Slacker Logo



The electronic pop chanteuse Dido entered London's Guildhall School of Music at age six; by the time she reached her teens, the budding musician had already mastered piano, violin, and recorder. After touring with a British classical ensemble, she accepted a publishing job. Meanwhile, she sang with a series of local groups before joining the trip-hop outfit Faithless -- helmed by her older brother, the noted DJ and producer Rollo -- in 1995. The group released its debut album, Reverence, the following year. It went on to sell over five million copies worldwide, and Dido parlayed her newfound success into a solo deal with Arista Records. Dido's ethereal solo material combined elements of acoustic pop and electronica. She released her debut LP, No Angel, in mid-1999, and supported the release by joining the Lilith Fair tour that summer. However, her biggest break arrived in 2000, when rap superstar Eminem sampled one of her tracks, "Thank You," for the chorus of his hit single "Stan." The result was a surprisingly touching song, and demand for the Dido original quickly escalated. "Thank You" became a Top Five smash in early 2001, as did the accompanying No Angel, whose album sales topped 12 million copies worldwide by the time Dido returned to the spotlight two years later. In September 2003, she released her long-awaited follow-up, Life for Rent. This sophomore effort was layered with personal hardship and heartbreak, marking some of Dido's more honest material yet. An eagerly anticipated record, it became one of the fastest-selling albums in U.K. history, quickly going multi-platinum at home while also moving several million copies in America. Following a world tour, Dido once again retreated from the public eye in 2005 to work on her third solo release. Safe Trip Home arrived in 2008, featuring collaborations with Brian Eno, Mick Fleetwood, and Citizen Cope. Shortly after this, she recorded the single "Everything to Lose," which subsequently appeared on the Sex and the City 2 soundtrack. In 2011, she worked with producer A.R Rahman on the single "If I Rise" and began work on her fourth studio album, Girl Who Got Away, with producers Rollo Armstrong and Jeff Bhasker, as well as guest producer Brian Eno on the track "Day Before We Went to War." Described by herself as a "big, fun electronic extravaganza," the album was scheduled for release in early 2013 ~ Jason Ankeny
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring

    TV Tunes

    TV Tunes
    1 song

    Relax Trax

    Relax Trax
    7 songs

    Late Night Mix

    Late Night Mix
    2 songs

    Coffeehouse Corner

    Coffeehouse Corner
    2 songs

    Female Focus

    3 songs

    Smooth Jazz

    2 songs

    New Smooth Jazz

    2 songs

    Pop Remixes

    1 song

    Dance Pop

    1 song

    Love Songs

    2 songs

    Lite Hits

    2 songs

    '90s Pop

    2 songs

    Adult Alternative

    1 song

    Adult Rock

    1 song

    Gay Anthems

    3 songs

    Electronic Chill

    1 song

Albums by

Top Songs by

  1.   Song
  2.   Thank You
  3.   White Flag
  4.   Here with Me
  5.   Christmas Day
  6.   See the Sun
  7.   Let Us Move On
  8.   Sand in My Shoes
  9.   Don't Believe in Love
  10.   Grafton Street
  11.   Don't Leave Home
  12.   No Freedom
  13.   The Day Before the Day
  14.   I'm No Angel
  15.   My Lover's Gone
  16.   Let's Do the Things We Normally Do
  17.   Take My Hand
  18.   Northern Skies
  19.   Stoned
  20.   Don't Think of Me
  21.   NYC
  22.   Life for Rent
  23.   All You Want
  24.   Who Makes You Feel
  25.   Hunter
  26.   One Step Too Far
  27.   Lost
  28.   Love to Blame
  29.   Quiet Times
  30.   This Land is Mine
  31.   Do You Have a Little Time
  32.   Honestly OK
  33.   Worthless
  34.   If I Rise
  35.   Loveless Hearts
  36.   Go Dreaming
  37.   Look No Further
  38.   It Comes and It Goes
  39.   Never Want to Say It's Love
  40.   Closer
  41.   See You When You're 40
  42.   Mary's in India
  43.   End of Night
  44.   Are You Ready for Love
  45.   Aurura
  46.   Let's Runaway
  47.   Just Say Yes
  48.   All I See
  49.   Happy New Year
  50.   Sitting on the Roof of the World
  51.   Blackbird
  52.   Everything to Lose by Aaron Zigman
  53.   For One Day
  54.   Burnin Love
  55.   Us 2 Little Gods
  56.   Isobel
  57.   Slide
  58.   My Life
  59.   Day Before We Went to War
  60.   Girl Who Got Away
  61.   Summer
  62.   A Gift from the Sky
  63.   Across the View
  64.   Aurora

Artists Related to Dido

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |