Slacker Logo


Dirty Heads

Following in the footsteps of their California brothers Sublime, Huntington Beach's Dirty Heads mix hip-hop, reggae, and rock along with that laid-back South Cali attitude. The group formed in 2003 when punk rocker Dustin Bushnell (aka Duddy B) asked his friend rapper Jared Watson (aka Dirty J) to collaborate on a project that would focus on positive vibes and infectious grooves. Watson added singing to his vocal skills, and with percussionist Jon Olazabal joining, an acoustic trio version of Dirty Heads began playing shows and building an audience. They soon hooked up with producer Rob Cavallo and headed into the studio to record their debut album for Warner Bros., but differences with the label had them looking for other opportunities. Still, the band was able to retain most of its work, including sessions with drummer Josh Freese, along with the late-Beatles collaborator Billy Preston in one of the keyboardist's last recordings. The finished album, Any Port in a Storm, would arrive in 2008, with a deluxe edition following in 2010. The deluxe version featured the track "Lay Me Down" with special guest Rome Ramirez of Sublime with Rome. The song would top Billboard's Alternative Songs chart just before the summer of 2010. They followed up two years later with Cabin by the Sea and later recorded an acoustic version of the title track. This, in turn, led to an entire acoustic album in 2013 called Home - Phantoms of Summer. Dirty Heads' next album, Sound of Change, would prove to be a breakthrough for the now veteran band, debuting at number eight on the Billboard Top 200 while topping the Independent and Alternative Albums charts upon its May 2014 release. Building on their renewed success, Dirty Heads enlisted a bevy of industry hitmakers to work on their self-titled 2016 follow-up which, thanks to its mainstream appeal, again charted high on the Billboard Top 200. ~ David Jeffries
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Dirty Heads

    Top Alternative

    Top Alternative
    1 song

    Alternative Mix

    Alternative Mix
    1 song

    Pop Rock

    Pop Rock
    1 song

    Hot Summer Hits

    Hot Summer Hits
    1 song

    Alternative Party

    1 song

Albums by
Dirty Heads

Top Songs by
Dirty Heads

  1.   Song
  2.   Lay Me Down
  3.   Cabin By the Sea
  4.   My Sweet Summer
  5.   Stand Tall
  6.   Dance All Night
  7.   Oxygen
  8.   That's All I Need
  9.   Sound of Change
  10.   Spread Too Thin
  11.   Believe
  12.   Burn Slow
  13.   Under the Water
  14.   Sloth's Revenge
  15.   Radio
  16.   Medusa
  17.   Farewell
  18.   Red Lights
  19.   Doesn't Make You Right
  20.   Can't Sit Here
  21.   Your Love
  22.   We Will Rise
  23.   Hipster
  24.   Moon Tower
  25.   Franco Eyed
  26.   Feeling Good
  27.   Freedom
  28.   The Truth
  29.   Smoke & Dream
  30.   Mana
  31.   They Don't Even Know
  32.   Hip Hop Misfits
  33.   Day By Day
  34.   I Got No Time
  35.   Headphones
  36.   Driftin'
  37.   Realize It
  38.   Smoke Rings
  39.   Notice
  40.   Too Cruel
  41.   Garland
  42.   Best of Us
  43.   Hear You Coming
  44.   Antelope
  45.   Viva la Vida
  46.   Everything I'm Looking For
  47.   Check the Level
  48.   End of the World
  49.   Sails to the Wind
  50.   Lonely One
  51.   Easy
  52.   Silence
  53.   Insomnia
  54.   Higher and Higher
  55.   Shine
  56.   Morning Light
  57.   Coming Home
  58.   Disguise
  59.   Chelsea
  60.   Warming Sun
  61.   Rains It Pours
  62.   Taint
  63.   Burials
  64.   Gold To Me
  65.   Burn By Myself
  66.   Knows That I
  67.   Neighborhood
  68.   Running for Your Life
  69.   Dark Days
  70.   One Hand
  71.   Outro (Beast of the Lake)
  72.   Phantom
  73.   Strike Gently
  74.   Intro (Anchors Up)
  75.   Love Letters
  76.   Arrival
  77.   Mongo Push

Artists Related to Dirty Heads


Loading Sliders...
  1. + -