Slacker Logo


Empire of the Sun

Taking their name from the J.G. Ballard novel that became a 1987 Steven Spielberg film, Australia's larger-than-life electro-glam-pop duo Empire of the Sun feature the Sleepy Jackson's Luke Steele and Pnau's Nick Littlemore. Steele had previously worked with Pnau on "With You Forever," a track from the band's 2007 self-titled third album, and the pair enjoyed collaborating so much that they started their own project, drawing inspiration from the likes of Phoenix and Daft Punk. In fall 2008, Empire of the Sun released their debut album, Walking on a Dream, which the musicians described as "a spiritual road movie." Featuring songs co-written by Pnau's other half, Peter Mayes, the album went platinum in Australia and the title track became a hit single across the globe. After time spent touring, and a period when Littlemore went AWOL to write music for Cirque du Soleil, the duo regrouped in the studio to work on their second album. The unguardedly disco pop Ice on the Dune was released in early summer of 2013, after which the band toured the world. In late 2014, two new songs, "Tonight" and "Wandering Star," appeared on the soundtrack to the movie Dumb and Dumber To. They spent a large chunk of the next year writing and recording their third album in Los Angeles and Hawaii, welcoming guests like Lindsey Buckingham, members of David Bowie's band from the Blackstar sessions, and Wendy Malvoin from Prince & the Revolution. Before the album was released, their 2008 song "Walking on a Dream" was featured in a car commercial, then subsequently ended up reaching the top of the Billboard Dance Club Songs chart. Two Vines was issued in October of 2016. ~ Heather Phares
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Empire of the Sun

    New Alternative First

    New Alternative First
    1 song

    New Indie First

    New Indie First
    1 song

    Top Indie

    Top Indie
    2 songs

    Top Alternative

    Top Alternative
    1 song

    Alternative Mix

    1 song

    Pop Rock

    1 song


    2 songs


    1 song

    Relax Trax

    2 songs

Albums by
Empire of the Sun

Top Songs by
Empire of the Sun

  1.   Song
  2.   Walking on a Dream
  3.   We Are the People
  4.   High and Low
  5.   Alive
  6.   DNA
  7.   Celebrate
  8.   On Our Way Home
  9.   Tiger by My Side
  10.   Standing on the Shore
  11.   Way to Go
  12.   I'll Be Around
  13.   Half Mast
  14.   To Her Door
  15.   Country
  16.   Swordfish Hotkiss Night
  17.   Welcome to My Life [
  18.   Old Flavours
  19.   There's No Need
  20.   Two Vines
  21.   Celebrate
  22.   Disarm
  23.   Concert Pitch
  24.   Ride
  25.   Friends
  26.   Without You
  27.   Keystone
  28.   Digital Life
  29.   ZZZ
  30.   First Crush
  31.   Celebrate
  32.   Awakening
  33.   Ice on the Dune
  34.   Girl
  35.   Breakdown
  36.   Before
  37.   Keep a Watch
  38.   Surround Sound
  39.   Lux
  40.   Romance To Me
  41.   Delta Bay
  42.   Etude
  43.   The World
  44.   We Are the People (Sub Focus Remix) (Edit)
  45.   Lend Me Some Light
  46.   Two Leaves

Artists Related to Empire of the Sun

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |