Slacker Logo



Swiss folk-metal band Eluveitie incorporate folk instrumentation such as hurdy-gurdy, flute, and pipes into an otherwise traditional death metal style, also adding a pagan element channeled through lyrics in the Gaulish language (a dead language in the Celtic family that predated Latin throughout Western Europe). The band is comprised of Chrigel Glanzmann (vocals), Ivo Henzi (guitar), Siméon Koch (guitar), Rafi Kirder (bass), Anna Murphy (hurdy-gurdy), Meri Tadic (violin), Sevan Kirder (whistles, flute, gaita), and Merlin Sutter (drums). Formed in 2002 by vocalist Chrigel Glanzmann (formerly of the bands Môr Cylch and Dornwald), the band began as a one-off studio project resulting in the self-financed EP Vên in 2003. The EP was well received in the underground metal community, and so Glanzmann and company decided to carry the Eluveitie project forward, becoming a genuine band. In 2004 Eluveitie made their live performance debut and signed a recording contract with the Dutch label Fear Dark Records, which released an updated version of the Vên EP. In 2005 the band toured with fellow Fear Dark bands Slechtvalk, Random Eyes, and Pantokrator and made plans to release their debut album, recording it at the end of the year. Released in 2006 on Fear Dark, Spirit marks the band's full-length debut. In support of the album, Eluveitie toured Europe with the German band Odroerir, including a co-headlining performance at the 2006 Fear Dark festivals and also a performance at the 2007 Ragnarök Festival in Germany. In late 2007 Eluveitie signed a recording contract with the German label Nuclear Blast, one of the genre's premier musical outlets, and released their second full-length album, Slania, in 2008. The album became a Top 40 hit on the Swiss albums chart. ~ Jason Birchmeier
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring

    Power Metal

    Power Metal
    1 song

Albums by

Top Songs by

  1.   Song
  2.   The Call of the Mountains
  3.   Inis Mona
  4.   Eternity
  5.   Origins
  6.   King
  7.   A Rose for Epona
  8.   Memento
  9.   Otherworld
  10.   Kingdom Come Undone
  11.   Isara
  12.   Samon
  13.   Ogmios
  14.   Epilogue
  15.   Thousandfold
  16.   Quoth the Raven
  17.   Druid
  18.   Lament
  19.   Elembivos
  20.   Slanias Song
  21.   Gray Sublime Archon
  22.   Voveso in Mori
  23.   Hope
  24.   Il Richiamo Dei Monti
  25.   The Somber Lay
  26.   Uis Elveti
  27.   Helvetios
  28.   Nil
  29.   Everything Remains as It Never Was
  30.   The Cauldron of Renascence
  31.   Slania
  32.   Nata
  33.   The Endless Knot
  34.   The Song of Life
  35.   D'Vèritû Agàge d'Bitu
  36.   Anagantios
  37.   De Ruef Vo De Bärge
  38.   Il Clom Dallas Muntognas
  39.   The Day of Strife
  40.   Inception
  41.   Sucellos
  42.   Nothing
  43.   Celtos
  44.   Tullianum
  45.   Uxellodunon
  46.   Alesia
  47.   The Siege
  48.   Havoc
  49.   Meet the Enemy
  50.   Scorched Earth
  51.   Santonian Shores
  52.   Home
  53.   Luxtos
  54.   Prologue
  55.   The Essence of Ashes
  56.   Setlon
  57.   Lugdunon
  58.   Sacrapos - The Disparaging Last Gaze
  59.   Sacrapos: At First Glance
  60.   Omnos
  61.   Gobanno
  62.   Carnutian Forest
  63.   Andro
  64.   The Dance of Victory
  65.   Tegernakô
  66.   Your Gaulish War
  67.   Órô
  68.   Calling the Rain
  69.   Giamonios
  70.   Siraxta
  71.   Tarvos
  72.   L'appel Des Montagnes
  73.   Carry The Torch
  74.   Virunus
  75.   The Liminal Passage
  76.   Aidu
  77.   Primordial Breath
  78.   A Girls Oath
  79.   Bloodstained Ground
  80.   The Uprising
  81.   Neverland
  82.   The Arcane Dominion
  83.   Ne Regv Na
  84.   Dessumiis Luge
  85.   Spirit
  86.   Jezaïg
  87.   Verja Urit An Bitus
  88.   The Nameless
  89.   (Do) Minion
  90.   Sempiternal Embers
  91.   From Darkness
  92.   Brictom
  93.   Of Fire, Wind & Wisdom
  94.   Vianna
  95.   Within the Groove
  96.   The Silver Sister