Slacker Logo


Edwyn Collins

Best known for his tenure fronting the Scottish pop revivalists Orange Juice as well as his international solo hit "A Girl Like You," singer Edwyn Collins was born in Edinburgh, Scotland in 1959. In 1976, he formed the Nu-Sonics, who resurfaced three years later as Orange Juice; the leading proponent of the Glasgow neo-pop scene, the band earned a devoted cult following but little commercial success, and by the early '80s Collins was the only remaining founding member. After a self-titled 1984 release failed to chart, Orange Juice disbanded, and Collins was freed from his contract with the group's label, Polydor. A solo career seemed imminent, but the singer struggled; dogged by a reputation as a stubborn, difficult perfectionist unmoved by prevailing commercial attitudes, Collins found no one willing to offer him a contract, and only after a pair of sold-out London performances did Creation's Alan McGee sign him to the label's Elevation subsidiary in 1986. The singles "Don't Shilly Shally" (produced by Cocteau Twin Robin Guthrie) and "My Beloved Girl" followed, but both failed to chart; in 1987, Elevation folded, and after Collins and McGee had a falling out, the singer was again left without a contract. Some months later, Collins accepted the opportunity to record at a small German studio run by a group of devoted Orange Juice fans; cut with the aid of producer Dennis Bovell as well as Aztec Camera frontman Roddy Frame, the resulting LP, Hope and Despair, a brooding, ambitious collection spotlighting Collins' smooth, soulful baritone, was eventually picked up by the Demon label and issued in 1989. The album proved quite successful on the independent charts, and soon Collins returned to the studio to record 1990's Spartan Hellbent on Compromise; when the LP failed to repeat its predecessor's good fortune, Demon dropped him from their ranks, and another long sabbatical followed. After spending much of the decade's first half in the producer's seat, overseeing sessions from artists including longtime pal Paul Quinn, the Rockingbirds, A House, and the Frank and Walters, Collins finally earned another shot as a performer: after signing with the tiny U.K. indie Setanta, he recorded 1994's Gorgeous George, a scathing, shimmering set of retro-pop highlighted by the single "A Girl Like You." Slowly, the song became a massive hit throughout Europe as well as the U.S. and returned Collins to the charts for the first time since the 1983 Orange Juice smash "Rip It Up," finally establishing the longstanding cult hero as something of a household name. In 2005, Collins was rushed to the hospital after suffering a severe cerebral hemorrhage; he would eventually spend six months recovering from brain surgery. The album that Collins had been recording prior to his illness was mixed after he was discharged from the hospital. Entitled Home Again, it was released on Heavenly Recordings in September 2007. In 2010 Collins released Losing Sleep, his first new collection of songs since his illness. The album featured guest appearances from a wide range of friends and admirers and showed that Collins was well along the road to recovery. As Collins continued to get stronger, he and James Endeacott, a former A&R man at Rough Trade, formed a new record label, Analogue Enhanced Digital, to release further records by Edwyn and also new artists the duo discovered. He also maintained a regular schedule of playing live shows, and in March of 2013 released a new album for AED, Understated. ~ Jason Ankeny
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Edwyn Collins

    1-Hit Wonders

    1-Hit Wonders
    1 song

    '90s Alternative

    '90s Alternative
    1 song

Albums by
Edwyn Collins

Top Songs by
Edwyn Collins

  1.   Song
  2.   A Girl Like You
  3.   The Campaign for Real Rock
  4.   One Track Mind
  5.   Out of This World
  6.   7th Son
  7.   Take Care of Yourself
  8.   North of Heaven
  9.   Love's Been Good to Me
  10.   Gorgeous George
  11.   Leviathan
  12.   Home Again
  13.   It's a Reason
  14.   Written in Stone
  15.   Two Steps Back featuring Carwyn Ellis
  16.   One Note Wonder, Pt. 2 featuring Carwyn Ellis
  17.   Viewed from All Angles featuring Carwyn Ellis
  18.   Home Again featuring Carwyn Ellis
  19.   Rip It up (Intermediate Edit)
  20.   Forsooth
  21.   Down the Line
  22.   Too Bad (That's Sad)
  23.   What Is My Role?
  24.   Searching for the Truth
  25.   Losing Sleep
  26.   I Still Believe In You
  27.   Humble
  28.   Then I Cried
  29.   Liberteenage Rag
  30.   You'll Never Know (My Love)
  31.   What's the Big Idea?
  32.   Someone Else Besides
  33.   Graciously
  34.   It Might as Well Be You
  35.   Means to an End
  36.   Subsidence
  37.   I've Got It Bad
  38.   Make Me Feel Again
  39.   Low Expectations
  40.   Come Tomorrow, Come Today
  41.   Bored
  42.   Over The Hill
  43.   My Girl Has Gone
  44.   Now That It's Love
  45.   All My Days
  46.   Quite Like Silver (Piano Refrain) featuring Carwyn Ellis
  47.   It's Right in Front of You
  48.   Don't Shilly Shally featuring Barrie Cadogan
  49.   Closing Time at the Punk Rock Hotel featuring Carwyn Ellis
  50.   One Note Wonder, Pt. 1 featuring Carwyn Ellis
  51.   Quite Like Silver featuring Carwyn Ellis
  52.   Leviathan featuring Carwyn Ellis
  53.   Understated
  54.   In the Now
  55.   31 Years
  56.   Carry On, Carry On
  57.   Baby Jean
  58.   It Dawns on Me
  59.   Do It Again
  60.   A Heavy Sigh
  61.   Superstar Talking Blues
  62.   It's in Your Heart
  63.   Moron
  64.   You Poor Deluded Fool
  65.   Everything and More
  66.   Time of the Preacher/Long Time Gone
  67.   Dilemna
  68.   One Is a Lonely Humber
  69.   One Is a Lonely Number
  70.   Rockin' Roll Baby
  71.   Forsaken
  72.   Home Again Harmonies featuring Carwyn Ellis
  73.   Welwyn Garden City

Artists Related to Edwyn Collins


Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |