Slacker Logo



Vocalist Esthero was born Jen-Bea Englishman on December 23, 1978, in Ontario, Canada. She moved to Toronto in 1996, and quickly became a fixture at the city's open mikes. There she met Doc (real name: Martin McKinney), an engineer and producer, and the two began working on a demo featuring his programming and her vocals. Sony eventually took interest, and suddenly Esthero went from a fledgling idea to a duo with Esthero's name as their own and a record, Breath from Another, issued in spring 1998 on the label's Work imprint. Breath's mix of beats, lush vocals, and fractured bits of programmed samples caught on perfectly with the trip-hop trend of the time, and Esthero had success with singles like Heaven Sent and the hip-hop-flavored title track. However, it would take nearly seven years for a follow-up to appear. In the interim Esthero parted ways with Doc and struck out on her own, contributing vocals to projects like Black Eyed Peas' "Weekends" (2000). Signing with Reprise, she began work on new material, and returned officially in summer 2004 with the club single O.G. Bitch. Esthero followed the single in November of that year with We R in Need of a Musical Revolution, an EP that found her collaborating with Sean Lennon, Cee-Lo, and producer James Robertson (Skye Sweetnam) on a 21st century version of Breath's assemblage sound. The EP set up a full-length entitled Wikked Lil' Girls, which was slated for release in early 2005. ~ Johnny Loftus
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring

    Late Night Mix

    Late Night Mix
    1 song

    Relax Trax

    Relax Trax
    1 song

Albums by

Top Songs by

  1.   Song
  2.   I Drive Alone
  3.   Superheroes
  4.   Breath From Another
  5.   If Tha Mood
  6.   Anywayz
  7.   Lounge
  8.   How Do I Get You Alone?
  9.   Go
  10.   Supernatural
  11.   Walking On Eggshells
  12.   Black Mermaid
  13.   Crash
  14.   Never Gonna Let You Go
  15.   Fastlane featuring Jeleestone
  16.   Amber & Tiger's Eye
  17.   We R in Need of a Musical Revolution
  18.   O.G. Bitch
  19.   Everyday Is a Holiday (With You)
  20.   Swallow Me
  21.   Country Livin' (The World I Know)
  22.   Heaven Sent
  23.   Half a World Away
  24.   Over
  25.   Everything is Expensive (The Kids Are Not Alright)
  26.   Francis
  27.   You Don't Get a Song
  28.   Gracefully
  29.   Fastlane
  30.   Brave Bear Woman
  31.   Melancholy Melody
  32.   Junglebook
  33.   Beautiful Lie
  34.   Dragonfly's Intro
  35.   Wikked Lil' Grrrls
  36.   This Lull-A-Bye
  37.   Gone
  38.   Flipher Overture
  39.   My Torture
  40.   I Love You
  41.   That Girl
  42.   Dragonfly's Outro
  43.   Indigo Boy
  44.   Bad Boy Clyde
  45.   Thank Heaven 4 You
  46.   Blanket Me in You (Never Is So Soon)
  47.   My Honeybrown
  48.   Breath from Another, Pt. 7 and 11 by Shrug
  49.   Superhereos

Artists Related to Esthero

Zero 7

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |