Slacker Logo


Edward Sharpe & the Magnetic Zeros

Formed in 2007 by Ima Robot frontman Alex Ebert after a brief period of existential crisis, the cultish ten-piece indie rock outfit Edward Sharpe & the Magnetic Zeros draw their inspiration from the communal musical communities that peppered Southern California (specifically Laurel Canyon) with positive vibrations during the '60s and early '70s. Employing a unique sound that brought to mind a not-so-subtle mix of Parliament, Polyphonic Spree, Bob Marley, and the Incredible String Band, the then 11-piece group released its debut EP, Here Comes, in May 2009, followed by the full-length Up from Below in July. The band grew in renown based in part on its fiery live show, touring often and making several television appearances, including multiple performances on Late Night with David Letterman. Edward Sharpe & the Magnetic Zeros followed up their debut in 2012 with the full-length Here, one of two albums the band had planned for release that year. It climbed to number five on the Billboard 200, also charting in France and Australia. It would be 2013 before a third, self-titled album materialized. It hit the U.S. Top 15, and in 2014, among many solo projects within the band, Ebert won a Golden Globe for his score for the 2013 Robert Redford film All Is Lost. With a more focused approach that gathered the whole band, by then a ten-piece, into a single room to write and record as a group, the PersonA LP was released in the spring of 2016. It featured cover art that redacted "Edward Sharpe and" with red lines to emphasize the unity. ~ James Christopher Monger & Marcy Donelson
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Edward Sharpe & the Magnetic Zeros

    Adult Alternative

    Adult Alternative
    2 songs

    Adult Rock

    Adult Rock
    2 songs

    '00s Indie

    '00s Indie
    3 songs

    Coffeehouse Corner

    Coffeehouse Corner
    1 song


    3 songs

    Alt Country

    1 song

Albums by
Edward Sharpe & the Magnetic Zeros

Top Songs by
Edward Sharpe & the Magnetic Zeros

  1.   Song
  2.   Home
  3.   40 Day Dream
  4.   Janglin
  5.   Man on Fire
  6.   Desert Song
  7.   Carries On
  8.   Better Days
  9.   No Love Like Yours
  10.   Kisses Over Babylon
  11.   Jade
  12.   Country Calling
  13.   Memory of a Free Festival
  14.   Child
  15.   Dear Believer
  16.   That's What's Up
  17.   Simplest Love
  18.   Free Stuff
  19.   This Life
  20.   Life Is Hard
  21.   Let's Get High
  22.   Wooden Indian
  23.   Up From Below
  24.   Come in Please
  25.   Lullaby
  26.   Give Me a Sign
  27.   In the Summer
  28.   Mayla
  29.   Perfect Time
  30.   Black Water
  31.   The Ballad of Yaya
  32.   Hot Coals
  33.   All Together
  34.   Bad Bad Love
  35.   Fog on the Tyne
  36.   Milton
  37.   When You're Young
  38.   Remember to Remember
  39.   They Were Wrong
  40.   In the Lion
  41.   If I Were Free
  42.   Please!
  43.   Two
  44.   Fire & Water
  45.   Mother
  46.   All Wash Out
  47.   Fiya Wata
  48.   I Don't Wanna Pray
  49.   One Love to Another
  50.   Brother
  51.   I Saw Her Standing There
  52.   Wake Up the Sun
  53.   Somewhere
  54.   Om Nashi Me
  55.   Truth
  56.   Uncomfortable
  57.   Let It Down

Artists Related to Edward Sharpe & the Magnetic Zeros

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |