Slacker Logo


Dia Frampton

Dia Frampton began her career as an alt-rocker, logging three summers on the Warped Tour and releasing several albums as part of Meg & Dia, a duo that also featured her older sister. Formed in Draper, Utah, the group relocated to Salt Lake City in 2005, where the sisters began recruiting additional members for their live band. Meg & Dia eventually became a fairly successful indie act, prompting Warner Bros. to sign the girls and release their third album, Here, Here and Here, in April 2009. The label dropped Meg & Dia 15 months later, though, reverting the duo to indie status. Meg & Dia released an independent fourth album, Cocoon, in April 2011. Shortly thereafter, Dia Frampton began competing in The Voice, a prime-time singing competition in the vein of American Idol. Mentored by judge Blake Shelton, she became one of the season's leading contestants and wound up finishing second, losing the crown to Javier Colon during the season finale. "Inventing Shadows," a song she performed during the last episode, became her biggest single to date, peaking at number 20 on the Billboard Hot 100 and rising to the top of the digital charts. Her full-length major-label debut, Red, followed in December of 2011. On the heels of her album's release, Frampton nabbed opening tour slots with Blake Shelton and the Fray. She also headlined her own tour alongside singer/songwriter Andrew Allen in 2012. The following year, Frampton announced via her blog that her sister had decided to leave Meg & Dia to focus on other opportunities, effectively ending the duo's partnership. Also around this time, it was revealed that the former Voice runner-up had been dropped by Universal Republic. The next several years were a struggle for Frampton as she worked to regain her creative footing, even taking a job as a server at Los Angeles' Central Market to make ends meet. Along the way, she recorded an EP with producer Joseph Trapanese. Released in 2015 as ARCHIS, the EP showcased a darker, more orchestral and EDM-tinged sound. Frampton and Trapanese then toured in support of the album, opening for violinist Lindsey Stirling. In early 2016, at Trapanese's suggestion, Frampton returned to her solo work, collaborating on new material with producer/composer Dan Heath (Lana Del Rey, Troye Sivan, Skylar Grey). By September 2016, she had finished the album, titled Bruises, and issued the first single, "Golden Years." Promising more of the emotive, orchestral leanings of her work on ARCHIS, Bruises was set for release in 2017. ~ Andrew Leahey
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Dia Frampton

    New Pop First

    New Pop First
    1 song

Albums by
Dia Frampton

Top Songs by
Dia Frampton

  1.   Song
  2.   The Broken Ones
  3.   Dead Man
  4.   I Won't Back Down by Blake Shelton
  5.   Gold and Silver
  6.   Walk Away
  7.   Good Boy
  8.   Don't Kick the Chair by Kid Cudi
  9.   Crave
  10.   Golden Years
  11.   Bubbly
  12.   You Can't Hurry Love by Serabee
  13.   Trapeze
  14.   Bullseye
  15.   Billy the Kid
  16.   I Will by Blake Shelton
  17.   Isabella
  18.   Inventing Shadows
  19.   Daniel
  20.   Heartless

Artists Related to Dia Frampton


Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |