Slacker Logo



Dntel (aka Jimmy Tamborello) produces music that merges the worlds of indie rock and electronica. Tamborello was a guitarist in the emocore group Strictly Ballroom and also a member of techno-poppers Figurine. In addition, he did time in the southern California groups Further and the Tyde. Tamborello originally started working as Dntel in 1994. Tracks he produced between 1995 and 1997 were released on the Phthalo label in 1999 as Early Works for Me If It Works for You. This was followed by the 2000 release of an EP that had been recorded back in 1994 called Something Always Goes Wrong. The melancholy, often haunting, and electronica-heavy effort Life Is Full of Possibilities arrived in 2002 on Plug Research Records. It featured contributions from Chris Gunst (Beachwood Sparks, ex-Strictly Ballroom), Rachel Haden (that dog.), and Benjamin Gibbard (Death Cab for Cutie), among others. Tamborello moved to Sub Pop, also home to his other very successful project, the Postal Service, for Dntel's 2007 album Dumb Luck, which featured Gibbard, Jenny Lewis, Conor Oberst, and many other indie stars. The three-disc 2009 release Early Works for Me If It Works for You II compiled the original Early Works for Me and Something Always Goes Wrong with outtakes. 2012 saw the third album of proper newly prepared material with Aimlessness. The full-length album again featured cameo vocalists over Tamborello's twitchy beats, guests this time around being likeminded indie-electro artists Nite Jewel and Baths. In 2014, he released Human Voice, an album which, ironically, didn't include any of the guest vocalists that had been commonplace on earlier Dntel releases. ~ Erik Hage
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring

    Relax Trax

    Relax Trax
    1 song

Albums by

Top Songs by

  1.   Song
  2.   (This Is) The Dream of Evan and Chan
  3.   Dumb Luck
  4.   A Day Without Rain
  5.   Caribbean Blue
  6.   Aldebaran
  7.   Breakfast in Bed
  8.   Afer Ventus
  9.   In Which Our Hero Begins His Long and Arduous Ques
  10.   Last Songs
  11.   Anywhere Anyone
  12.   Roll On
  13.   Life Is Full of Possibilities
  14.   Umbrella
  15.   Ender
  16.   Retracer
  17.   Peepsie
  18.   Fancy Ian
  19.   Safkeep
  20.   In Which Our Hero Is Decapitated by the Evil King
  21.   Hits Line
  22.   Tybalt 60
  23.   One By One
  24.   Paper Landscape
  25.   Pliesex Sielking
  26.   Aimless
  27.   A Machine and a Memory Keep You Alive
  28.   Termites in the Bathtub
  29.   Curtains
  30.   The Distance
  31.   Puma
  32.   Jitters
  33.   Mini
  34.   Fort Instructions
  35.   Fear of Corners
  36.   Winds Let Me Down Again
  37.   Serious
  38.   Doc
  39.   Pepper Shake
  40.   Suddenly Is Sooner Than You Think
  41.   Jewel States, "The Door Borders"