Slacker Logo


Donell Jones

Beginning with his 1996 album My Heart, singer/songwriter/producer Donell Jones recorded a jazzy and soulful style of urban pop for LaFace Records and scored a few modest singles in the process. His first two singles -- "In the Hood" and "Knocks Me Off My Feet" -- established his reputation within the competitive urban market. In particular, the latter song, originally a Stevie Wonder song from Songs in the Key of Life (1976), became a substantial hit for Jones, climbing to the upper reaches of the Billboard R&B chart and driving the album up the charts as well. In addition to his own music, he also wrote songs for other urban artists such as Usher ("Think of You") and 702 ("Get It Together"). Born the son of a gospel singer, Jones immersed himself in music at a young age. Later, he began to fall victim to the temptations of Chicago's South Side, where he grew up. At one point, after involving himself with gang culture, he decided to dedicate himself to music rather than the streets. He met Edward "Eddie F" Ferrell (former Heavy D & the Boyz member turned Untouchables Entertainment president), and the two formed a partnership with LaFace. Following the success of Usher's "Think of You" in 1994 (number eight R&B), a song written by Jones, LaFace executives L.A. Reid and Babyface gave the blossoming artist the go-ahead to begin work on his solo debut. Executive produced by Ferrell, Reid, and Babyface, My Heart peaked at number 30 on Billboard's R&B chart in 1996, propelled primarily by the success of "Knocks Me Off My Feet" as well as two other singles: "In the Hood" and "You Should Know." When Jones returned three years later in 1999 with his second album, Where I Wanna Be, he had become known as an accomplished songwriter. He penned songs for 702 ("Get It Together," 1997) and Drea ("Not Gonna Letcha," 1998) and was well regarded within the industry as a result. Unsurprisingly then, Jones attained impressive success with Where I Wanna Be and its singles: "U Know What's Up" and "Shorty (Got Her Eyes on Me)." Shortly after the album's release, he contributed a song to the Shaft soundtrack ("Do What I Gotta Do") and to Guru's Streetsoul album ("Hustlin' Daze," which he also contributed vocals to). Following some time off in 2001, Jones returned in 2002 with his third album, Life Goes On. The album peaked at number three on the album chart, but he wasn't able to follow it up until 2006's Journey of a Gemini, which charted even higher. Despite this, Jones and LaFace parted ways after a 2007 best-of compilation. Three years later, Jones signed an independent deal with eOne and released Lyrics (2010) and Forever (2013), two albums for which he performed, wrote, and produced nearly everything. ~ Jason Birchmeier
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Donell Jones

    '00s R&B

    '00s R&B
    2 songs

    R&B and Soul Mix

    R&B and Soul Mix
    4 songs

    '90s R&B

    '90s R&B
    1 song

Albums by
Donell Jones

Top Songs by
Donell Jones

  1.   Song
  2.   U Know What's Up
  3.   Where I Wanna Be
  4.   You Know That I Love You
  5.   Knocks Me Off My Feet
  6.   Love Like This
  7.   All About the Sex
  8.   Forever
  9.   Shorty (Got Her Eyes on Me)
  10.   I'm Gonna Be
  11.   Beautiful
  12.   I Hope It's You
  13.   Ooh Na Na
  14.   My Apology
  15.   Where You Are (Is Where I Wanna Be), Pt. 2
  16.   I Wanna Luv U
  17.   Comeback
  18.   All Her Love
  19.   Have You Seen Her
  20.   Spend the Night
  21.   This Luv
  22.   He Won't Hurt You
  23.   Do U Wanna
  24.   Better Start Talking
  25.   Don't Leave
  26.   Life Goes On
  27.   You Should Know
  28.   Menage A Trois
  29.   Special Girl
  30.   Put Me Down
  31.   Yearnin'
  32.   Another Life
  33.   Cry
  34.   Portrait of a Woman
  35.   Still
  36.   When I Was Down
  37.   It's Alright
  38.   In the Hood
  39.   You Know
  40.   Hands on You
  41.   Your Place
  42.   Stripclub by Yung Joc
  43.   O How I Wonder
  44.   Imagine That
  45.   Backdoor
  46.   If U Want by Bun B
  47.   Feelin' You
  48.   Freakin' U
  49.   Pushin'
  50.   Think About It (Don't Call My Crib)
  51.   Believe in Me
  52.   Wish You Were Here
  53.   Waiting on You
  54.   Don't Blame Me
  55.   A Mother's Love
  56.   I'm So Gone
  57.   Step the F*** Off
  58.   Ride This
  59.   Sorry I Hurt You
  60.   I Miss the King
  61.   Closer I Get to You
  62.   New Beginning
  63.   What's Next
  64.   Stripclub
  65.   What's Next by Inessa
  66.   The Finer Things In Life
  67.   Just a Little
  68.   Blackmail
  69.   Cuttin' Me Off
  70.   Lust or Love
  71.   Can't Wait
  72.   Guilty by Suspicion
  73.   My Gift to You
  74.   Take It There
  75.   I Hope That It's You
  76.   Don't Cry
  77.   No Interruptions
  78.   I Want You to Know
  79.   My Heart
  80.   All About You
  81.   The Only One You Need
  82.   Don't Trip
  83.   If U Want by Bun B
  84.   Gotta Get Her (Outta My Head)
  85.   You Can Burn
  86.   Natural Thang
  87.   The World Is Yours

Artists Related to Donell Jones