Slacker Logo


Eric Church

Country singer/songwriter/guitarist Eric Church grew up in Granite Falls, North Carolina, and began singing as a child. At 13, he started writing songs, later teaching himself to play guitar. While attending college at Appalachian State, he formed a band, the Mountain Boys, that played around western North Carolina. After graduating with a degree in marketing, he moved to Nashville, Tennessee, to pursue a career in country music. It took him a year to get a song publishing deal with Sony/ATV Tree, after which he started getting his songs recorded by other artists, an example being Terri Clark's version of "The World Needs a Drink." He met producer Jay Joyce, who took an interest in him as a recording artist, and they began making demos. That led to his being signed by Capitol Records Nashville. Church's debut single, "How 'Bout You," was released in early 2006, and it had reached the country Top 20 by the time Capitol released his first album, Sinners Like Me, on July 18, 2006. The album was both a critical and commercial success, and Church followed it up with Carolina in 2009, which swung for the contemporary country fences and hit them, scoring two Top Ten singles on the country charts with "Love Your Love the Most" (certified gold), and "Hell on the Heart." In 2010, he scored another gold single with "Smoke a Little Smoke" in 2010. He won Top New Solo Vocalist at the Academy of Country Music Awards for that calendar year. After extensive touring, Church released the Caldwell County EP in January of 2011, which reached the number 13 position on the Billboard country chart, as did the single "Homeboy." Church followed with the album Chief in July. Chief wound up being Church's entry into superstardom. Upon its July 2011 release, it debuted at number one on both the Billboard 200 and the Top Country Albums chart. Soon afterward, "Drink in My Hand" climbed to the top of the country charts, becoming Church's first number one single. Its popularity was eclipsed in the summer of 2012 by "Springsteen," a ballad that also reached number one on the country charts but additionally crossed over to the pop Top 20. Two other singles were pulled from Chief -- "Creepin'" and "Like Jesus Does" -- and the album won Album of the Year at the 2012 Country Music Academy Awards. Early in 2013, Church released the live set Caught in the Act, which was recorded at the Tivoli Theatre in Chattanooga, Tennessee in October 2012; the album debuted at number five on the Billboard 200. Church spent the rest of 2013 working on his fourth studio album. The first taste of this work was the heavy rock of "The Outsiders," a single that turned out to be the album's title track. Preceded by the second single, "Give Me Back My Hometown" (which followed the title track into the country Top Ten), The Outsiders arrived to considerable anticipation and acclaim in February 2014. It became his second album to hit number one on both the country and overall charts. The Outsiders racked up five hit singles -- the biggest were the ballads "Give Me Back My Hometown" and "Talladega," both of which reached number one on Billboard's U.S. Country Airplay charts -- and while "Like a Wrecking Ball" remained on the charts, Church released a brand-new full-length album, Mr. Misunderstood, as a surprise in the first week of November 2015. Mr. Misunderstood debuted at two on Billboard's Top 200 and Country Charts, eventually earning a Gold certification and winning CMA's Album of the Year in 2016, along with spawning three hit singles: "Mr. Misunderstood," "Record Year," and "Kill a Word," which featured Rhiannon Giddens on its single version. In November 2016, Church released the EP Mr. Misunderstood on the Rocks Live and (Mostly) Unplugged. ~ William Ruhlmann
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Eric Church

    Outlaw Country

    Outlaw Country
    15 songs

    Top Country

    Top Country
    7 songs

    Country Party

    Country Party
    3 songs

    New Country First

    New Country First
    1 song

    Country Love

    2 songs

    '00s Country

    4 songs

Albums by
Eric Church

Top Songs by
Eric Church

  1.   Song
  2.   Drink in My Hand
  3.   Springsteen
  4.   Talladega
  5.   Homeboy
  6.   Give Me Back My Hometown
  7.   Smoke a Little Smoke
  8.   Creepin'
  9.   Like a Wrecking Ball
  10.   Record Year
  11.   Love Your Love the Most
  12.   Hell On The Heart
  13.   Kill a Word
  14.   Guys Like Me
  15.   Like Jesus Does
  16.   Cold One
  17.   How 'Bout You
  18.   Mr. Misunderstood
  19.   Jack Daniels
  20.   Sinners Like Me
  21.   I'm Gettin' Stoned
  22.   These Boots
  23.   The Outsiders
  24.   Pledge Allegiance to the Hag
  25.   Keep On
  26.   Carolina
  27.   Country Music Jesus
  28.   Over When It's Over
  29.   Lotta Boot Left to Fill
  30.   Hungover & Hard Up
  31.   Round Here Buzz
  32.   Mistress Named Music
  33.   That's Damn Rock & Roll
  34.   A Man Who Was Gonna Die Young
  35.   Those I've Loved
  36.   Ain't Killed Me Yet
  37.   Before She Does
  38.   Hallelujah
  39.   Holdin' My Own
  40.   Dark Side
  41.   Three Year Old
  42.   Lightning
  43.   Two Pink Lines
  44.   The Hard Way
  45.   Springsteen/Born to Run
  46.   Roller Coaster Ride
  47.   Mixed Drinks About Feelings
  48.   The Ballad of Curtis Loew
  49.   What I Almost Was
  50.   Longer Gone
  51.   Leave My Willie Alone
  52.   Young and Wild
  53.   Livin' Part of Life
  54.   Devil, Devil (Prelude: Princess of Darkness)
  55.   Smoke a Little Smoke/Sweet Leaf
  56.   Tennessee Jed
  57.   Without You Here
  58.   Chattanooga Lucy
  59.   Broke Record
  60.   Knives of New Orleans
  61.   The Joint
  62.   Medley: Mistress Named Music Red Rocks
  63.   Can't Take It with You
  64.   Chevy Van
  65.   Where She Told Me To Go
  66.   You Make It Look So Easy
  67.   Ain't Wastin' Time No More
  68.   His Kind of Money (My Kind of Love)
  69.   Win, Lose or Draw
  70.   Faster Than My Angels Can Fly
  71.   My Heart's Got a Memory

Artists Related to Eric Church

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |