Slacker Logo


Eric Roberson

Eric Roberson entered the music industry through a major label before he became one of the foremost independent R&B artists of the 2000s and 2010s. In 1994, as a teenager, the Rahway, New Jersey native debuted on Warner Bros. with "The Moon." Although the smooth, post-new jack ballad was a minor hit -- it reached number 53 on Billboard's Hot R&B Singles chart that summer -- its parent album was shelved. Roberson returned to Howard University on a musical theater scholarship and earned his degree. During the latter half of the '90s, armed with an EMI publishing contract, he wrote and arranged tracks for Phajja, 112, and Gina Thompson. The following decade, Roberson went fully independent with his Blue Erro Soul label, launched with his full-length debut, Esoteric (2001). The same year that album was issued, Roberson, as Erro, also made waves in clubs with "Don't Change" (aka "Change for Me"), a single originally released on Osunlade's Yoruba label. As his solo career was moving forward again, he was also working with Philadelphians Musiq Soulchild, Jill Scott, DJ Jazzy Jeff, and Vivian Green, as well as with Detroiter Dwele, for whom he co-wrote and co-produced "Hold On," another single that happened to peak at number 53 R&B. Roberson released solo albums every couple years, adding to his catalog with The Appetizer (2005), ...Left (2007), and Music Fan First (2009). The latter included "A Tale of Two" and "Still," songs that were nominated for Grammy Awards in the category of Best Urban/Alternative R&B. The Recording Academy's acknowledgments, along with new support from a partnership with Purpose Music and distributor eOne, helped send Mr. Nice Guy (2011) to number 14 on Billboard's R&B/Hip-Hop Albums chart. Roberson subsequently took part in contemporary gospel leader Fred Hammond's United Tenors project and fronted Zo!'s "We Are on the Move" (both 2013), then reverted to Blue Erro releases with B-Sides, Features & Heartaches and The Box (both 2014). He then linked up with occasional collaborator Phonte for Tigallerro (2016). ~ Andy Kellman & David Jeffries
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Eric Roberson

Albums by
Eric Roberson

Top Songs by
Eric Roberson

  1.   Song
  2.   Picture Perfect feat. Phonte
  3.   Right or Wrong
  4.   Dealing by Lalah Hathaway
  5.   At the Same Time
  6.   Past Paradise
  7.   How Could She Do It?
  8.   Pretty Girl
  9.   Pen Just Cries Away
  10.   Mark On Me
  11.   The Newness
  12.   Please Don't Leave Me
  13.   3:45 by Phonte
  14.   Hold Tight by Phonte
  15.   Punch Drunk Love
  16.   Warm
  17.   Pill
  18.   Just Imagine
  19.   Head to Toe
  20.   Male Ego
  21.   Fall
  22.   Picture Perfect by Phonte Coleman
  23.   Still
  24.   She
  25.   Borrow You
  26.   Bad for Me
  27.   Just A Dream
  28.   New Born Child
  29.   The Baby Song
  30.   Too Soon
  31.   Evening
  32.   Def Ears
  33.   Couldn't Hear Me
  34.   Something by Phonte
  35.   Lie to Me by Phonte
  36.   Waiting 4 Ya featuring Carmen Rodgers
  37.   Grow This Love by Phonte
  38.   Thru the Night by Phonte
  39.   It's So Easy by Phonte
  40.   Do the Same For Me
  41.   The Cycle
  42.   Haunted
  43.   I'm Not Trying To Keep Score No More
  44.   Lust for Love
  45.   Fortune Teller by K. "DJ Kemit" Hyman
  46.   All For Me
  47.   Try Love
  48.   Talking Reckless
  49.   How Would I Feel by Jean Baylor
  50.   Love's Withdrawal by Omari Hardwick
  51.   Strangers
  52.   Weekend Getaway
  53.   Wanna Believe It Again by Wayna
  54.   A Tale of Two featuring Benjamin O'Neill
  55.   The Power That Kisses Hold
  56.   Pave a New Road
  57.   Further by T3
  58.   Celebrate by Sy Smith
  59.   Couldn't Hear Her by Curt Chambers