Slacker Logo


Dying Fetus

Though forever doomed, commercially speaking, by their controversial name, Maryland's Dying Fetus endured beyond most observers' wildest expectations. Formed in the waning days of death metal's glorious heyday (1991, to be exact) by John Gallagher (guitar/vocals), Nick Speleos (guitar), Brian Latta (guitar), Jason Netherton (bass), and Kevin Talley (drums), Dying Fetus combined their death metal with hardcore influences in order to develop their own form of American grindcore. But while pioneering bands like Napalm Death and Carcass had taken the U.K. and Europe by storm, this subgenre never really caught on in America, and had been utterly buried by grunge by the time Dying Fetus released their 1995 debut, Infatuation with Malevolence, which, admittedly did little more than collect their old demos into a single package. After downsizing to a quartet with Speleos' departure, the band truly began to hit its stride with a slew of increasingly confident and inspired releases, including 1996's Purification Through Violence, 1998's Killing on Adrenaline, and 2000's Destroy the Opposition. All the while, their notoriety continued to grow steadily within the extreme metal underground, as did their audience, thanks to a ferocious live presence and incessant touring at home and abroad with similarly aggressive bands like Kataklysm, the Crown, and Behemoth. Between road jaunts, the band kept itself busy by re-releasing an expanded version of its debut in 1999 and the Grotesque Impalement EP in 2000, but trouble was just around the corner. Midway through 2001, Gallagher was handed resignation letters from the other members of the group, who proceeded to join forces in a new project called Misery Index, and thus left the future of Dying Fetus very much in doubt. But to everyone's surprise, Gallagher wasted no time hiring an entirely new lineup consisting of vocalist Vince Matthews, guitarist Mike Kimball, bassist Sean Beasely, and drummer Erik Sayenga. A new single entitled "Vengeance Unleashed" was recorded to support the band's touring commitments, which included that year's Wacken Open Air Festival, after which Dying Fetus entered the studio to prepare their fifth album, 2003's eagerly awaited Stop at Nothing. The blistering War of Attrition appeared in 2007, followed three years later by Descend into Depravity -- both of them on Relapse. Arriving in 2012, Reign Supreme became their first to reach the main Billboard album charts. In 2017 the band issued its ninth studio long-player, Wrong One to Fuck With, again via Relapse. ~ Eduardo Rivadavia
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Dying Fetus

    Death Metal

    Death Metal
    13 songs

Albums by
Dying Fetus

Top Songs by
Dying Fetus

  1.   Song
  2.   Destroy the Opposition
  3.   Your Treachery Will Die with You
  4.   Raping the System
  5.   Killing On Adrenaline
  6.   Schematics
  7.   Fate of the Condemned
  8.   One Shot, One Kill
  9.   Shepherd's Commandment
  10.   Homicidal Retribution
  11.   Parasites of Catastrophe
  12.   We Are Your Enemy
  13.   Stop at Nothing
  14.   Fornication Terrorists
  15.   In Times of War
  16.   Weaken the Structure
  17.   Seething With Disdain
  18.   Induce Terror
  19.   Ethos of Coercion
  20.   Descend into Depravity
  21.   Twisted Truth
  22.   Nothing Left to Pray For
  23.   Intentional Manslaughter
  24.   Kill Your Mother/Rape Your Dog
  25.   Justifiable Homicide
  26.   Skull Fucked
  27.   Nocturnal Crucifixion
  28.   Dissidence
  29.   Obsolete Deterrence
  30.   Gorehog
  31.   Blunt Force Trauma
  32.   Unleashed upon Mankind
  33.   The Weak Shall Be Cruched
  34.   Praise the Lord (Opium of the Masses)
  35.   Unmitigated Detestation
  36.   Ideological Subjugation
  37.   Reveling in the Abyss
  38.   Fixated on Devastation
  39.   The Blood of Power
  40.   Revisionist Past
  41.   In the Trenches
  42.   Second Skin
  43.   Subjected to a Beating
  44.   Rohypnol
  45.   Atrocious by Nature
  46.   At What Expense?
  47.   Insidious Repression
  48.   The Ancient Rivalry
  49.   Grotesque Impalement
  50.   Forced Elimination
  51.   Skum (Fuck the Weak)
  52.   Permanently Disfigured
  53.   Beaten into Submission
  54.   Epidemic of Hate
  55.   Born in a Casket
  56.   For Us or Against Us
  57.   Conceived into Enslavement
  58.   Invert the Idols
  59.   Born in Sodom
  60.   Devout Atrocity
  61.   Unadultered Hatred
  62.   Procreate The Malformed
  63.   Forgotten Scriptures by Disgorge
  64.   Fallacy
  65.   Panic Amongst the Herd
  66.   From Womb to Waste
  67.   Hopeless Insurrection
  68.   Abandon All Hope
  69.   Pissing in the Mainstream
  70.   Onslaught of Malice
  71.   Absolute Defiance
  72.   Judgement Day
  73.   Die With Integrity
  74.   Unchallenged Hate
  75.   Vengeance Unleashed
  76.   Fade into Obscurity
  77.   Raped on the Altar
  78.   Institutions of Deceit
  79.   Wrong One to Fuck With

Artists Related to Dying Fetus


Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |