Slacker Logo



Formed in 2003, Editors became one of the leading bands in the post-punk revival that swept America and England in the early 21st century. Originally dubbed Snowfield, the group comprised four music technology students from Stafford University -- singer/guitarist Tom Smith, lead guitarist Chris Urbanowicz, bassist Russell Leetch, and drummer Ed Lay -- all of whom had relocated to Birmingham after graduation. A series of a well-received club dates and demo recordings earned Editors some attention from British labels, and the group soon signed with the revitalized Kitchenware, the venerable indie label once home to Prefab Sprout. Kitchenware issued the band's debut single, "Bullets," in early January 2005. The record reportedly sold out in one day, and its sound earned comparisons to the dark, dramatic atmospherics of contemporary bands like Interpol and Bloc Party (not to mention veteran outfits like Joy Division and Echo & the Bunnymen). Editors' follow-up single, "Munich," made them darlings of the U.K. music press, and just weeks after their standout performance at the annual Glastonbury Music Festival, the band issued a third single, "Blood." Their much-anticipated debut LP, The Back Room, followed in mid-2005. "Munich" was reissued in January 2006 to ramp up support for the album, which entered the Top Five in the U.K. and eventually earned platinum sales. A U.S. tour with stellastarr* coincided with the American release of The Back Room in March, and a Mercury Music Prize nomination followed in July. Editors' sophomore effort, An End Has a Start, came out the following summer, preceded by the Top 10 single "Smokers Outside the Hospital Doors." Like its predecessor, the album went platinum in the U.K. and maintained the band's modest audience in America, where they returned in September 2007 to launch another stateside tour. Editors remained on the road through the middle of 2008, playing a slew of festivals in the U.K. and opening a string of European shows for R.E.M. before the year was up. By this point the band had grown tired of their sound, however, and 2009 found them tinkering with synthesizers and industrial music. After enlisting the help of producer Flood (known for his work with Depeche Mode, U2, and Nine Inch Nails), they decamped to the studio to record In This Light and on This Evening, which unveiled their newfound electronic fixation upon its release in October 2009. Eager to build on the success of a second U.K. number one album in a row, Smith immediately began to write material for a prospective fourth full-length. By the time the In This Light and on This Evening promotional tour had ended in late 2010, the band had enough new songs to enter a London studio, with Flood once again behind the desk. The majority of the band weren't satisfied with the initial results of these sessions, and by early 2012, Smith, Leetch, and Lay had asked Urbanowicz to leave Editors, when it became clear that the vision they had for the future of the band was not shared by their guitarist and founding member. Very shortly after Urbanowicz had departed, they were offered a high-profile festival slot in Werchter, Belgium in June 2012. They honored this commitment, bringing in ex-Yourcodenameis: Milo guitarist Justin Lockey and Airship member Elliott Williams to their lineup, bolstering the band's sound and laying the foundations for the straight-ahead rock approach that their fourth album would ultimately take. Recorded as a five-piece in Nashville with Jacquire King as producer, The Weight of Your Love was issued in June 2013 and nodded to the ambitious, guitar-led, stadium-filling sound of U2 and R.E.M. In 2015, Editors returned with their fifth studio album, the self-produced In Dream, which featured background vocals from Slowdive's Rachel Goswell and included the singles "No Harm," "Marching Orders," and "Life Is Fear." ~ Jason Ankeny & James Wilkinson
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring

    '00s Indie

    '00s Indie
    5 songs

    Top Alternative

    Top Alternative
    1 song

    Alternative Mix

    Alternative Mix
    1 song

    Pop Rock

    Pop Rock
    1 song

    Relax Trax

    1 song

    Top Indie

    1 song

    Indie Rock Mix

    1 song

    Indie Party

    1 song

Albums by

Top Songs by

  1.   Song
  2.   Munich
  3.   An End Has A Start
  4.   Smokers Outiside The Hospital Doors
  5.   Papillon
  6.   A Ton of Love
  7.   Lullaby
  8.   The Weight of the World
  9.   Walk the Fleet Road
  10.   Bullets
  11.   Push Your Head Towards the Air
  12.   The Racing Rats
  13.   No Sound But the Wind
  14.   Bones
  15.   Heads in Bags
  16.   Formaldehyde
  17.   All Sparks
  18.   Blood
  19.   Fall
  20.   Fingers in the Factories
  21.   Sugar
  22.   The Boxer
  23.   In This Light and on This Evening
  24.   You Don't Know Love
  25.   The Phone Book
  26.   This House is Full of Noise
  27.   A Life as a Ghost
  28.   Hyena
  29.   The Weight
  30.   For the Money
  31.   Human
  32.   Lights
  33.   Harm
  34.   Alternative: Life Is a Fear
  35.   Alternative: Our Love
  36.   All the Kings
  37.   Our Love
  38.   Life Is a Fear
  39.   Salvation
  40.   Ocean of Night
  41.   The Sting
  42.   Bird of Prey
  43.   Nothing
  44.   What is This Thing Called Love
  45.   Eat Raw Meat = Blood Drool
  46.   Like Treasure
  47.   The Big Exit
  48.   Well Worn Hand
  49.   Spiders
  50.   When Anger Shows
  51.   An Eye for an Eye
  52.   The Picture
  53.   French Disko
  54.   You Are Fading
  55.   Distance
  56.   Camera
  57.   Someone Says
  58.   Open Your Arms
  59.   Marching Orders
  60.   Forgiveness
  61.   Thousand Pieces
  62.   Oh My World
  63.   At All Cost
  64.   The Law
  65.   Some Kind of Spark
  66.   Escape The Nest
  67.   Honesty
  68.   Colours
  69.   Alternative: No Harm
  70.   Bricks and Mortar
  71.   No Harm
  72.   I Want a Forest
  73.   Two Hearted Spider
  74.   Alternative: Forgiveness

Artists Related to Editors

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -