Slacker Logo


Empire of the Sun

Taking their name from the J.G. Ballard novel that became a 1987 Steven Spielberg film, Australia's larger-than-life electro-glam-pop duo Empire of the Sun feature the Sleepy Jackson's Luke Steele and Pnau's Nick Littlemore. Steele had previously worked with Pnau on "With You Forever," a track from the band's 2007 self-titled third album, and the pair enjoyed collaborating so much that they started their own project, drawing inspiration from the likes of Phoenix and Daft Punk. In fall 2008, Empire of the Sun released the debut album Walking on a Dream, which the musicians described as "a spiritual road movie." Featuring songs co-written by Pnau's other half, Peter Mayes, the album went platinum in Australia and the title track became a hit single across the globe. After time spent touring, and a period when Littlemore went AWOL to write music for Cirque du Soleil, the duo regrouped in the studio to work on their second album. The unguardedly pop Ice on the Dune was released in early summer of 2013. Three years on, the duo returned with their third studio album, Two Vines, featuring a prominent collaboration with Fleetwood Mac's Lindsey Buckingham. ~ Heather Phares
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Empire of the Sun

    Alternative Party

    Alternative Party
    2 songs

    Top Indie

    Top Indie
    4 songs

    Indie Rock Mix

    Indie Rock Mix
    4 songs

    Indie Party

    Indie Party
    4 songs

    Top Alternative

    1 song

    Alternative Mix

    1 song

    Pop Rock

    1 song

    New Indie First

    1 song

    Pop Remixes

    1 song

    Dance Pop

    1 song


    1 song


    2 songs

    '00s Indie

    2 songs

    Late Night Mix

    1 song

    Relax Trax

    2 songs

Albums by
Empire of the Sun

Top Songs by
Empire of the Sun

  1.   Song
  2.   Walking on a Dream
  3.   We Are the People
  4.   High and Low
  5.   Alive
  6.   DNA
  7.   Tiger by My Side
  8.   Celebrate
  9.   Way To Go
  10.   Standing on the Shore
  11.   I'll Be Around
  12.   Half Mast
  13.   Two Vines
  14.   To Her Door
  15.   Country
  16.   Swordfish Hotkiss Night
  17.   Before
  18.   There's No Need
  19.   Concert Pitch
  20.   Disarm
  21.   Ice on the Dune
  22.   Ride
  23.   Celebrate
  24.   Delta Bay
  25.   Friends
  26.   Celebrate
  27.   Old Flavours
  28.   Girl
  29.   Romance To Me
  30.   Without You
  31.   Digital Life
  32.   ZZZ
  33.   First Crush
  34.   Keep a Watch
  35.   Surround Sound
  36.   Etude
  37.   We Are the People (Sub Focus Remix) (Edit)
  38.   The World
  39.   Welcome To My Life
  40.   Lend Me Some Light
  41.   Awakening
  42.   Lux
  43.   Breakdown
  44.   Keystone
  45.   Half Mist
  46.   Empire Of The Sun
  47.   Suo Gan
  48.   Cadillac of the Skies
  49.   Jim's New Life
  50.   Lost In the Crowd
  51.   Imaginary Air Battle
  52.   The Return To the City
  53.   Liberation: Exsultate Justi
  54.   The British Grenadiers
  55.   Toy Planes, Home And Hearth (Chopin Mazurka Opus 17, No. 4)
  56.   The Streets Of Shanghai
  57.   The Pheasant Hunt
  58.   No Road Home/Seeing the Bomb
  59.   Exsultate Justi
  60.   Half Mast We are the People
  61.   Swordfish Hitkiss Night

Artists Related to Empire of the Sun

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |