Slacker Logo


Dum Dum Girls

Since they emerged at a time when C-86-inspired acts like Vivian Girls and the Pains of Being Pure at Heart were in vogue, it's little wonder that California's Dum Dum Girls -- a group whose '60s-inflected lo-fi pop brings to mind acts like Black Tambourine and Dolly Mixture -- became something of a sensation on the indie circuit soon after the release of their first single. In 2008, lead singer Kristin Gundred (aka Dee Dee) began making solo recordings as Dum Dum Girls, deriving the name both from the Vaselines' album Dum-Dum and from the Iggy Pop song "Dum Dum Boys." Over the course of the next year, Dee Dee released a couple singles (a 7" single on Hozac, a four-way split single on Art Fag), a 12" EP (Yours Alone, released via Captured Tracks), and a compilation disc appearance (on Art Fag's Blissed Out cassette comp). Thanks to the high level of buzz surrounding Dee Dee (and, of course, the quality of the records), Sub Pop signed Dum Dum Girls in 2009. Dum Dum Girls' first Sub Pop single, "Jail La La," was released in early 2010, with the debut album I Will Be following soon after. Both recordings were mostly done by Dee Dee at home (with some help from Nick Zinner and Crocodiles' Brandon Welchez) and then expertly produced in the studio by Richard Gottehrer, who had formerly worked with the Go-Go's and Blondie. Before the album's release, Dee Dee teamed up with guitarist Jules, bassist Bambi, and drummer Frankie Rose (formerly of like-minded groups Crystal Stilts and Vivian Girls) to form a live band. Rose left the band in June of 2010 and was replaced by a drummer named Sandra Vu, who was with the band when its fall tour of the U.S. was canceled due to the passing of Dee Dee's mother. After spending some time regrouping, the band began playing more shows as the year drew to a close. In 2011, the He Gets Me High EP was released. Recorded just before her mother's death, the record was cut by Dee Dee without her band, and was produced again by Gottehrer with help from the Raveonettes' Sune Rose Wagner. On the personnel front, Bambi left the band in late 2011, making way for Malia James. A full-length sophomore album, Only in Dreams, appeared later that year. The album featured Dee Dee's bandmates for the first time and revolved around the pain of her mother's death. In the autumn of 2012, End of Daze, an EP consisting of tracks recorded just after the Only in Dreams sessions, plus songs recorded a year later, was released. The band's third full-length record, 2014's Too True, was once again produced by Gottehrer and Wagner, but this time Dee Dee played and sang everything herself (with some help from Wagner). After she finished the touring cycle for the album, Dee Dee realized she was done being a Dum Dum Girl for the time being and started a new project. Aiming for a brighter, more synth pop and R&B-influenced sound, she adopted the name Kristin Kontrol and released her debut album, X-Communicate, for Sub Pop in May of 2016. ~ Margaret Reges
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Dum Dum Girls

    Relax Trax

    Relax Trax
    1 song

Albums by
Dum Dum Girls

Top Songs by
Dum Dum Girls

  1.   Song
  2.   Bedroom Eyes
  3.   Lord Knows
  4.   There Is a Light That Never Goes Out
  5.   Coming Down
  6.   Lost Boys and Girls Club
  7.   Jail La La
  8.   He Gets Me High
  9.   Red Sun by Merchandise
  10.   Blank Girl
  11.   Bhang Bhang, I'm a Burnout
  12.   Rimbaud Eyes
  13.   Rest of Our Lives
  14.   Season in Hell
  15.   Always Looking
  16.   In My Head
  17.   Heartbeat
  18.   Just a Creep
  19.   Caught in One
  20.   Longhair
  21.   Letter to Hermione
  22.   Girls Intuition
  23.   In the Wake of You
  24.   Cult of Love
  25.   Trees and Flowers
  26.   I Got Nothing
  27.   Wrong Feels Right
  28.   Take Care of My Baby
  29.   It Only Takes One Night
  30.   Play With Fire
  31.   Wasted Away
  32.   Trouble Is My Name
  33.   Lines Her Eyes
  34.   Echo by Merchandise
  35.   Under These Hands
  36.   Mine Tonight
  37.   Teardrops on My Pillow
  38.   Hold Your Hand
  39.   Everybody's Out
  40.   Baby Don't Go
  41.   Too True to Be Good
  42.   Oh Mein M
  43.   Mercury Mary
  44.   Yours Alone
  45.   Little Minx
  46.   Evil Blooms
  47.   I Will Be
  48.   Are You OK?
  49.   Last Caress
  50.   Catholicked
  51.   Hey Sis
  52.   Put a Sock In It
  53.   Crystal Baby

Artists Related to Dum Dum Girls

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |