Slacker Logo



A melodic power/death/folk metal band delving in Viking legends for lyrical inspiration, Helsinki, Finland's Ensiferum (Latin for "sword bearer") had to continually coexist with various simultaneous metal projects undertaken by its members. Founded in 1995 by guitarist Markus Toivonen, Ensiferum worked up a number of demo tapes before finally attracting the attention of Finland's powerhouse metal label, Spinefarm, which released their eponymous debut in 2001. The sophomore Iron followed in 2004, and both albums featured vocalist Jari Mäenpää, bassist Jukka-Pekka Miettinen, keyboardist Meiju Enho, drummer Oliver Fokin, and of course Toivonen. Many of these were active in black/dark metal act Arthemesia at the same time, and Mäenpää subsequently announced his departure to start a new band called Wintersun. More lineup changes occurred before the release of the band's third LP, Victory Songs, in 2007. The following year saw Ensiferum headlining the Paganfest tour in Europe and North America, and in 2009 they released a new album, From Afar. 2012 saw the release of the group's fifth studio long player, Unsung Heroes, and in 2015 the band issued their Metal Blade debut, One Man Army. ~ Eduardo Rivadavia
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring

    Power Metal

    Power Metal
    1 song

Albums by

Top Songs by

  1.   Song
  2.   Last Breath
  3.   By the Dividing Stream
  4.   Warrior Without a War
  5.   In My Sword I Trust
  6.   Little Dreamer (Väinämöinen,Pt. 2)
  7.   Warrior's Quest
  8.   Bonus Song
  9.   Candour And Lies
  10.   Descendants, Defiance, Domination
  11.   My Ancestors' Blood
  12.   Pohjola
  13.   Twilight Tavern
  14.   Old Man (Väinämöinen, Pt. 1)
  15.   Raised by the Sword
  16.   Wanderer
  17.   Ad Victoriam
  18.   Abandoned
  19.   Iron
  20.   Lai Lai Hei
  21.   Goblin's Dance
  22.   Warmetal
  23.   Into Hiding
  24.   Cry for the Earth Bounds
  25.   Heathen Horde
  26.   Sword Chant
  27.   One More Magic Potion
  28.   Kalevala-Melody
  29.   Into Battle
  30.   The New Dawn
  31.   Hero in a Dream
  32.   Rawhide
  33.   Neito Pohjolan
  34.   Two of Spades
  35.   Burden of the Fallen
  36.   One Man Army
  37.   March of War
  38.   Star Queen (Celestial Bond, Pt. 2)
  39.   Celestial Bond
  40.   Burning Leaves
  41.   Unsung Heroes
  42.   Tumman Virran Taa
  43.   The Longest Journey (Heathen Throne Part Ii)
  44.   Battery
  45.   Ferrum Aeternum
  46.   Ahti
  47.   Deathbringer from the Sky
  48.   Eternal Wait
  49.   Battle Song
  50.   Treacherous Gods
  51.   Dragonheads
  52.   Tale of Revenge
  53.   Guardians of Fate
  54.   Lady in Black
  55.   Elusive Reaches
  56.   Smoking Ruins
  57.   Windrider
  58.   Symbols
  59.   Heathen Throne
  60.   Victory Song
  61.   White Storm
  62.   Passion Proof Power
  63.   Intro
  64.   Blood Is the Price of Glory
  65.   Token of Time
  66.   Lost in Despair
  67.   Slayer of Light
  68.   Tears
  69.   From Afar
  70.   Axe of Judgement
  71.   Retribution Shall Be Mine
  72.   Stone Cold Metal

Artists Related to Ensiferum


Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |