Slacker Logo



Injecting a wider range of emotions into their music than most of their guitar-based British peers, Elbow have been known to refer to their grandiose orchestral sound as "prog without the solos." The members of the band -- vocalist Guy Garvey, drummer Richard Jupp, organist Craig Potter, guitarist Mark Potter, and bassist Pete Turner -- met during the early '90s while attending college in Bury. After moving several miles south to Manchester proper, the band went through a couple of developmental stages before attracting the interest of Island Records, which signed the group in 1998. Island was bought out by Universal several months later, though, and Elbow found themselves dropped from the label as a result. After a partnership with EMI also dissolved, the guys linked up with local independent label Uglyman and released two EPs, Newborn and Any Day Now. The acclaimed EPs gained the band a contract with V2, which released 2001's equally tipped Asleep in the Back. The record was short-listed as a nominee for 2001's Mercury Prize and was issued in the States in early 2002. Cast of Thousands, which appeared in 2004, proved to be a strong, critically acclaimed follow-up. Leaders of the Free World, inspired by political events and behavior in the media, was released in fall 2005, with The Seldom Seen Kid following in 2008. Although all three of Elbow's past albums had enjoyed significant popularity in the U.K., The Seldom Seen Kid was the band's first album to go multi-platinum, eventually selling over one million copies and winning the 2008 Mercury Prize. Writing sessions for a new album began in 2010, and Build a Rocket Boys! was released one year later, followed in 2012 by Dead in the Boot, a collection of B-sides and non-album cuts. That summer, not only did the group's ambitious, especially written track "First Steps" serve as the theme to the BBC's coverage of the London Olympics, but Elbow also played two songs at the closing ceremony of the games, which helped to further bolster sales of their back catalog. Recording sessions for a sixth studio album -- eventually titled The Take Off and Landing of Everything -- took place at Peter Gabriel's Real World Studios in Wiltshire in late 2012 and were completed in their own Salford studio the following year. Following the January release of the single "New York Morning," the album appeared to strong reviews in March 2014 and became their first album to debut at the top of the U.K. charts; it also became their highest-charting album in the U.S., peaking at 83. Elbow released an EP called Lost Worker Bee in July 2015, after which the group took a brief hiatus. During this time off, Guy Garvey released a solo album entitled Courting the Squall in the autumn of 2015 and drummer Richard Jupp left the group in March of 2016. Elbow returned to action in February 2017 with Little Fictions, which was, like every album since The Seldom Seen Kid, produced by Craig Potter. ~ Andy Kellman
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring

    Indie Chill

    Indie Chill
    4 songs

    Top Indie

    Top Indie
    1 song

    Indie Party

    Indie Party
    1 song

    Indie Rock Mix

    Indie Rock Mix
    1 song

    Relax Trax

    5 songs

Albums by

Top Songs by

  1.   Song
  2.   Grounds for Divorce
  3.   Lippy Kids
  4.   One Day Like This
  5.   Asleep in the Back
  6.   With Love
  7.   Neat Little Rows
  8.   The Bones of You
  9.   Not a Job
  10.   Jesus Is a Rochdale Girl
  11.   Fallen Angel
  12.   Mirrorball by Peter Gabriel
  13.   Any Day Now
  14.   Scattered Black and Whites
  15.   The Night Will Always Win
  16.   Forget Myself
  17.   Gentle Storm
  18.   The Birds
  19.   Whisper Grass
  20.   An Audience With The Pope
  21.   Running to Stand Still
  22.   Friend of Ours
  23.   Weather to Fly
  24.   The Loneliness of a Tower Crane Driver
  25.   Starlings
  26.   Red
  27.   Newborn
  28.   Grace Under Pressure
  29.   Open Arms
  30.   Little Beast
  31.   Real Life (Angel)
  32.   Buffalo Ghosts
  33.   Switching Off
  34.   Can't Stop
  35.   Little Fictions
  36.   Firebrand & Angel
  37.   Trust the Sun
  38.   Lost Worker Bee
  39.   The Blanket of Night
  40.   Fly Boy Blue/Lunette
  41.   Flying Dream 143
  42.   Don't Mix Your Drinks
  43.   An Imagined Affair
  44.   The River
  45.   Leaders of the Free World
  46.   Snooks (Progress Report)
  47.   Head for Supplies
  48.   Magnificent (She Says)
  49.   And It Snowed
  50.   My Sad Captains
  51.   This Blue World
  52.   Dear Friends
  53.   Some Riot
  54.   Waving From Windows
  55.   Lucky With Disease
  56.   Great Expectations
  57.   Picky Bugger
  58.   Station Approach
  59.   Mexican Standoff
  60.   Lay Down Your Cross
  61.   Love Blown Down
  62.   Crawling With Idiot
  63.   Buttons and Zips
  64.   I've Got Your Number
  65.   Montparnasse
  66.   Snowball
  67.   Charge
  68.   The Long War Shuffle
  69.   K2
  70.   Puncture Repair
  71.   Hotel Istanbul
  72.   Ribcage
  73.   Every Bit the Little Girl
  74.   The Everthere
  75.   Roll Call
  76.   Usually Bright
  77.   Fugitive Motel
  78.   Gentle As
  79.   Lullaby
  80.   Bitten By The Tailfly
  81.   What Time Do You Call This?
  82.   High Ideals
  83.   Honey Sun
  84.   All Disco
  85.   Presuming Ed (Rest Easy)
  86.   Coming Second
  87.   The Fix
  88.   Kindling
  89.   None One
  90.   McGreggor
  91.   We're Away
  92.   Powder Blue
  93.   Colour Fields