes
  9.   Myage
  10.   Clean Sheets
  11.   I'm Not a Loser
  12.   Descendents
  13.   Rotting Out
  14.   Good Good Things
  15.   We
  16.   She Loves Me
  17.   Sick-O-Me
  18.   Kabuki Girl
  19.   'Merican
  20.   Marriage
  21.   Nothing with You
  22.   Weinerschnitzel
  23.   Coffee Mug
  24.   Everything Sux
  25.   Hey Hey
  26.   Pervert
  27.   Catalina
  28.   Parents
  29.   Wendy
  30.   Cheer
  31.   Tonyage
  32.   Maddie
  33.   Cameage
  34.   Rockstar
  35.   My Dad Sucks
  36.   Blast Off
  37.   I Wanna Be a Bear
  38.   Tack
  39.   Talking
  40.   Alive
  41.   This Space
  42.   When I Get Old
  43.   Impressions
  44.   Hürtin' Crüe
  45.   Enjoy
  46.   Theme
  47.   I Don't Want to Grow Up
  48.   Pep Talk
  49.   Original Me
  50.   Uranus
  51.   M-16
  52.   I Quit
  53.   Sad State of Affairs
  54.   Dry Spell
  55.   One More Da